Collinsville, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Lasagna II

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Absolutely fantastic and easy! Although like other reviewers i think there was way too much cottage cheese. I cut back on that significantly and only used 16 oz. It was still plenty. Very good and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spriteee1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

Berdean's Cube Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was extremely tasty with so little ingredients! The only thing i did different was mix my beef bullion in with my water before covering my steaks. They came out tender and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spriteee1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So far, all I can really say is I made this recipe totally backwards. My chicken was still thawing, but I know how my slow cooker is so I started it heating to temp. In doing so, being my first time making this, I threw in my fresh veggies since I wrote down add all but frozen veggies. Lol. So, I thought 5 hrs on high with fresh veggies would all turn to mush, so I partially cooked my 3 medium red potatoes into bite sized pieces and boiled in salted water (abt 6 mins), cooled then coated with mrs. Dash original, pepper and a little salt. I also cubed the chicken and put it in the oven for 10 mins, with salt/pepper sprinkled over it, which is fine by me to get those juices out first. Otherwise I always think blood seeping out into the stew. I didn't have any chicken broth on hand, but the condensed did look pretty thick, so I drained the broth from a can of chicken noodle soup. I used real garlic and cut up an onion in large chunks. I used fresh baby carrots, minced garlic and chopped celery. No bullion cubes. I didn't go wild with the recipe, just made a few changes based on reviews and made more work for myself by making things out of order. Lol. I now have it on low for the next 2 - 3 hours to finish the potatoes, carrots and chicken. It already looks and smells delicious though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hillshire Farm® Sausage Alfredo

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was delicious the night it was made, however my bf came home from work and stated that after rehating for lunch it became very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Cheese Manicotti II

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I'm cooking this now so will update. I added spinach as another vegetable. I cut the recipe in half cause it's just my boyfriend and myself, so we just needed 2 a piece for dinner and 2 for his lunch tomorrow. I have the ingredients, so it can be dinner one day next week also. I brought the water to a boil, turned the burner off, added 7 shells and waited 14 mins. Perfect Al dente. I only filled 6 shells, one split during cooking, and I had just enough filling for 6. I put a ball of filling in one end, used a small juice glass to stand the pasta tube up and filled it from the other end. My filling didn't really look all that soft to be squeezable, so that's how I filled it and it worked perfectly and easily. I might add a small amount of meat to the sauce next time. Since I split the recipe, I wish I had another small bag of mozzarella to sprinkle over it, at the same time, it already has a lot of cheese, it's more for presentation. Serving with a small romaine lettuce salad with tomatoes and croutons and a piece of garlic bread. I'll post a pic once plated. Txs for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These black bean burgers were amazing! I made these burgers exactly like how the video did. I didn't think they were going to hold together since I processed the bell pepper, onion, and garlic, the mixture was kinda watery. I did add a little more bread crumbs in hopes it would not be sooo wet. The burgers came out great. I made a total of 5 burgers. I also made a mayo sauce out of 1 cup of mayo, 2 chopped adobe chipotles, and 1 teaspoon of adobe sauce. I toasted a piece of bread, added some mayo, avocadoes, tomatoes, and then the burger. It was pretty delicious! Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Love love love this recipe. Will definitely be making this again. Made it exactly like the video did. I also did the coconut milk instead of the heavy cream like the video suggested. It was hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Definitely a hit in our house! Will be making it again! I only added the provolone, pears, and gorgonzola cheese. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
So my bf said this recipe was okay. Good, not spectaluar, different from his families version. I realized that my childhood review of dumplings still stands, I don't like them. I would say careful of the amount of water you add, i wish the sauce had been thicker. I could see me making the recipe minus the dumplings, using more chicken, then just serving it with potatoes, some kind of green veggies (broccoli, brussel sprouts, a salad...), and baked biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is your grandma's Salisbury steak recipe, not that freezer section . My bf LOVES this recipe. He always comes home from work saying how all his co workers loved how it smelled and asks what he has. I use all the ingredients as stated, expect I buy family packs of gr. Beef and just spilt it in two, so I probably use about 3 lbs of meat instead of two which I think lessens the salty taste, but it can be salty if you don't use that much meat. My gravy always turns out a little runny and I have to play with it to thicken it up some. I drain the patties before adding to the slow cooker. This could be done in just a pan, your basically frying burgers then letting it soak in the slow cooker for 5 hours. It doesn't really need to go into one, but I'm a stay at home wife for now so I can start dinner and then clean or whatever and come back hours later, make a few sides and dinners done. It takes me about an hour to prep and cook everything, but again, I'm not in a rush so after I make the patties I throw them in the fridge for 20 mins like you would if bbqing. I serve with brussel sprouts or broccoli, a salad or corn, and potatoes or r biscuits. You kinda need the potatoes or biscuits to soak up the awesome gravy. And I like the color the other veggies gives to the plate. I think adding mushrooms to this would be awesome. Enjoy! This is one recipe you won't regret making. I've shared with friends and everyone LOVES it. Easy, especially if you don't add the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Showmaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit-Filled Thumbprint Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I thought it was very good. I love to bake too, but sometimes time constraints can make a packaged mix a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Strawberry Crepes

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I made these for my husband today and with the exception of leaving out lemon juice ( I was out) I followed the recipe to the letter. My Husband ran out of adjectives describing how wonderful they were. This will be a weekly item for him and I thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickle Rollups

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Very tasty my 11 year old loves these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was good. My wife is not a big meat person so she wasn't sure on this but she has asked for it a couple of times since she had it originally. The original recipe sisn't have potato or onion so I added those and put in enough water to cover them and the flavor was still well defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great recipe! My VERY picky 10yr loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I love this recipe, have been making it for a few years now. This is my go to recipe for leftovers of chicken and mashed potatoes. I add my mashed potatoes to the vegetables with a jar of chicken gravy instead of the canned soups, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Round Steak Sauerbraten

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great dish, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsmith7757

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chrisman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Pretty good. I followed the recipe and the family enjoyed it. Sometimes the flavor would be hit and miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon-Roasted Almonds

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
not quite like the ones you can buy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The whole family enjoys this dish. We have made it several times and none of it has gone to waste. We mixed it up a bit by adding a white wine lemon butter sauce to it but the original is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 40) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States