Carbondale, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples, Golden Raisins, and Walnuts

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Interesting combo that turned out totally yummy! Even the young teenager liked it! Pair it up with some high quality brown rice and the "Zippy Summer Shrimp" (here on AllRecipes.com) and you'll look like an amazing cook -- and... Oh So Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Yum! What's not to mess up here? Kind of foolproof. Adjust it any way within reason and you are still going to have a great result. Pair it up with "Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Apples, Golden Raisins and Walnuts" (here on Allrecipes.com - well, ok I only had pecans but it was great), plus some brown rice and you'll look like a healthy gourmet cook! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Dumplings

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My first attempt at pot stickers. I have to say this was exceedingly easy and the product was delicious. I followed the cooking directions exactly, and found they were a bit too oily and soggy for my tastes, so I cut back on both the oil and water in subsequent batches (1.5 teaspoons of oil and 3/4 cup water) and it turned out much better. I'd like to try these steamed. Haven't done it yet. Not a big fan of the dipping sauce. Headed to the international market to get a dipping sauce more to my liking. Will skip that part next time. Overall a great recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colette's Smoked Sausage Fritatta

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Thanks Colette for posting! This is a great recipe! So many variations you could do and love the addition of the sour cream. I'll admit it... we substituted freely (we had ham, spinach, a mix of Mexican and gouda cheese). Threw in a dash of cajun seasoning. Threw it in a 9x13 pan so needed a little longer than 18 minutes to cook. Great way to clean out your fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin)

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastry Cream

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
VERY GOOD! After using the flour method for years, I was happy to use this cornstarch variety. To make it easier ... Boil your milk & sugar in the microwave in a big glass Pyrex measuring cup. It will make it easier to pour the hot milk in the cornstarch/egg/sugar concoction. I mixed my egg mixture in a sauce pan & then added the hot milk a bit at a time. I stirred like heck while adding the hot milk & then put the final mixture on the heat. NO LUMPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogandhowie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Definitely will make again. The sauce for this is exceptional. Reminds me of trips to the beach in California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Makes a very nice crisp cookie. Follow the recipe. Don't overcook. They are really quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Nice flavor. A little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this recipe for a birthday cake. Followed it exactly until I got to the evaporated milk. Replaced evaporated milk with 2% milk. Still an excellent recipe. Loved it. One of the best butter frostings I've tried. Will definitely make this again and again. It spreads well and tastes great. I was a bit disappointed in the idea that this recipe will not frost AND fill a 9" round cake. I spread it so thin in the middle and had way too much frosting left over. I could have filled it and skipped the leftovers. Maybe other people like a thicker layer of frosting than I do. I don't know. All I did was give it an extra 30 seconds on high at the end to inject some air into the frosting. It increased the volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I added 1 tsp of vanilla and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Slaw

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Love the no mayo recipe and the mustard brings a little extra zip to it! I did cut the sugar and oil a bit and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Pound Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I had to make this recipe three times. The first time I made it I wasn't realy impressed, I went went out to eat and when I returned the cake was gone, but three of my fiance's friends were looking a little too satisfied to see me. I asked if they knew what happened to the cake they told me it had been eaten and asked if there was any more. So I had to make two more only I used Butter flavor shortening and imitation butter extract plus upped the lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W. Charles Tate

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

Aloha Quick Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was a big flavor, moist quick bread that was a big hit with my group. I didn't make any changes. It only took 60 minutes to bake until a toothpick came out clean. A delicious, popular loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
YUM! Thanks for an easy and fun recipe! Made this according to direction (OK, I'll admit I used chicken broth instead of water + bullion because I was out of bullion ;-)). Next time -- will stay with the chicken broth plan (unless I'm out then will do the bullion/water plan), cut the cream cheese in half, and probably just nuke the squash instead of cutting, peeling, cubing. Good recipe - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
AS I write this the chops are in the skillet and smelling good! I have finished cooking these pork chops and they look and taste good. I am more impressed with the ease and color of the product, it was a quick fix and very economical. There was too much sage and cayenne, but not enough garlic salt. I would be hard pressed to give this three stars. So two and a half it is. I'm going to rework this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W. Charles Tate

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good, very fast and convenient. No longer will need to seek a good recipe for Spanish Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This recipe is excellent. The bread came out nice a light, almost cake-like. I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for 1/2 of the oil. I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and a heaping 1/4 cup of raisins. I think I could easily reduce the amount of sugar by a cup. It is a sweet bread. Overall, this is the an exceptional recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daktari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes)

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is a wonderfully simple soup. Instead of tomato paste, I used a can of crushed tomatoes, and fresh herbs from my garden. Sauteed the veggies in the oil to bring out the sugars before I poured in the lentils, tomato, and chicken stock instead of water. Delicious! I'm not Greek, but I wish I were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
this is GREAT! I'll make this again, but next time will cut back on the salt. I had one 6 pound chicken - followed the recipe given. It took 5 hours to cook and the house smelled great all day. It wasn't very sticky though - not sure why, but it was still good. SO EASY! Thanks for the suggestions on making the gravy too -- good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States