Crystal Lake, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandad's Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Sad to admit that at 49 years old, this is the first time I've made pancakes from scratch. I had no mix! :-) My son had a sleepover and they wanted pancakes for breakfast so I found this recipe. WINNER!!! Very easy to follow, and make. They turned out wonderful and the kids loved them! This recipe was voted as a keeper for the next sleepover!! THANK YOU!!! Awesome simple tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Yach Voegeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frosted Pecan Bites

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
great treat for the holidays and gifting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Wuerl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Wedding Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Wuerl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made this recipe for our work pot luck, it was DELISH! Everyone loved it! This is the only lasagna recipe I will ever use Thank you, Chicago Art
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with the addition of adding a 1/4 cup of honey and cutting back the amount of soy sauce (I used low sodium) to a 1/4 cup. I browned the chops in a little olive oil in a pan, seasoning them with salt and pepper on each side, prior to placing them in the crock pot. The meat was falling off of the bones. Wonderful served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Wuerl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a great hit at a pool party I attended. I used fresh strawberries. It's important that each layer cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Wuerl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Hash Brown Quiche

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
My Family of 5 loved it! Very easy to make. The first time I made only one quiche, and there wasn't quite enough. The second time I made 2 and we only had 1 piece left. Great meal for any day of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Amazing 'Pizza' Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this tonight. Everyone said it suprisingly tasted like pizza. Even I was a bit suprised. I used plum tomatoes & put 2 slices on each chop, that way you got a bite of it every time. Can't wait until I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arkdale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry E.

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
No matter what their shape, they are delish! I used my popover pan Amazing Muffin Cups... and they came out cone shaped! LOL! I've been making these for years, even included them in a cooking class I taught a few years back and some of my students still are making them for a quick brunch or fast dinner for the fam. I like to add a little hot sauce to my eggs and some chopped spinach but however you slide on this one it's going to be a winner with Johnsonville breakfast sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Ultra Easy Pineapple Johnsonville Sausage Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Ultra Easy Pineapple Chicken Kabobs Made these even better... instead of Chicken I just used Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage. Cooked them just through and completed as the direction say in the AR recipe. Served on a bed of Rice and Connie said, "This, we need to do again!" #JvilleKitchens, #6IngredientsOrLess with #JohnsonvilleSausage #AllstarsJville
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Ultra Easy Pineapple Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Ultra Easy Pineapple Chicken Kabobs Made these even better... instead of Chicken I just used Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage. Cooked them just through and completed as the direction say in the AR recipe. Served on a bed of Rice and Connie said, "This, we need to do again!" #JvilleKitchens, #6IngredientsOrLess with #JohnsonvilleSausage #AllstarsJville
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Avocado Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Like everyone else I doubled the spices and added a few red pepper flakes but also added a teaspoon of chicken soup base to the pot for hopefully another layer of flavor. (it was very bland up to this point.) The cup of flat parsley does give it that Avocado color green which is why I believe it's there, but on the other hand a cup of blended flat parsley leaves turns the whole concoction into more of a pesto-ish pasta dish instead of a cheesy comfort food which is what I was hoping for. I don't think I will make this again but use it as inspiration for a whole new recipe because I love the idea of Avocado Mac and Cheese. Just didn't think this one was what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by ChicagoArt

Mexican Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I baked them in the oven 425 for about 30 min. They turned out AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Savory Baked Cod

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wasn't sure about the cheese on Cod but it worked! The Orzo could use more salt maybe even a bit of chili pepper flakes.. a little bland for my liking buy Connie, my wife, first this out of her mouth after the first bite went in, was "OMG this is good!" She gave it 5 stars I gave it 3... so we averaged it out to a strong 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Savory Slow Cooker Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Excited to try this today. I got hung up at work and didn't get home to turn off the slow cooker until after the poor pork had been in it's hot tub for more than 6 hours! Flavor was exactly what I thought it would be... call it American Asian Fusion. Served with brown rice and roasted asparagus with parmesan. Very nice! My pork was over cooked ... yours won't be if you follow the instructions. I'm giving it 4 stars because I know what it can be... and really not a bad 3 stars personally because of my impossible work schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Mom's Apple Fritters

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
These are soooo good! Light and fluffy inside!! YUM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Johnny's Slow Cooker London Broil

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made just like the recipe... Brown onion Gravy is great! Lots of hot home made dinner rolls to slop it up with...YUM! ... Comfort food junkie! London Broil may not be the perfect choice for this recipe but still we enjoyed the flavor and vegs that went along with it. Might try it again with stew meat. This one does has promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Mahi Mahi with Artichokes and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Mahalo (Thank you) for this amazing Mahi Mahi dish. I thought adding the Artichoke and Sun-Dried tomatoes would overpower this beautiful fish. But both held their own like a Hula to a full moon black sand beach... Ok, enough of that! This was really good and fun to make. I served it with creamed spinach and next time some rice would be nice but today trying to cut back on the carbs. Try this one for a special "lent" night dinner with someone special. Mahi Mahi is expensive here in the upper Midwest but I can picture this using whole Trout or even Tilapia filets would be just as fine. Aloha nui loa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Terry E.

Tuscan Bean, Chicken, and Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We loved this soup. Mama Mia! Italian flavor AND easy to make. I added a little diced celery and carrots along with the onion and can't bring myself to use canned chicken broth when it's so easy to make and freeze.. for times like this.. but those were the only changes. This would be great for company with some fresh bread, ripped not sliced for sopping the final drips at the bottom of the bowl. Great soup on a cold night! Thanks for the recipe DG more offerings like this and you'll be one of my AR favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States