Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was amazing! At first, I thought the sauce was really bland and added some turmeric and garam masala to spice it up. I should have waited to taste it after adding the chicken! This turned out better than I've had at restaurants. I love being able to make a dish at home that tastes better than what I can order out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I eyeballed my measurements and it tasted great! Definitely a good recipe to change up boring sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

King's Hawaiian S'Mores

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
OMG! I have only just stumbled onto this recipe and I am already salivating. I will be attempting this twist on s'mores at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is an AMAZING bread. I add a brush of butter and a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon/sugar. Truly the best bread I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Sweet Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Wonderful! Hubby like it better than store bought. I sprayed my 10 in springform pan with cooking spray and let it rise until doubled like the recipe stated. Then I baked until golden on top, about 20-25 min. Perfect! Very sticky dough and lots of air bubbles so I poured straight from bread machine pan without touching then poked with fork before last rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was very good and so easy to make. I added a bit of salt and pepper for extra flavor. My husband loved it. We ate it with baked salmon. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
3/5 stars because I haven't actually tried it, yet. Sounds like a solid recipe, although I will be making some changes. I will definitely be adding a few sprigs of thyme and some bay leaves, as well as some beef broth or beef bouillon cubes, whichever I happen to have on hand. Also, I will be adding button mushrooms. I love mushrooms! Also, instead of cooking the potatoes with the roast, I'll be making mash on the side. All in all, I am excited to have this especially since my Irish friend from Tipperary will be attending. :D I will re-review once I know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravosava

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Sherry

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My husband surprised me by making this dish after a 6 hour drive with kids. It was great! I was unsure when he told me the ingredients, but I liked it a lot. I think we'll customize it some more next time we make it. The sauce reminded me of his chicken cordon bleu, so we may add some bacon or pancetta. I think that would taste great with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Apple Yogurt Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I think this recipe is great! I used unsweetened almond milk and 1 cup wheat flour in my version. This really made enough for 6 people! Between my two boys and I, we have 4 servings left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! This recipe is fool-proof. I have made so many different variations to lighten it up and each time it comes out perfect. Such an easy, delicious, filling breakfast that EVERYONE loves! Thanks so much for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Chicken and Dumplings IV

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I think this is a great basic chicken and dumplings recipe. It's very easy to season to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake (Intensified)

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I agree that it makes too much for one bundt cake, so another alternative is to purchase single serve size bundt cake pans to manage the overflow. Also, I think I will prepare it with bittersweet chocolate next time, as I am more of a chocoholic. I used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site. It was more than enough for this cake, so it will provide enough glaze for additional mini's as well...however; once again, I think I will use the bittersweet chocolate for it next time. Both recipes are very good, and VERY simple to make. Thank you for sharing these recipes with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I agree that it makes too much for one bundt cake, so another alternative is to purchase single serve size bundt cake pans to manage the overflow. Also, I think I will prepare it with bittersweet chocolate next time, as I am more of a chocoholic. I used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site. It was more than enough for this cake, so it will provide enough glaze for additional mini's as well...however; once again, I think I will use the bittersweet chocolate for it next time. Both recipes are very good, and VERY simple to make. Thank you for sharing these recipes with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was fairly easy to make and the taste was alright. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Zucchini Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I cannot believe how good this is! I made a lot of changes to make it a little lighter. I completely replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce, used 3/4c Splenda and 1/4c light brown sugar, 1c white flour, 1/2c wheat flour. I also used Craisins instead of currants. I think that if my version is so good, the original has to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Photo by jsjlandy

Orange-Ginger Tofu Triangles

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was my first time having tofu. I think this recipe is great! I ate mine over a plate of basmati rice with cilantro and green onion on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

German Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
great german apple pancake! I used splenda and egg whites and it turned out so tasty. I'll definitely be making this again. My version has under 150 calories and 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a great dish to prep ahead of time. I made the bacon, trimmed and sliced the Brussels sprouts in the morning then made the dish for dinner. Very easy and quick cooking once all the prep work is done. Even my husband loved it and he is a pickier eater than my three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Baked Catfish

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this recipe! So simple to prepare, and it came out so well. I let the fillets sit in the spices for a couple hours before baking. I think that made a difference. Like the others, I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and olive oil instead of canola. I doubled the amount of thyme (by accident) but that turned out to be a good thing! My husband who doesn't like catfish really liked this! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good, quick, and easy recipe that our entire family loves including the picky kids, LOL. I double the recipe and add 3/4 cup orange juice, and 2 tsp ground ginger. never any leftovers when its honey chicken stir fry night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambsociety

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States