Dekalb - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is perfect, easy, can feed a lot of the neighborhood and will get five stars at the State Fair with vanilla ice cream on top. This is better than pie (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read the reviews how to make it less runny. Add flour or tapioca or corn starch to the rhubarb/strawberry filling. Cream cheese layer on the crust is something to try. This is a favorite worth learning to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Excellent! I microwave the carrots and added Jameson's Irish for having good luck to find a recipe easy and very useful for holidays or any meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Basil Chicken Milanese

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was delicious! A great simple, flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Chef John's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Top notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Alice's Easy Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love how easy this was to make. I halved the recipe and baked it in a 8x8 dish. It came out perfect! I used frozen blueberries but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Super easy and delicious! I read the reviews and made the following substitutions. I used 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1/2. I used regular bisquick, and Italian seasoning instead of marjoram. I used 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup feta, and I left out the parsley because I didn't have any. The pie was delicious! I took it to a pot luck and it was gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Everyone who tried them said they were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Strawberry Banana Gelatin

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is easy and worth it. I froze it to firm it up. Either way, overnight gel or freeze, its good (could be desert in a way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have cooked this soup twice. More of a bisque. Wonderful flavors. Easy to make. Company loves it when I serve it. And it can be eaten with most food restrictions. The puree gave it such a light, creamy and airy texture. Thank you for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellenross1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful cookie. Soft, fluffy and moist. Everyone loved them. I loved them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellenross1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bread IV

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Excellent for bread and muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Madeleines II

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good and I had no eggs on hand so substituted with Mayo. That might sound weird but it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Sophie's Kolacky

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Oh, yes...THIS is the one you've been searching for. I get raves when I put these together for the holidays or just when I'm looking for something simple but elegant. Not too sweet, but just right. Like a few other comments, I used the canned paste type filling (Solo Brand), and rolled out the dough and cut in squares, and bring up two corners and do a little twist. Always a hit! Be sure to bring the recipe to your party, you'll get a lot of people who want you to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made these (omitting the onion, parmesan and oregano) for my sons this morning and served them with maple syrup. they loved them. Great use for all that extra zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Gerard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Rita's Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Just made this and wow - it was amazing! SO easy, inexpensive, and combines all the things I love. The changes I made were because I had time to spare, but I would make this exact to the recipe if I wanted a quick meal! I used 1 lb ground chicken and 1 1/2 cups light sour cream and 2 cups light mozzarella cheese to cut down on fat. I also used a whole box of pasta (6 cups), a 32 oz jar of 'sausage and peppers' pasta sauce, and added 4 oz of fresh sliced button mushrooms (sauteed with the chicken). To the chicken I added 3 cloves fresh crushed sliced garlic, an italian blend seasoning that has marjoram, thyme, rosemary, sage, oregano and basil. I sauteed a big bag of fresh chopped spinach and then mixed everything together, putting the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Blueberries and pumpkin together, are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good cucumber salad. I would reduce the sugar a bit next time but it was still delicious made with my garden cucumbers and a fresh onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyvzw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I love all of the ingredients included in this recipe, but I did not think it was very good. The flavor was just odd all-together. I think I didn't like the sauce I used - will try again with different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Great recipe! I like to fry them then stick them in the oven. I also add some cheddar cheese to the cream cheese ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States