Decatur, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this week. OUTSTANDING!! I have been looking for a brownie recipe that was made from scratch with that chewy box brownie consistency. This is a winner here! I've probably tried a dozen recipes over the years, and these were my best homemade brownies yet--thick, fudgy, flavorful--yum! My family adored them. No more box mix for me. I melted about a quarter cup of peanut butter with my butter before mixing in the sugar. So good! Can't wait to try some other variations--marshmallows for rocky road, some caramel and pecans for turtle brownies, maybe even snicker or cheesecake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Floating Cucumber, Tomato, and Onion Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We both love this salad, but I dont eat sugar if I can help it. The recipe calls for a lot of sugar. I followed the instructions to the letter, save subbing splenda once and stevia the next time for the sugar. I like the stevia better and subbing it for the sugar saves a ton of calories. On my second salad I used halves cherry tomatoes. I liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My go-to burger recipe! I go easy on the garlic and use regular milk. I also add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows Salad with Avocado, Tomato and Mozzarella

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
i made this as directed. It was a little bland for our tastes, so the second time I made this, I added some balsamic vinegar. I used about a third of a cup. I also added 1/2 teas of cayenne pepper to the dressing. We like things hot as we are both a couple of chili heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Jalapeno Strawberry Jam

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This will be the second year that I have made this recipe exactly as detailed. I did double it this year so that I would have enough to give as gifts. I used about 3/4 of the seeds. Even my father who hates hotly spiced food will eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

German Chocolate Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
heavy heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Chicken Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Not much flavor needs lots of seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
stout was way too strong for my family's taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good resulting in the above rating. My better half really liked it a lot, but we decided to increase the sauce by 1/2 as suggested by other viewers. I live at 5500 feet. I have not been making this type of recipe since the potatoes always tasted a little bony. I got around this by microwaving my potatoes for 3 minutes and let them cool before slicing. I use my mandolin to slice my precooked potatoes as I find that there is more even cooking. It was very good. The second time I made this, I added some chopped green chili and some cut up ham. This made an awesome dinner for the two of us. So yummy!! I plan on trying it in the crockpot as others have suggested. One last thing...I make my cheese sauce in the microwave. I melt the butter in the container for 1 minute, add the flour and seasonings, whisking the butter and flour together. I then microwave that for one minute. Lastly I add the milk and slowly whisk that in. I then microwave this on high at 2 minute intervals for about six minutes until nice and thick. I then add the cheese and stir to incorporate. If the cheese is a little slow to melt, I will stick it back into the microwave for about 20 seconds. I do this in a large 4 cup microwave safe measuring cup which allows me to pour it onto the sliced potatoes. If you want to cook your onions, add them to the melted butter and microwave for about two minutes before adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Original Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made a similar one before but could not find the recipe. The only change is that I made mine without ketchup but used chili sauce. This is great with either saltines or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe 3x now. We are chili heads so I made sure that everything was hot in the spice area like hot green chili. Since it is just the two of us, I freeze a good portion of this and it freezes beautifully. I make homemade tortillas from this site and we eat a lot of this with avocado cheese and chopped up jalapeños.I did find that putting the meat back into the crockpot after shredding and cook it for another hour as some suggested adds to the flavor. If you like hotter food,Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I have made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. It was outstanding! since we like more veggies, the second time I added twice as much, added more beef broth, 1/2 cup of wine and a 4 oz can of hot Hatch green chilis! We live in NM and like chili in everything, except ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I doubled the ingredients as it makes a small amount. Good and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyV

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The taste was good, but the texture was not. It didn't get brown on the bottom and was a bit mushy. Too much trouble for just an average outcome. I cooked the cauliflower in the microwave for 5-6 minutes. Then I baked it for about 20 minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeDe

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
AMAZING!! This recipe was do easy and came out perfect! I didn't have bittersweet chocolate so I used milk chocolate. I made my chocolate cake a little less sweet then usual for fear the two together would be too sweet but the flavor was everything I was looking for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeDe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. My significant other loves these and for some reason by the time I am ready to make my gift trays around Christmas, half of what I made has disappeared. I checked his breath....Hmmmm. Anyway, I use candy melts for my chocolate. I use Merken's brand that can be found at various candy making websites. I dip mine in either milk or dark chocolate. Then when that chocolate has set up, I melt a few red and green pieces. I put one color in a small zippable sandwich bag and melt them in the microwave. One minute, smoosh the melts together and then microwave for 15 second intervals, smooshing after eat until the chocolate is melted and smooth. I then cut a "teeny" hole out of one corner and then put stripes on the balls. I have also, when the balls were still damp and shiny have added cake decorations such as colored crystal sugar and other cake decorations. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Peanut Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. My significant other loves these and for some reason by the time I am ready to make my gift trays around Christmas, half of what I made has disappeared. I checked his breath....Hmmmm. Anyway, I use candy melts for my chocolate. I use Merken's brand that can be found at various candy making websites. I dip mine in either milk or dark chocolate. Then when that chocolate has set up, I melt a few red and green pieces. I put one color in a small zippable sandwich bag and melt them in the microwave. One minute, smoosh the melts together and then microwave for 15 second intervals, smooshing after eat until the chocolate is melted and smooth. I then cut a "teeny" hole out of one corner and then put stripes on the balls. I have also, when the balls were still damp and shiny have added cake decorations such as colored crystal sugar and other cake decorations. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States