Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
kids love this blonde brownies, sort ot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I was not happy with this recipe at all. It was so very bland. No matter how much seasoning I added, it didn't change. It was essentially liquid flour. Definitely never using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Easy and reading other reviews, modify as necessary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is one of the best recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

McCormick® Gingersnap Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This really is a perfect ginger snap, better than on made by an expensive restaurant. Put two together with vanilla ice cream between and it is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This is one cookie recipe to keep; easy to make; 2400 plus votes at 5 pts, means excellent A plus plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Potato Fish Chowder

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I found this recipe really tasty, even tho I did have to do several substitutions because I decided to try this on a whim (Chicken broth for oyster juice... still works great). I added more seasonings too such as basil and tarragon and a dash of cayenne. Also used tilapia and cod. Served with a tortilla, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkhaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
excellent! pick apples off the tree and go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sloppy Sams

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I used ground beef instead of lentils; not realizing it want even listed like this as a recipe. Everything about the ingredients makes it the best recipe yet, having tried many. Next time I will definitely make them vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is super easy. Today is National Doughnut Day and this was the gift to give (less calories just as good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Carrot and Ginger Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very nice soup. I followed advice of others, adding sour cream to cream soup, chicken broth white pepper. Have this with some home made bread. There is no regret to make something different on a cold evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Tamra's Microwave Tilapia

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Substituted dill for tarragon and left out the vinegar and it still is quick to make dinner in 5 minutes. Thanks Tamra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Who doesnt like brownies or chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Its pretty basic; I used cilantro spiced diced tomatoes; did not add italian spice or soy sauce, instead throw into it what you have, red / green pepper, celery, carrot etc and splash with Worstershire. Creative in the kitchen depends upon what you have on hand and in mind. Put Merlot next to it, and who will complain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I make this often to substitute jam etc on bread. Using microwave as others had, makes it even simpler. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I used additional spices (nutmeg, ginger) and 1 1/2 raisins. Its an excellent recipe and when so many (3000+) like anything on this website, its always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Leanna Banana

Jalapeno Poppers of Champions

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe was good. I used Anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos because sometimes jalapenos are too spicy for me. I added one cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese to the cream cheese. I also used real bacon. For some crunch I crushed up some homemade tortilla chips and coated the cream cheese side of the peppers before wrapping them in bacon. I pan-fried them before putting them in the oven to get em crispy and render off some of the fat. They were good, but I will probably tweak the recipe some more next time to add more flavor. Great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was ok. After making it, I thought it needed more yogurt so I about doubled it. Although I love salmon, I still think this recipe needed something sweet and acidic to cut through the fishiness (especially since it's canned salmon) and add more flavor. Next time I think I will add sliced grapes, diced onions and lemon juice. Decent base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Instead of a big dinner at Christmas, because there are sooo many of us we do appetizers! This was very good! I think when I make it again I will cut back on the red pepper flakes to please everyone's taste. The kids and the elderly thought it a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States