Champaign - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The filling made the crust mushy. It also wasn't all that sweet, but with vanilla ice cream it was pretty good. Not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I didn't really like the onion soup flavor, personally. I like to add seasonings without such a heavy emphasis on the onion. Will stick with rosemary and italian seasoning mix. Might add a few others, too. Just thought the soup mix was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very easy and flavorful. At an hour I checked it and it was still quite pink in the middle. I prefer to cook pork longer so gave it another 10 minutes and it was perfect for my taste. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Chocolate Chip Banana Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These are so delicious! I made the version with peanut butter, and was worried when I tasted the batter because they have an odd flavor. But once they're baked - so good! I did change three things because I didn't have regular wheat flour or walnuts on hand. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and used wheat pastry flour. And I used milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet. I'm not sure if the pastry flour or the peanut butter variation was the difference in timing, but these needed to bake 11-12 minutes for me. Worth the wait! They will not last long. Note that they don't spread much either, so you can fit a lot of little cookies on a tray. I made them on parchment and had no issue with the bottoms over browning as the recipe warns. Great moist, dense texture without being too heavy. Thank you for a winner! I was going to take these to work, but I think they won't make it out of the house :) The only thing I may try next time is a shot of cinnamon, which I love with oatmeal and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Herbed Chicken with Mustard

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I love tarragon, but just didn't love this recipe. Despite all the seasonings I couldn't appreciate the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Maybe I didn't punch this enough, but mine turned out super dense---more like thick hunks of banana bread than sandwich bread slices. Could have used less sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I've always struggled with rolled sugar cookie recipes, but this one is the easiest. The dough is firm enough to hold shapes, but pliable enough not to break as you roll it. And they have a good flavor - they don't taste like chalk :) Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It's my mom who goes into the peanut brittle making business every year for Christmas so I'm reviewing and photo'ing her creation. She ends up making about 10 batches for various family members and friends. This is the best! Perfectly crunchy, packed with peanuts and hopelessly addicting. I kept eating it as I was trying to take the picture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs II

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The sauce is really good. I reduced the sugar, as suggested by other reviewers. Even so, it seemed particularly sweet. The meatballs themselves are pretty bland. Would have appreciated more seasoning in the recipe. I might try adding some spices recommended by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Danish Christmas Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used the suggestion that Gitte1 made, to use red currant jam and vinegar instead of the white sugar and vinegar. It was good! But -- I started with a small head of cabbage and a full jar of jam, the 1/2 cup of vinegar and maybe 1/4 cup of broth. It was waaay too soupy. So I had to buy another big head of cabbage to add to the sauce. It's cooking now. Delicious taste! It really cooks down, so you'll wind up with much less than you start with. And it smells up your home. But the taste is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person)

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these as written except omitted the MSG. I liked the filling quite well. However, they were just so ooo oily! I know that frying = oil, but that said the oil was overpowering for my taste. I drained them on paper towels but maybe just not enough? Anyway I might try it again but bake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I liked the breaded/baked part of this recipe. It was a nice coating that adhered well to the fish and cooked well. However, it had virtually no taste. It was also very dry. I realize the lack of moisture is due to no oil or butter, but it really wasn't palatable. We had to use so much tartar sauce and other dips just to eat it that it pretty much cancelled out the health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Peppermint Cream Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
everyone loved this at thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Macadamia White Chip Cookie by Om Nom Ally | Feastie

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

White Chocolate Pie (dairy-free, Paleo)

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This smelled really good cooking and was very tender. However, my family had to add A-1 or ketchup in order to enjoy this fully. I think it could have benefited from a tomato-type ingredient or maybe Worcestershire or something? I don't know, but it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Million Dollar Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Smitty - use french or Italian bread, for goodness sake - you won't make it because of a small thing your hubbie doesn't like? He wouldn't even be able to tell because of the yummy juices it absorbs!! I used chicken breasts,some grilled red peppers from a jar, made my own creme fraiche from this site. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Tagine

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this just as directed in the recipe. The added sugar I found unnecessary, for one thing. The squash is plenty sweet on its own. It was also missing a freshness. Everything looked kind of . . . well, "orange." Not very appetizing to look at. Don't think I"ll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Frosted Cereal Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I only had a 10 ounce bag of marshmallows, so I had to scale the recipe down. I made it 12 servings and everything worked out great. Delicious - they're a little more substantial than regular Krispie treats, and the peanut butter adds to these in a good way. I melted chocolate and peanut butter chips and used a fork to make a design on top rather than mixing them together. I think they're prettier this way, and will make a great treat for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States