Chicago - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Boudreaux's Zydeco Stomp Gumbo

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Excellent gumbo! I absolutely loved this soup. I used only 2 quarts of chicken broth and it was more than enough. I also threw in a tomato bouillon cube. The end result was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Spicy Dorito® Taco Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
We have been making this for 38 years. Our recipe calls for Taco Flavored Doritos and Taco FLAVORED grated cheese (must say flavored, it is different from Taco Cheese) and bottled Creamy Italian salad dressing (the creamy whitish kind) Kroger Brand is what we use. We also use an envelope of taco seasoning and make make the taco meat according to package directions. Hint- Do not add hot meat to the salad, let it cool first. Mix the taco chips and dressing write before serving or it gets soggy. I omit the jalapeno peppers. Not everyone likes it hot. Every party we go to, we are asked to make this. I know some people use Western or Catalina Dressing, but that is too sweet. The tart Creamy Italian is the key ingredient to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Buckley Dirks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

Happy Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Tripled the amount of sauce, doubled the garlic, added chopped zucchini. Added thin somen noodles to cook in the sauce. Bad idea! The noodles cooked fine, but it made the sauce way too thick and gummy. I had to add almost a full cup of water to thin it out. BUT it still came out awesome. The flavor is amazing. Next time will omit noodles and have the crusty bread instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Italian Tortellini

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Nothing special about this at all. Not bad, just nothing I need a recipe for. I make tortellini all the time and if you're just going to add some meat to a jar of sauce, you can't expect anything outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie

Asian Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Easy to follow recipe! Next time I make it I will reduce the cornstarch amount by a tbsp ! Super simple to make and very little prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Pretty good, a little sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimee78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimee78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Kinda boring...had to tweak it a lot. Adding salt and pepper, additional more garlic and crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimee78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni Liu

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Tasted amazing! But the crust turned out to be a little hard, which was probally me and my friends baking it to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Delicious

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Fast, on-hand ingredients & completely satisfies that comfort food craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I live at high altitude and followed advice to bake at 335 for 55 minutes. It was perfectly moist. Next, I made this dairy-free using Sour Supreme and Enjoy Life chips. Oh, and coffee instead of water. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I have made potato salads for many years and this is by far the best ever. Next time I will double it - 1 for me and 1 for the rest! It is fantastic and so simple. 1 dish to wash and 1 fry pan -- that's it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittym

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I did and its great. I did rinse the salt off after it sat. Very good and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411

Chicken Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I had about 6-7 left over cooked chicken thighs and legs that I had baked in the oven a couple days before. I didn't have the heart to throw them out and knew they wouldn't taste good if I just heated them up, so, I decided to make chicken enchiladas with them. I took the skin off and then I pulled the chicken off off all the bones and shredded it apart with my hands so there weren't any big chunks. I didn't use water and tomato sauce and instead put taco sauce into the skillet. Also added some garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, and paprika to the skillet mix. For the topping enchilada sauce, I poured a packet of enchilada sauce I prefer that I buy from my local grocery store. This came out... AUHHHH-MAA-ZING! Ten stars if I could. Just looking at the picture I posted makes my mouth water. My husband and I devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frenchÿ Tureaud

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I used all the same ingredients, I just boiled my green peppers a few minutes longer and added a little more of the worcestershire sauce and it was my first time. They turned out GREAT & TASTY! P.s. My 7yrs old stepson even ate one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frenchÿ Tureaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
My husband loved this. He said to give it 4.5 because 5 would be hard to reach unless perfect and nothing is. I found it very easy to make, using the foil on bottom of baking dish and I'm glad I did as the glaze did get sticky and burn in some places. I only had a 1# pork tenderloin so I used 1/2 of the ingredients. Next time I will use the full amount so we have more juices for basting and serving. Will def make this again. . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gindin Spiegel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Peachy Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This white peach sangria was absolutely amazing! Instead of regular brandy, I added peach brandy and it came out absolutely great! This sangria was definitely a huge hit at my party! Will be adding this to my summer must haves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Super-duper! But, I made some changes based on the reviews here. Pre-boiled the potatoes for 10 mins and it should have been 15. Added tsp Gram Marsala & 1/2 tsp of tumeric and a cup of cauliflower. Used 1 can of coconut milk in place of the cream and a small can of peas. Mixed most of a bunch of cilantro with the milk reserved the rest for garnish. Served over Jasmin rice. Wowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Seaman

Sweet & Spicy St. Louis Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I made these with baby back ribs and they were amazing! Loved the flavor, and they were so tender. Definitely will make them again - they were easy to make and are a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Memphis Style Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Our new favorite recipe and brand of ribs! They turned out wonderful and juicy. I added BBQ sauce at the end and wouldn't change a thing. Using Smithfield/Farmland ribs definitely is what has made these great. Meaty and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States