Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peanut Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. My significant other loves these and for some reason by the time I am ready to make my gift trays around Christmas, half of what I made has disappeared. I checked his breath....Hmmmm. Anyway, I use candy melts for my chocolate. I use Merken's brand that can be found at various candy making websites. I dip mine in either milk or dark chocolate. Then when that chocolate has set up, I melt a few red and green pieces. I put one color in a small zippable sandwich bag and melt them in the microwave. One minute, smoosh the melts together and then microwave for 15 second intervals, smooshing after eat until the chocolate is melted and smooth. I then cut a "teeny" hole out of one corner and then put stripes on the balls. I have also, when the balls were still damp and shiny have added cake decorations such as colored crystal sugar and other cake decorations. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Peanut Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. My significant other loves these and for some reason by the time I am ready to make my gift trays around Christmas, half of what I made has disappeared. I checked his breath....Hmmmm. Anyway, I use candy melts for my chocolate. I use Merken's brand that can be found at various candy making websites. I dip mine in either milk or dark chocolate. Then when that chocolate has set up, I melt a few red and green pieces. I put one color in a small zippable sandwich bag and melt them in the microwave. One minute, smoosh the melts together and then microwave for 15 second intervals, smooshing after eat until the chocolate is melted and smooth. I then cut a "teeny" hole out of one corner and then put stripes on the balls. I have also, when the balls were still damp and shiny have added cake decorations such as colored crystal sugar and other cake decorations. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I did not follow the recipe to the letter... For the barbecuing seasoning I used Penzey's 3000 barbecue spice blend. I put about 1 T on top of 13 (20-25) shrimp. I cut the butterfly deeper and stuck a sliver of jalapeno and then added a sliver of pepper jack cheese and wrapped with bacon. I only had thick bacon, so I nuked that for about 2.5 minutes to get it soft and pliable and used only 1/2 a piece of bacon for each shrimp. I then closed up my package with a toothpick. I broiled the shrimp for about 8 minutes. Armando, my other half, stated that this was a 9.5 out of 10 meal!! We served this with vegetable rice, tossed salad and some warm bread! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I did not follow the recipe to the letter... For the barbecuing seasoning I used Penzey's 3000 barbecue spice blend. I put about 1 T on top of 13 (20-25) shrimp. I cut the butterfly deeper and stuck a sliver of jalapeno and then added a sliver of pepper jack cheese and wrapped with bacon. I only had thick bacon, so I nuked that for about 2.5 minutes to get it soft and pliable and used only 1/2 a piece of bacon for each shrimp. I then closed up my package with a toothpick. I broiled the shrimp for about 8 minutes. Armando, my other half, stated that this was a 9.5 out of 10 meal!! We served this with vegetable rice, tossed salad and some warm bread! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Best Ever Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Best Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawnyon Turner

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I was looking for a double chocolate chip cookie & I came across this recipe & another on this site which was a video. I baked both & have to say I was delighted at the outcome of both. This recipe is fantastic! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I didn't follow the recipe completely. I took the advice from some of the reviews & used 2 1/4 cups AP flour, 3/4 cup white sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, & divided the chips up between white chocolate & semi-sweet chocolate chips...the rest I left the same. Turned out wonderful!!! This recipe was quick & easy & definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnyon Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat - 1

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This is my recipe and I wanted to put down that the leftovers freeze very, very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Alabama Fire Crackers - Cammy

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I am curing some crackers as I type. I did not read the recipe correctly before going to the store. I ended up with a package of ranch and a package of Italian. So, I added both to the mix. I also added garlic pepper in addition to the regular garlic. We can never get enough garlic. I have tried two and had to hide bag so I would not eat any more. This is my second batch. I made these for a potluck party at the pottery studio where I go to make pots. I served these with cheddar cheese and they did not last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Alabama Fire Crackers

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I am curing some crackers as I type. I did not read the recipe correctly before going to the store. I ended up with a package of ranch and a package of Italian. So, I added both to the mix. I also added garlic pepper in addition to the regular garlic. We can never get enough garlic. I have tried two and had to hide bag so I would not eat any more. This is my second batch. I made these for a potluck party at the pottery studio where I go to make pots. I served these with cheddar cheese and they did not last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Super good recipe. I changed a few things, not much, mainly I put in 4 T butter flavored Crisco and processed it all in the food processor. My MIL always told me to knead them for 2 minutes, roll into balls, and let rest for 10 minutes. SOOO...since she use to be the food editor for the "New Mexico Magazine", I am following her advise. The best compliment that I got from my sweetie, was that they tasted like his mom's tortillas. Since my MIL passed in 2012, that is high praise from him. Make sure when you are rolling them out that you turn the tortilla 45 degrees each time you roll it out. That gives you a nice round tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Super good recipe. I changed a few things, not much, mainly I put in 4 T butter flavored Crisco and processed it all in the food processor. My MIL always told me to knead them for 2 minutes, roll into balls, and let rest for 10 minutes. SOOO...since she use to be the food editor for the "New Mexico Magazine", I am following her advise. The best compliment that I got from my sweetie, was that they tasted like his mom's tortillas. Since my MIL passed in 2012, that is high praise from him. Make sure when you are rolling them out that you turn the tortilla 45 degrees each time you roll it out. That gives you a nice round tortilla and not the state of Texas!! (No offense to any Texans who read this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is a very good slow cooker soup and so easy! I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lemon Chicken Thighs with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was a very good recipe. There is a strong lemon flavor, but it was not overpowering. I followed the recipe to the letter for the most part, but when I was getting ready to cook the chicken, I realized that I forgot to put the oregano in the brine. Oops! When the cooking time was done, the chicken looked a little too white for me and since I like crisp skin, I decided to broil the chicken. I broiled it for about 5 minutes and I achieved what I wanted. To keep my carb count down, I substituted one tablespoon of corn starch for the flour in the sauce. Armando, my better half (?) rated this recipe a 9 out of ten. He does not rate very many meals this high. All in all, a very good dinner that will grace my kitchen table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

White Chocolate Apricot Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
To make this for high altitude, reduce the brown sugar by one tablespoon and increase the vanilla to 1 1/2 teas. These recommendations are for those folks living over 5000 feet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Shrimp Pasta with Tomato Basil Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
We loved this. Tasted like something you'd order at a fine Italian restaurant. This recipe is entering my list of favorites from this site. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spyce

Chef John's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I love peach cobbler. I normally make a rolled crust, but thought I would give this recipe a try. It's delicious! I used cinnamon instead of five spice powder. Some reviews say there was a lot of liquid in the pan after an hour. I baked mine for 50 minutes, and it was perfect. I think the type of dish used matters so use something similar to the one in the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Meatless Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made these meatballs a couple of times. They are delicious with spaghetti and make a dynamite meatball sub! I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats since that's the kind I had, and I used Panko bread crumbs. The video instructions say to cool the mushroom mixture after adding the oats. The written instructions above omits that step. I followed the video instructions and let the mixture cool to room temperature before adding the cheese and remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Laundry Detergent

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
You can add 10 drops of essential oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
We love these potatoes! They are easy to make and good enough to serve to company. We find them a little too salty as originally written, so I recommend cutting back the salt by half. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
We love these potatoes! They are easy to make and good enough to serve to company. We find them a little too salty as originally written, so I recommend cutting back the salt by half. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States