Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Layered Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
As an old time maker of this delicious treat it is important to get the timing of adding the white chocolate to the dark chocolate at right time. Everyone always say to chill the white chocolate. I never do. I keep an eye on it and when the chocolate loses that super glossy look that shows that it is "setting up" that is when I add the white chocolate. I must add that I live in New Mexico and we keep the house "coolish" so if you have a hot kitchen and want to put the dish in the fridge, go ahead, but watch it every minutes. Putting one chocolate on top of another "cold chocolate" does not allow the two chocolates to hold on very well and will let the white chocolate come off of the dark when you go to cut it. I follow the rest of the recipe, more or less, to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Simple and easy, and EVERYONE LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I usually have trouble cooking pork in the pan (getting the oil too hot or not hot enough) but this recipe turned out beautifully! A very nice change from beef and chicken and much easier than I thought to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Minestrone

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
LOVED THIS! We left out the beans and added a little more pasta. My husband couldn't stop eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I didn't have luck with this for some reason. Might have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very quick and easy! Used honeycrisp apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bars V

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great! I substituted white chocolate chips and left out the nuts. Very dense, moist cake. Got rave reviews from coworkers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extra-Yummy Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Fantastic! Very tall, thick and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cranberry Relish

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Pretty good but needs something. After tasting I added some ginger. I split the batch and took it to two different parties, and it didn't go over too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I found that I needed to keep the temperature of my stove at or below MEDIUM heat...this is very important. Also, the use of a lid is somewhat important if you notice that all of your pan juices are starting to cook away..I used my lid for about five minutes in the middle of the 15 minutes (I live at high altitude so it takes longer to cook carrots here) and then reduced the spice concoction at the end. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil..I almost always stay true to the original version but I was out of vegetable oil. Either way it was *Excellent*!!!...We used more cayenne pepper but we like it hot here in New Mexico!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Refrigerator Rolls II

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
These are good. Next time I will increase the sugar to 1/3 cup. I think the extra sweetness will make them even better. It was a cold morning so I let these rise in an oven preheated to 200 degrees then left the oven door adjar for a little while. They rose beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower Rice with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
One of my favorite recipes modified from Orzo with Parmesan and Basil on this site. This recipe is perfect side for a week night meal. I use lemon basil which add a nice lemony flavor. A good substitute would be a little lemon zest if lemon basil isn't available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I love sweet potatoes and had to try this recipe. I'm glad to report that it did not disappoint! I made mine in my crockpot on low for 5-6 hours. I sauteed the onions and aromatics as directed in step 4 and added to the crockpot along with the ingredients in step 5, and the black beans in step 6. I roasted the sweet potatoes while the chili was cooking and added them to the crockpot at the end to heat through. I didn't reduce the water in the recipe, and the amount of liquid at the end of the cook time was just right. To add more body to the chili, I smashed some of the beans up right in the crockpot to fill it out some. Sometimes when making chili if I remember, I reserve a 1/2 cup or so of the rinsed beans to smash and add when the chili is about done. I usually forget though and just smash in the pot. I served this with a pan of cornbread and topped the chili with fresh cilantro and a little shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Made the first four to recipes exact directions except I did not add the milk (none in the house at the time) and they were a little bland for my family but were crisp and the breading stayed on. The texture was perfect. Added some garlic powder, onion powder and some cayenne pepper to the breading mix and the rest were excellent! Looking forward to the next batch! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiBach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this exactly like the recipe says and it was good, I think it's missing something. If I make it again I will have to doctor it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Awesome cookies. Stay soft. My kids class loved them! Have even tried this recipe a few other flavors and works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I didn't car for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Since the sugar and vinegar ratio is the same, the dressing is very sweet. I added enough sugar to suit my taste. I skipped the draining part in favor of lightly salting the cucumbers. I also added about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder to the dressing. I let mine sit in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving. They were delicious. I served as a side salad with the Kalua Pig in Slow Cooker recipe from this site. A very good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I've made this twice. The first time, I followed the recipe as written. It was really good, but the juice was very salty, so I added it a little at a time to the shredded pork. The juice is very flavorful so you really don't need a lot to get that smoky flavor worked into the meat. I read a review about adding additional items like garlic and bay leaves, and that's what I did the second time I made it. I rubbed garlic powder on the roast and added 1/2 of a large bay leaf to the cooker after the juice rendered from the pork. I don't cook with or eat a lot of salt so I had to cut back on the amount of salt in the recipe. I used less than a tablespoon to rub on a 6.5lb roast. The meat wasn't salty. The juice was still salty, but very flavorful so I added it a little at a time to the shredded pork, tasting after each addition, until it was just right. I'll use even less salt next time. Also the newer slow cookers don't cook as slow as the older ones. I have a Breville slow cooker that I've had for 6 years, and it will cook the roast in about 8 hours on low. I served the shredded roast with braised cabbage and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
One of my favorite recipes. Simple to make with a few ingredients, this recipe is perfect side for a week night meal. I saute 1/2 of a chopped onion in the butter before adding the orzo. Garlic is a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States