Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Yogurt Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I think this recipe is great! I used unsweetened almond milk and 1 cup wheat flour in my version. This really made enough for 6 people! Between my two boys and I, we have 4 servings left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! This recipe is fool-proof. I have made so many different variations to lighten it up and each time it comes out perfect. Such an easy, delicious, filling breakfast that EVERYONE loves! Thanks so much for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Dumplings IV

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I think this is a great basic chicken and dumplings recipe. It's very easy to season to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake (Intensified)

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I agree that it makes too much for one bundt cake, so another alternative is to purchase single serve size bundt cake pans to manage the overflow. Also, I think I will prepare it with bittersweet chocolate next time, as I am more of a chocoholic. I used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site. It was more than enough for this cake, so it will provide enough glaze for additional mini's as well...however; once again, I think I will use the bittersweet chocolate for it next time. Both recipes are very good, and VERY simple to make. Thank you for sharing these recipes with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I agree that it makes too much for one bundt cake, so another alternative is to purchase single serve size bundt cake pans to manage the overflow. Also, I think I will prepare it with bittersweet chocolate next time, as I am more of a chocoholic. I used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site. It was more than enough for this cake, so it will provide enough glaze for additional mini's as well...however; once again, I think I will use the bittersweet chocolate for it next time. Both recipes are very good, and VERY simple to make. Thank you for sharing these recipes with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was fairly easy to make and the taste was alright. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I cannot believe how good this is! I made a lot of changes to make it a little lighter. I completely replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce, used 3/4c Splenda and 1/4c light brown sugar, 1c white flour, 1/2c wheat flour. I also used Craisins instead of currants. I think that if my version is so good, the original has to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsjlandy

Orange-Ginger Tofu Triangles

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was my first time having tofu. I think this recipe is great! I ate mine over a plate of basmati rice with cilantro and green onion on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
great german apple pancake! I used splenda and egg whites and it turned out so tasty. I'll definitely be making this again. My version has under 150 calories and 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a great dish to prep ahead of time. I made the bacon, trimmed and sliced the Brussels sprouts in the morning then made the dish for dinner. Very easy and quick cooking once all the prep work is done. Even my husband loved it and he is a pickier eater than my three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Baked Catfish

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe! So simple to prepare, and it came out so well. I let the fillets sit in the spices for a couple hours before baking. I think that made a difference. Like the others, I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and olive oil instead of canola. I doubled the amount of thyme (by accident) but that turned out to be a good thing! My husband who doesn't like catfish really liked this! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good, quick, and easy recipe that our entire family loves including the picky kids, LOL. I double the recipe and add 3/4 cup orange juice, and 2 tsp ground ginger. never any leftovers when its honey chicken stir fry night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambsociety

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did make a change, based on spices on hand. I used turmeric instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barley Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is so much better than I expected! I love this. I added parsley and green onion as a garnish. Great recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Latin Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best of Everything Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was my first homemade veggie burger. I had to triple, maybe quadruple the breadcrumbs to get them to a manageable consistency. I didn't love them as burgers... but I ate crumbled up the leftovers and used it for taco meat. As a burger, I'd give this three stars. It was too mushy for my preference. I'll stick with this recipe for my black bean tacos from now on though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Tetrazzini II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is delicious! Very easy and can be altered easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This review is coming from someone who thinks cooking involves pushing a button on the microwave. I made these cookies (actually using the stove) this afternoon and they were fabulous! Chewy and delectable -- I would recommend them to anyone, regardless of skill level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waterkris
Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Love this recipe! I'll make again but I'll definitely add some tweaks. I'm going to use maybe 1/2 cup less broth and instead of making the bread into itty bitty pieces, leaving some bite to it. It turned out a bit like bread pudding. The taste was incredible though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Simple and delicious! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States