Collinsville, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These black bean burgers were amazing! I made these burgers exactly like how the video did. I didn't think they were going to hold together since I processed the bell pepper, onion, and garlic, the mixture was kinda watery. I did add a little more bread crumbs in hopes it would not be sooo wet. The burgers came out great. I made a total of 5 burgers. I also made a mayo sauce out of 1 cup of mayo, 2 chopped adobe chipotles, and 1 teaspoon of adobe sauce. I toasted a piece of bread, added some mayo, avocadoes, tomatoes, and then the burger. It was pretty delicious! Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Love love love this recipe. Will definitely be making this again. Made it exactly like the video did. I also did the coconut milk instead of the heavy cream like the video suggested. It was hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Definitely a hit in our house! Will be making it again! I only added the provolone, pears, and gorgonzola cheese. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
So my bf said this recipe was okay. Good, not spectaluar, different from his families version. I realized that my childhood review of dumplings still stands, I don't like them. I would say careful of the amount of water you add, i wish the sauce had been thicker. I could see me making the recipe minus the dumplings, using more chicken, then just serving it with potatoes, some kind of green veggies (broccoli, brussel sprouts, a salad...), and baked biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is your grandma's Salisbury steak recipe, not that freezer section . My bf LOVES this recipe. He always comes home from work saying how all his co workers loved how it smelled and asks what he has. I use all the ingredients as stated, expect I buy family packs of gr. Beef and just spilt it in two, so I probably use about 3 lbs of meat instead of two which I think lessens the salty taste, but it can be salty if you don't use that much meat. My gravy always turns out a little runny and I have to play with it to thicken it up some. I drain the patties before adding to the slow cooker. This could be done in just a pan, your basically frying burgers then letting it soak in the slow cooker for 5 hours. It doesn't really need to go into one, but I'm a stay at home wife for now so I can start dinner and then clean or whatever and come back hours later, make a few sides and dinners done. It takes me about an hour to prep and cook everything, but again, I'm not in a rush so after I make the patties I throw them in the fridge for 20 mins like you would if bbqing. I serve with brussel sprouts or broccoli, a salad or corn, and potatoes or r biscuits. You kinda need the potatoes or biscuits to soak up the awesome gravy. And I like the color the other veggies gives to the plate. I think adding mushrooms to this would be awesome. Enjoy! This is one recipe you won't regret making. I've shared with friends and everyone LOVES it. Easy, especially if you don't add the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit-Filled Thumbprint Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I thought it was very good. I love to bake too, but sometimes time constraints can make a packaged mix a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Strawberry Crepes

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I made these for my husband today and with the exception of leaving out lemon juice ( I was out) I followed the recipe to the letter. My Husband ran out of adjectives describing how wonderful they were. This will be a weekly item for him and I thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickle Rollups

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very tasty my 11 year old loves these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was good. My wife is not a big meat person so she wasn't sure on this but she has asked for it a couple of times since she had it originally. The original recipe sisn't have potato or onion so I added those and put in enough water to cover them and the flavor was still well defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great recipe! My VERY picky 10yr loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I love this recipe, have been making it for a few years now. This is my go to recipe for leftovers of chicken and mashed potatoes. I add my mashed potatoes to the vegetables with a jar of chicken gravy instead of the canned soups, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Round Steak Sauerbraten

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great dish, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsmith7757

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chrisman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Pretty good. I followed the recipe and the family enjoyed it. Sometimes the flavor would be hit and miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon-Roasted Almonds

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
not quite like the ones you can buy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The whole family enjoys this dish. We have made it several times and none of it has gone to waste. We mixed it up a bit by adding a white wine lemon butter sauce to it but the original is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These did not turn out good for me at all. It may have been the molasses I used but they tasted like burnt black licorish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Italian Lemon Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is great. The whole family enjoys this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Good Recipe, very tasty. My wife has asked for this several times since I cooked it. I substituted bacon for the ham though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was amazing! I followed the advice of other reviewers to increase the sauce and add more seasonings and am very glad I did. Hubby loved it and pronounced it "a keeper." I couldn't agree more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Curry Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 40) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States