Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love it! I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used 1 tsp. dried oregano and 1tsp. dried basil. The fresh veggies make it special. I will be serving this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this week. OUTSTANDING!! I have been looking for a brownie recipe that was made from scratch with that chewy box brownie consistency. This is a winner here! I've probably tried a dozen recipes over the years, and these were my best homemade brownies yet--thick, fudgy, flavorful--yum! My family adored them. No more box mix for me. I melted about a quarter cup of peanut butter with my butter before mixing in the sugar. So good! Can't wait to try some other variations--marshmallows for rocky road, some caramel and pecans for turtle brownies, maybe even snicker or cheesecake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My go-to burger recipe! I go easy on the garlic and use regular milk. I also add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows Salad with Avocado, Tomato and Mozzarella

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
i made this as directed. It was a little bland for our tastes, so the second time I made this, I added some balsamic vinegar. I used about a third of a cup. I also added 1/2 teas of cayenne pepper to the dressing. We like things hot as we are both a couple of chili heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

German Chocolate Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
heavy heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Chicken Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Not much flavor needs lots of seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
stout was way too strong for my family's taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good resulting in the above rating. My better half really liked it a lot, but we decided to increase the sauce by 1/2 as suggested by other viewers. I live at 5500 feet. I have not been making this type of recipe since the potatoes always tasted a little bony. I got around this by microwaving my potatoes for 3 minutes and let them cool before slicing. I use my mandolin to slice my precooked potatoes as I find that there is more even cooking. It was very good. The second time I made this, I added some chopped green chili and some cut up ham. This made an awesome dinner for the two of us. So yummy!! I plan on trying it in the crockpot as others have suggested. One last thing...I make my cheese sauce in the microwave. I melt the butter in the container for 1 minute, add the flour and seasonings, whisking the butter and flour together. I then microwave that for one minute. Lastly I add the milk and slowly whisk that in. I then microwave this on high at 2 minute intervals for about six minutes until nice and thick. I then add the cheese and stir to incorporate. If the cheese is a little slow to melt, I will stick it back into the microwave for about 20 seconds. I do this in a large 4 cup microwave safe measuring cup which allows me to pour it onto the sliced potatoes. If you want to cook your onions, add them to the melted butter and microwave for about two minutes before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Original Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made a similar one before but could not find the recipe. The only change is that I made mine without ketchup but used chili sauce. This is great with either saltines or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe 3x now. We are chili heads so I made sure that everything was hot in the spice area like hot green chili. Since it is just the two of us, I freeze a good portion of this and it freezes beautifully. I make homemade tortillas from this site and we eat a lot of this with avocado cheese and chopped up jalapeños.I did find that putting the meat back into the crockpot after shredding and cook it for another hour as some suggested adds to the flavor. If you like hotter food,Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I have made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. It was outstanding! since we like more veggies, the second time I added twice as much, added more beef broth, 1/2 cup of wine and a 4 oz can of hot Hatch green chilis! We live in NM and like chili in everything, except ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I doubled the ingredients as it makes a small amount. Good and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyV

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The taste was good, but the texture was not. It didn't get brown on the bottom and was a bit mushy. Too much trouble for just an average outcome. I cooked the cauliflower in the microwave for 5-6 minutes. Then I baked it for about 20 minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States