Champaign - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Stewed Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was great. The celery and onion add a depth of flavor and sweetness that is very tasty. I used several stalks of celery and more garlic (maybe 4 cloves). I also used a can of stewed tomatoes with celery and onions. I will definitely be making this healthy dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

Italian Stir Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
My daughter couldn't stop eating this it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Rice Crispy Pies

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used more chocolate based on the other comments and these turned out pretty well, but didn't want to stick together at first. I think they'd be tastier with some peanut butter in them, or maybe some marshmallow fluff to bind them together a bit. They'd be good crumbled over ice cream as they are though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I will never buy canned chicken noodle soup again. This recipe is great. I made very minor adjustments: used fresh parsley, not dried. Also used two boxes of chicken broth plus 3 cups water/2 bouillon cubes. It was delicious and soothed my family's colds. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Kale

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I slightly altered the recipe - I used lime juice because I didn't have lemon. I also thinly sliced 3 big garlic cloves lengthwise (as shown in one of the pictures for this recipe) instead of mincing it. This gave it a nice mellow garlic taste with each bite with a garlic slice. Next time I'll add even more garlic. I forgot the soy sauce - next time I'll try adding that. Using this recipe, I almost ate the whole bunch of kale in one sitting - I had to stop myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Butterbeer II

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Easy to make and cute - would be a fun birthday party beverage. Super sugary, but that's the point isn't it? :) Thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Ham and Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These are pretty good, and you can't beat how quick and easy they are. Mine was a little watery from the ham, but otherwise had a great flavor. It'd be a nice quick breakfast treat. I think it'd be great with a cornbread crust, too. Or with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
As the other reviewers mentioned, I think this recipe is missing flour. I added 1 cup, but I think it may have been a little too much. They didn't have the flavor I was hoping for and it was tough to get them to cook through without getting very brown. I might give them another try, but I would probably go heavier on the cinnamon, lighter on the flour I add, and leave the syrup out to pour on top. They're an interesting idea, but I think this recipe just needs another look to see if the ingredients are as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower-Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! Like others, I used a whole head of cauliflower but left out the potato. I also used veggie broth and added more cheese and even leftover blue cheese that I had in my fridge. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and put all of the veggies in my food processor first, so it cut down on cooking time. Turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Judy's Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These are great! Just a couple of things to note. I used a large cookie scoop for the batter and I only got 24 muffins out of it. And just a helpful note, I used 1/4 t of cinnamon sugar on the top of each muffin and I thought it was just about right. Next time I would probably make a struesel to put on top and maybe add some vanilla to the batter. Regarding the previous review, I don't think the spice amount is a mistake. I used the amount as written and they aren't over spiced at all. They're very moist, but not mushy, and I think they'll be a big hit at work. They'd be great with a cream cheese frosting as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

2-Ingredient Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This won't replace my regular fudge recipe, but if you have a craving it's a quick way to hit the spot :) Next time I might try swirling some milk chocolate chips. Or maybe just melt some on top. Thanks for a quick and easy one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Homemade Pancake Mix

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Home-made pancake mix is so much better than the boxed stuff. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pad Thai Recipe from Betty Crocker

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very good, but I added celery, carrot, and broccoli slaw to make it healthier. And yummier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Grands!® Mini Pizzas

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I generally like a crunchier crust on a pizza but these were quick and easy, and pretty tasty. I might try brushing the crust with garlic butter next time for a little extra flavor. Would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Grands!® Ham and Cheese Melts

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good. The ham made it a little watery, but I think if I had let it sit for a couple minutes it would have come back together. Next time I might try cheddar or swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Easy Buckeye Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I took them to work and everyone loved them. They were very mushy and we had to stick them back in the fridge half way through the day, though. I probably would go ahead and make actual buckeyes next time because they got a little messy, but the flavor was good. Maybe a little more powdered sugar would have firmed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck

Ham Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Found this recipe while looking for something to do with some leftover ham. Used this recipe as a starting point and embellished it. Added garlic and mushrooms to the onion. Also added some peas. I had cheddar on hand, but decided on fontina for two reasons, I needed to use it and thought it would go well. I realize it’s unfair to rate a recipe that I altered so I gave it 4 stars. I predict without the changes, I would have given it fewer stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The whole family loves it. Easy and makes you look like a stare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

White Chip Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are great - I think I might add some orange extract next time. I used vanilla to add a little extra flavor. These would be really good with macadamia nuts as well. A keeper I'll make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Sweet and Salty Toll House® Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are really good - I think I could do without the potato chips. They aren't bad but they don't seem to add a lot for me. I do like how the pretzels, and I think I might experiment with other add ins like toffee brickle. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States