Danville, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
These cookies are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aussie Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This recipe was DELICIOUS! It was so good that it left my wife and I literally licking our plates. So, I made a couple modifications. First, I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning, cayenne pepper, and seasoning salt and then covered and refrigerated for 3 hours. Next modification was that I substituted the corn syrup with a sugar & H20 mixture. I also substituted pepperjack cheese for the monterey. I omitted the mushrooms because they are not a personal preference. GREAT JOB & THANKS Beckie for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is an EXCELLENT base recipe. I made a couple modifications. I added 1 boiled egg per can of tuna. I also sauteed celery,onion and garlic in place of the onion flakes and garlic powder. The amount to use of the three depends on your preferred tastes. I also added a 1 cup of pepperjack cheese (or your preferred kind of SPICY cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Hearty Hamburger Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great Soup, thanks for the recipe. Only changes I made was to add a little red wine to the soup and some frozen corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDM1995

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pesto Chicken and Bow Ties

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner last night and it was delicious. My wife, my food critic/critiquer, says "You should save this recipe," so that I did. I did make a couple changes. I sauteed about 2.5 cups of frozen vegetables(baby corn, brocolli, yellow squash)and 1.5 Tbs of minced garlic. I set this aside and then browned my chicken using EVOO as a healthier alternative to butter. During the cooking process I seasoned my chicken with Seasoning Salt, garlic powder, and Poultry Seasoning. I then added the sauteed vegetables and soup, milk,pesto, plus added about a third of a cup of white Moscato,and a cup of grated parmesan cheese(I made a double serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Puff Pastry

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I agree with some of the others that you could take out a few tablespoons of butter. I felt like the extra butter made the dough get soft pretty quickly when I worked with it, so I put it back in the refrigerator when I thought it was getting to hard to work with. Overall though, it was a great recipe and came together beautifully in my KitchenAid mixer. I'll definitely be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was wonderful. I loved everything about this recipe. It was the perfect blend of savory and warm, and the pumpkin provided a hint of sweetness to the sauce. Great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Water Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I'm so disappointed. I really wanted to like this recipe and for it to work, but it turned out like a brick even though I followed the recipe exactly. I have worked in bakeries and made countless loaves of bread, but unfortunately, this recipe just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe that always makes my kitchen smell like fall. I make it exactly as described here and end up with perfect loaves every time. In fact, many people have requested that I make it for special events or work parties ever since. Of course, this bread is amazing when covered in melted butter. For an even better treat, I recommend spreading some apple butter on a warm slice of this bread. It adds a complementary fall flavor and is perfect for breakfast or a cozy snack on a cool evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is very similar to my great grandmother's recipe. Her recipe calls for less sugar. I have also modified it to reduce the amount of oil. I use 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also use this base recipe for banana bread as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bloody Mary Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I love it!! What a great alternative to expensive store brands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was my first time making this and it was so good, as good as any authentic mexican resturant. I will be making this over aand over. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!! I made a couple modifications. I tripled the recipe and used Sriacha (Rooster Sauce). I used a low sodium soy sauce to make more healthier. I also upped the brown sugar and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Quick Zesty Green Beans

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great! Added lemon juice, salt, pepper, yellow and red pepper, garlic, onion, carrots. Steamed all items except onion and garlic (softened them in skillet with grapeseed oil). Didn't use the pecans or Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Au Gratin

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was the greatest eggplant recipe that we have tried in a long time. I did salt the eggplant for an hour to pull out more water but everything else was the same and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I used chicken breasts instead of boiler/fryer chicken. Added honey to the wet ingredients (2tbsp). I have never cooked with Sherry (besides I didn't have any on hand) so I used a mixture of vinegar, sugar, water in its place. I also baked the chicken on 375 for about 20 minutes covered. The chicken came out moist and delicious. It is a tad bland, so possibly will season a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Asian Crab and Cuke Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this up and wasn't really impressed. Not really sure on what I would change to make it better but I just wouldn't give this one a try unless you like the very simple flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hasenpfeffer

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Going to cook this up this coming Sunday. I will add more to this post after we cook it up. Looking forward to this. Just got done with cutting up the Rabbit and letting it take a two day bath in the vinegar solution. I hope to give this a few more stars. I will know very soon. 01/22/2012 is when we (my friend John) cooked this dish up. I have to agree that it was way too much vinegar for both of us. I guess I would cut back to a 1 cup maybe 2 cups max and increase the amount of water. One thing that helped out is once I put up the leftovers I put it in a container that allowed it to soak in the vinegar/sour cream sauce and the sour cream help mellow out the vinegar a bit more. I wish the sauce was thicker and that it would cling to the rabbit better and that might also cut the vinegar flavor when it's hot. Other than that I liked the rabbit and this was the first time that I have tasted rabbit. I will make this again and cut back on the vinegar and use oil to brown up the rabbit instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Spaetzle Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good just lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this with the Sauerbraten I on this site and now my neighbors are asking me to fix them some more to chow down on. This was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 99) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States