Collinsville, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mediterranean Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The whole family enjoys this dish. We have made it several times and none of it has gone to waste. We mixed it up a bit by adding a white wine lemon butter sauce to it but the original is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These did not turn out good for me at all. It may have been the molasses I used but they tasted like burnt black licorish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is great. The whole family enjoys this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Good Recipe, very tasty. My wife has asked for this several times since I cooked it. I substituted bacon for the ham though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was amazing! I followed the advice of other reviewers to increase the sauce and add more seasonings and am very glad I did. Hubby loved it and pronounced it "a keeper." I couldn't agree more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Curry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

Fresh Tuna Ceviche

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Absolutely incredible!I added tomatoes as well and what a fantastic dish. I also tried a little bit with some balsamic vinegar. Just a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
not as light or sweet as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pstry8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
All the prep work for this and it tasted like just another burger. It needs more to it. I will try it again with more of all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Lime Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These were good. We usually make these with traditional hot wings for a variety. It's a little sweet with a tangy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My family LOVES this stuffing. The base recipe works well with apples and raisins instead of sausage too, yummy! This is the same stuffing recipe my mom taught me years ago, only she never gave me measurements. "Add this until it looks right..." LOL. I'm so glad to have had someone else figure out proportions! Now when guests ask for the recipe, I can give it to them!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shurilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Crusted Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Taking the advice of other reviewers, I browned the crusted side in a separate pan and it was amazing. Hubby actually asked if I'd put it on the weekly menu--and he doesn't care for fish. (not unless it's the bland, fried stuff available at certain fast-serve seafood joints, lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Out of all the recipes I've tried for chocolate covered strawberries this is by far the best! It's easy and simple and hard to mess up! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLROB21
Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These cookies were delicious and I don't even like oatmeal raisin cookies! I cooked them for the full time and they were still a little soft even after they cooled but definitely cook a couple minutes less for softer cookies! I can't wait to make these again....they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLROB21
Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wassail Punch

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This tastes good and can be made with or without spirits. I added some Burgundy to it and it added a wonderful complex flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scarlett's Best Ever Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These are great. My wife asks me to make these a few times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I am just learning to cook with quinoa and I thought that this recipe really looked good. I used one can of beans and one can of drained corn. I thought it was a little bland. For my meat dish I was making "my kids favorite pork chops" (a recipe I got from this site)and so I took some of the juice (BBQ sauce and beer) from that pan and added to the quinoa. I thought it was pretty tasty and hubby didn't think it was that bad. He said it needed some rice in it for texture so I might try it again. None of the stores by me sell quinoa so I called Bob's Red Mill company and ordered it (you don't have to rinse theirs). I think this is a good base recipe that can be tweeked to your particuliar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Kid's Favorite Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
My family really liked these tasty chops. I rubbed Montreal steak seasoning into the chops before browning them. I used Sweet baby rays honey BBQ sauce and Bush beer. I used one large sweet onion. I let it simmer for 2 hours and it fell off the bone. It was flavorful and tasty. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I've made this recipe several times and it turns out great every time! I've made it a little different each time though. I never seem to have chicken broth on hand so I would have to use a chicken boullion cube with water as a subsitute. It still turned out good, the only thing is that the gravy wasn't very thick. Recently I did have some chicken broth and I used that and still thickened it a little with some corn starch. This was the best one yet....it turned out nice and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLROB21
Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Okay, even though I completely butchered this recipe it surprisingly came out good! I wasn't so sure about the amount of baking soda so I only put in 1 tsp. and that seemed to work just fine. I already added the salt to the dry mix, and then I accidentally melted salted butter instead of unsalted, so instead of wasting the salted, I mixed in half of the salted with some unsalted. If that wasn't bad enough, I realized I didn't have enough milk, so I ended up only putting in about 1 cup....and I forgot to warm it up! So when I added the cold milk to the butter mixture...sure enough the butter turned back to halfway solid!! So, I had chunks of butter all throughout this wet mixture. I added it anyway to the dry ingredients and although it looked jacked up and was a very thick batter, I decided to put it in the waffle iron anyway. I thought this would be terrible for sure, but I am pleased to say they still turned out! They're especially good with syrup, strawberries and whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLROB21
Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 40) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States