Champaign - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Angie Seaman

Bake Sale Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These are great - I've made them before and they're always a hit. The only thing I would change in the recipe is the 1/2 cup of butter. It says half should be used to grease the pan...that's quite a lot. I used 1/4 cup to melt into the marshmallows then pressed out the squares onto parchment so I didn't use the other butter called for. Turned out perfect. I also always just add a generous pinch of salt to take a little of the sweetness and I let the butter brown just slightly to give them a hint of a caramel flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Not all that much flavor, but when dipped in sauces like BBQ or honey mustard then it really doesn't matter. I love serving real chicken nuggets to my family, and they love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Easy marinade. Very flavorful. I'm always looking for new and good marinades. Is a crowd pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
So easy, everyone loves these. Kids can help measure seasonings and shake potato slices in bag. They take some time to cook, but if planned ahead of other dishes they are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Kind of forgettable. Made as directed. Too sweet, for sure, and just not as fabulous as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Excellent burger! Our new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Excellent burger! Our new favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Mezzi Rigatoni with Chicken Thighs, Rosemary, Lemon Zest and Roasted Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I really liked this one. I cheated a little and used frozen pre-cooked breaded chicken but it allowed me to go from rolling boil to table in about 15 minutes. Nice flavors, quick meal; what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Chocolate Covered Cherries

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Chill metal cookie sheet and cover with parchment paper to chill cherries after dipping in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My family loved this chicken, especially my husband. We are not familiar with Arabic food but wanted to try something different. I enjoyed the flavors and it was quite tender. I made this as directed except for the cardamom (when I went to purchase some I saw it is expensive.) With such a small amount called for, I didn't think it would be a huge issue. I plan on trying this at a local Middle Eastern restaurant to compare to the "real thing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Seaman

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I like this one. It's simple to make, it has a nice flavor and it's cheese and pasta; what's not to like? I added a little more salt to bring up the flavor of the cheese and I left out the nutmeg just for preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Donna's Spanish Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These are good - the texture is sort of between a bar cookie and cake. They're a bit heavy on clove for my taste. I think next time around I'd probably cut the clove in half and maybe add a vanilla/powdered sugar drizzle instead of the granulated sugar. Possibly a thin cream cheese frosting. But as they are I can see how they'd be a great one for gifting - they would travel well in a tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Pecan Crackers

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I didn't have pecans so I used about a cup of roasted peanuts that I put thru the blender to make a rough chop. I also used organic coconut palm sugar (which tastes like a very light brown sugar) and they were great! Even better a day later. These are more like a candy and everyone loved them! Will make again with pecans but I think the family will prefer them with peanuts. I think I'll go have another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice I

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. It had good flavors, but there was way too much liquid. In order to cook off the liquid I had to simmer it much longer than instructions said to do. That made it very mushy. No one wanted to eat it. Might try again with less liquid and, therefore, cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Light, not too sweet but flavorful. I made it pretty much as written - the only thing I changed was that I strained whole milk ricotta through cheesecloth to get some liquid out of it, and omitted the vanilla and added a couple tablespoons of Cointreau. I think I would add another tablespoon - the flavor is there but it could be a little less subtle. It's delicious though - definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Ham and Cheese Chop Chop

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is a quick and easy way to use up some leftovers. I remade it with Johnsonville sausage and it was a delicious breakfast. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Candice's Lasagna Omelet

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This omelet was hearty and delicious. I used Johnsonville sausage which gave it a great flavor. Great way to use the leftovers from lasagna - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Karen's Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I agree with the other reviewers - the proportions seem to be a bit off for these. I ended up adding the egg whites because the batter was too shaggy, then it ended up being too soft. I chilled it for the time in the recipe, and the dough was too sticky to hold its shape. I ended up rolling these into a log and sliced it into cookies and made them into egg shapes for Easter cookies. Easier than cutting cookies but I was hoping to make some shapes. The Reynolds parchment made both baking and cleaning up after decorating a snap, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
incredible ! I baked 8 chicken breasts first, and froze half. I probably used 3-4 breasts for this. I upped the amount of vegetables, used a 9x13 pan, covered with 2 pre-made unbaked pie crusts...no crust on the bottom. This was beyond awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monte Cristo Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love it! Family loves it! I skip the mustard and mayo and use a potato bread or denser white bread. The best part I mix raspberry jam with heavy cream to make the VERY best dipping sauce. Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States