Champaign - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Anniversary Chicken I

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My family loved this, but personally I thought the teriyaki sauce was too strong---I'd probably not use as much next time or skip it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Blueberry Delight Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
These are delicious if you close your eyes when you eat them...mine turned a really, really unpleasant color green. But next time I'd try omitting the baking soda and doubling the baking powder to see how they turn out. Blueberries and baking soda often equal green and I think the combo of the blueberries in the applesauce and the soda made for an oddly forest green muffin. But they are bursting with blueberry flavor, and this recipe is otherwise a keeper. Very easy to make, very delicious muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Wonderful sauce! I usually follow directions to the letter the first time I make a recipe and I did so with this one and it was wonderful. Today I made it again to go with my Broccoli Cheese Crepes and added minced garlic to the butter while it was melting. I also used extra sharp cheddar this time as one reviewer suggested and it is beyond good. Now it's the only cheese sauce recipe I have in my cookbook as it has so many variations that you can do with it. Blue cheese, Swiss cheese, so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Rich and melty - so delicious! I substituted Johnsonville mild Italian sausage and it gave it a nice spicy kick. Thanks this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Banana Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
OMG is this a great recipe! I used coconut oil for the oil and added some leftover sweetened coconut I had lying around. I made this for my 94-year old mom and made a medium size loaf and one small loaf (I halved the recipe). I've already eaten half of the small loaf before it's even had a chance to cool and I don't even care for banana bread that much!! This is definitely a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This couldn't be easier to make and it's so delicious! I made half the amount because I'm just cooking for me. And I'm glad I did - I think I'd be tempted to eat the entire pan at once! I used half the can of dough on the bottom then used the other half on top. Note that the dough will not fill the full space of a 9x9 pan but they still came out great. I only lined my pan with parchment because the dough didn't fill the whole pan and I was afraid the filling would leak out onto the pan (it didn't). But I still used Pam to be sure none it would stick, and everything came out really easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Hash browns were bland at the bottom so next time will add more seasoning before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoepeg Corn Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Would probably add more corn since it was kind of "soupy." Great flavor, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Trio of Mashed Roots (Parsnip, Turnip and Carrot)

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Received a couple of turnips from a friend and searched for something to make with them. This recipe was easy and perfect paired with pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I decided to stray from my usual receipe...boy am I glad I did! I was amazed that this simple recipe could be so good. What really impressed me was the meat flavor. And the whole house smelled wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Satay Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was very good, although it was missing something. I can't put my finger on what, exactly. Garlic? I'd definitely make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Satay

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The flavor was pretty good but I couldn't really tell because it was WAY too salty. I even used low sodium soy sauce. I prepared it exactly as directed with just a little more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
OMG! I never thought of using Burrata this way! I usually just scoff it down, slowly of course. This cheese is a bit hard to find and not likely at your local grocery but if you have a Fresh Market or cheese shop near by you should be O.K. It's definitely worth the search and farm fresh tomatoes are mandatory! (In a pinch, fresh mozzarella will work but not as wonderful to eat.) Chef John has done it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this week. OUTSTANDING!! I have been looking for a brownie recipe that was made from scratch with that chewy box brownie consistency. This is a winner here! I've probably tried a dozen recipes over the years, and these were my best homemade brownies yet--thick, fudgy, flavorful--yum! My family adored them. No more box mix for me. I melted about a quarter cup of peanut butter with my butter before mixing in the sugar. So good! Can't wait to try some other variations--marshmallows for rocky road, some caramel and pecans for turtle brownies, maybe even snicker or cheesecake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Bake Sale Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
These are great - I've made them before and they're always a hit. The only thing I would change in the recipe is the 1/2 cup of butter. It says half should be used to grease the pan...that's quite a lot. I used 1/4 cup to melt into the marshmallows then pressed out the squares onto parchment so I didn't use the other butter called for. Turned out perfect. I also always just add a generous pinch of salt to take a little of the sweetness and I let the butter brown just slightly to give them a hint of a caramel flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Not all that much flavor, but when dipped in sauces like BBQ or honey mustard then it really doesn't matter. I love serving real chicken nuggets to my family, and they love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Easy marinade. Very flavorful. I'm always looking for new and good marinades. Is a crowd pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
So easy, everyone loves these. Kids can help measure seasonings and shake potato slices in bag. They take some time to cook, but if planned ahead of other dishes they are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Kind of forgettable. Made as directed. Too sweet, for sure, and just not as fabulous as I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States