Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I didn't have whole milk, and I used half and half and cream. I cut the butter to 3 tablespoons. I liked the idea of mixing the flour with the milk rather than sprinkling it on. It's best to mix the milk with the flour a little at a time, otherwise, the flour will clump. I used a mix of russet and Yukon gold potatoes. I let mine sit for about 10 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Chiken/Asparagus Rollups

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
We thought this was fabulous. We found it a little awkward to slice the breast but worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forsyth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spyce

Pressure Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
For those wanting a thicker chili - Reserve a 1/2 cup or so of the beans and mash them before adding to the chili. This will thicken the chili. Or just wait until the chili is done and smash some of the beans against the side of the pot. You can also decrease the amount of water in the recipe to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

Pork Medallions in Sage Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Wonderful, unique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forsyth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made this for Christmas Eve dinner last year and now it is going to become a tradition for my family. We all loved it. Followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dried Mushroom and Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was looking for a dried onion and mushroom soup base. As suggested by others, I put all of my ingredients in my small 2 cup sized food processor and ground it to a fine powder. In addition to the above recipe, I added 1/4 cup of dried mushrooms which I ground up with the rest of the onion soup mix. It turned out great. I use this when I am making beef stew or cube steaks. It truly is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was looking for a dried onion and mushroom soup base. As suggested by others, I put all of my ingredients in my small 2 cup sized food processor and ground it to a fine powder. In addition to the above recipe, I added 1/4 cup of dried mushrooms which I ground up with the rest of the onion soup mix. It turned out great. I use this when I am making beef stew or cube steaks. It truly is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jim's Old Fashioned Oyster Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this recipe every year for Thanksgiving. As I do not put it into the bird, it is known as dressing. I agree with Valorie that the title should not result in a one star rating. I cut this recipe in half and I use only half of the oysters because of cost factors. I make this in a crock pot and it is awesome. I do cheat and use stuffing/dressing mix instead of cutting up the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Steph

Italian Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Love this soup! I make the macaroni on the side so it doesn't soak up all the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauerkraut and Cabbage with Pork

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Yes, almost everyone to whom I have served it to has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forsyth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Cacciatore

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
One of our most favorite dishes. Everyone to whom we have served it has requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocinero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forsyth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love it! I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used 1 tsp. dried oregano and 1tsp. dried basil. The fresh veggies make it special. I will be serving this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this week. OUTSTANDING!! I have been looking for a brownie recipe that was made from scratch with that chewy box brownie consistency. This is a winner here! I've probably tried a dozen recipes over the years, and these were my best homemade brownies yet--thick, fudgy, flavorful--yum! My family adored them. No more box mix for me. I melted about a quarter cup of peanut butter with my butter before mixing in the sugar. So good! Can't wait to try some other variations--marshmallows for rocky road, some caramel and pecans for turtle brownies, maybe even snicker or cheesecake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My go-to burger recipe! I go easy on the garlic and use regular milk. I also add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows Salad with Avocado, Tomato and Mozzarella

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
i made this as directed. It was a little bland for our tastes, so the second time I made this, I added some balsamic vinegar. I used about a third of a cup. I also added 1/2 teas of cayenne pepper to the dressing. We like things hot as we are both a couple of chili heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States