Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Special Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I've used this recipe for years. What a great marinaid. I purchased a juicer just so I could juice onions and ended up juicing so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Gerard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Super Easy Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I've made this many times now. My son teenage asked if it was from a packet, I said "no". He said to "Be sure not to lose this recipe". No alterations needed. For a thicker gravy just simmer a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Gerard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've used this pie crust recipe for decades and everybody loves my pies. I put an ice cube in the water to make sure it's really cold. I'm going to follow the suggestion of Beadanurse and use the food processor on the "pulse" setting since I'm making many pies this season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyvzw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made several modifications to this recipe based on other comments, and I was really happy with how it turned out. It tasted even better on the second day. I am vegetarian so instead of using bacon I added 1/3 cap-full of liquid smoke. I used one stick of butter and 1/2 cup flour. 2 cups of whole milk, 2 cups reconstituted powdered milk,3 cups veggie broth and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I like that this can be made in under an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Huckleberry Buckle II

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is really a great recipe for huckleberries and if you top it with ice cream, that makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is perfect, easy, can feed a lot of the neighborhood and will get five stars at the State Fair with vanilla ice cream on top. This is better than pie (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read the reviews how to make it less runny. Add flour or tapioca or corn starch to the rhubarb/strawberry filling. Cream cheese layer on the crust is something to try. This is a favorite worth learning to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Excellent! I microwave the carrots and added Jameson's Irish for having good luck to find a recipe easy and very useful for holidays or any meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Basil Chicken Milanese

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was delicious! A great simple, flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Top notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Alice's Easy Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love how easy this was to make. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8x8 dish. It came out perfect! I used frozen blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Easy and delicious! A good way to use up extra zucchini. I read the reviews and made the following substitutions. I used 5tbs of oil instead of 1/2 cup. I used regular bisquick, and Italian seasoning instead of marjoram. I used 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup feta, and I left out the parsley because I didn't have any. Baked for 55 minutes at 300 F. The pie was delicious! I took it to a pot luck and it was gobbled up. This would be good as muffins as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Everyone who tried them said they were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So we gave these out as gifts fr christmas. Since we dont have enough money to go out and buy a ton of presents for family and friends. We cut them into bars and boxed them up. People raved over these. ALSO Some people cannot eat nuts, but they can eat peanut butter, they loved how it had a crunch to satisfy there peanut craving. Alot of people want this recipe. So thank you soo much for sharing this. This will stick with our family. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Kramer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
we loved eating these! But i think my kids enjoyed shaping them more! lol. thanks for this wonderful recipe, i have saved it and we plan to make this every christmas. and who knows maybe other holidays too! We also took raspberry jam and mixed it with confectioner sugar and lazed them, they reminded us of klachkys (or how ever you spell it lol) this sugar cookie dough is awesome! wish I could give it 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Kramer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Banana Gelatin

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is easy and worth it. I froze it to firm it up. Either way, overnight gel or freeze, its good (could be desert in a way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have cooked this soup twice. More of a bisque. Wonderful flavors. Easy to make. Company loves it when I serve it. And it can be eaten with most food restrictions. The puree gave it such a light, creamy and airy texture. Thank you for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellenross1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful cookie. Soft, fluffy and moist. Everyone loved them. I loved them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellenross1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellent for bread and muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Madeleines II

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good and I had no eggs on hand so substituted with Mayo. That might sound weird but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Thurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States