Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes With Whiskey Filling And Irish Cream Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made these cupcakes for a friend's birthday which is the day before St. Patrick's Day. I made the cupcakes exactly as written with modifications for our high altitude (over 5,000 ft.). The cupcakes were fantastic! The only thing that I might have done differently would be to increase the filling and frosting as I ran out of it before I had filled all of the cupcakes. I used the correct alcoholic mixture as well. FYI you can but small miniatures for the filling and frosting. Which is what I did. I also used good quality chocolate and cocoa for the recipe. These may take a while to make, but they are truly awesome and worth all of the time involved. I also used my Wilton cupcake corer for the first time, which may be why I needed extra filling. The corer, once I figured it out, made it easy to take out the extra cupcake material in the middle. I used the cupcake cores to make my Grandma Scherer's "cake". She could never get any cake to come out of the pan, so she would crumble it up and fold it into whipped cream along with some fruit. I did the same with my middles adding dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Yummo! I will never eat canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Total chow! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Cream Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Boyfriend loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Just awesome! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Easy and very good. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburgers by Eddie

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I make these hamburgers all the time and they are fantastic. I usually add some crackers so they hold together a little better and change it to one tablespoon each of Worchestershire sauce and steak sauce. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Espinacas con Garbanzos (Spinach with Garbanzo Beans)

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I used fresh spinach and added it to the skillet last. I was out of cumin so I used a small pinch of the curry powder that I made from a personal recipe on this site (Bon Apetito). I served this with Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze (Chef John) and brown rice. Great recipe. I will add a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little heat the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious! I cooked the salmon in the oven and followed the recipe for the sauce to the letter. It was so good that my husband told me he would wash the dishes, even though he worked overtime. I know it's just so he can sneak more of the salmon and the wonderful sauce! I imagine that grilled salmon is even better. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Crispy Edamame

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made these in my NuWave Oven on the 2" rack. I lined the pan with parchment paper and cooked them for 12 minutes. I use the edamame from Safeway that is individually packaged and frozen. I cooked them in the microwave according to the package directions and patted them dry before adding the seasonings. I also added a pinch of garlic powder and aleppo red pepper flakes. Very tasty. The edamame was more chewy than crispy, but the cheese added a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Italian Sausage Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made these in my Showtime Rotisserie (about 1 1/2 hours). Divine! I don't use garlic salt so I swapped that for garlic powder. One tablespoon of Kosher salt was plenty. I ground the fennel seeds in my mortar as done in the video. The recipe doesn't mention this. I used Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce, which is HOT, but the heat balanced out nicely with the sweetness of the sugar and orange juice. Everyone loved these, and they didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is REALLY bland. I exchanged the cream of mushroom sauce for cream of chicken. Then, I seasoned the sauce/chicken mixture with a ton of Southwest flavor Mrs. Dash, Tabasco sauce, and a little salt and pepper to taste. The extra spices (mainly the Mrs. Dash) made all the difference. In fact, with my changes this was REALLY good; creamy and spicy. I will keep the recipe only because of my changes. However, I don't think I should have to do all the extra work for a recipe that rates this high. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
These rolls are amazing! My boyfriend raved about them for an hour after they were served and ended up eating three at one sitting (and they are big rolls!) He said they were the best cinnamon rolls he'd ever had and that you could easily sell these at any bakery. Honestly, I agreed! This recipes is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth James Brinkoetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spyce

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I've been making this for a long time. The spice mix is great as is, but I usually add something or substitute a different spice or herb. I also stuff the cavity with pieces of green bell pepper as well as the onion. I open the oven after the chicken has been in for about 3 hours and there's enough juice in the pan to baste the chicken with. I start checking the temperature at 4 hours. Sometimes, the chicken is done after 4.5 hours, so it doesn't hurt to check. I baste it again too. This recipe doesn't mention basting, but I think it helps keep the skin from getting dry and rubbery. After I take it out of the oven, I tent the pan loosely with foil. This helps to soften the skin up a bit. On occasion, there will be leftover chicken, and I like to use it make Chicken Tortilla Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Layered Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
As an old time maker of this delicious treat it is important to get the timing of adding the white chocolate to the dark chocolate at right time. Everyone always say to chill the white chocolate. I never do. I keep an eye on it and when the chocolate loses that super glossy look that shows that it is "setting up" that is when I add the white chocolate. I must add that I live in New Mexico and we keep the house "coolish" so if you have a hot kitchen and want to put the dish in the fridge, go ahead, but watch it every minutes. Putting one chocolate on top of another "cold chocolate" does not allow the two chocolates to hold on very well and will let the white chocolate come off of the dark when you go to cut it. I follow the rest of the recipe, more or less, to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Simple and easy, and EVERYONE LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I usually have trouble cooking pork in the pan (getting the oil too hot or not hot enough) but this recipe turned out beautifully! A very nice change from beef and chicken and much easier than I thought to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Minestrone

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
LOVED THIS! We left out the beans and added a little more pasta. My husband couldn't stop eating it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I didn't have luck with this for some reason. Might have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very quick and easy! Used honeycrisp apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States