Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What I love most about this recipe is that it is so simple and basic, it is just as great whether you follow it step by step or whether you add your own love. I like to add onions and fresh garlic and if I really want to make it hearty I will add cubed ham on top of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very good. Read most of the reviews then decided to use 1 Tbsp of reduced sodium soy sauce instead of two, and 1 Tbsp of bourbon to try to cut the sweetness. Next time, will grill the salmon and try the sauce as a basting liquid during the last 5 minues or so. May add a little mustard too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Haddock

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
After reading several reviews, I think the recipe is too complicated. For two people use 1 lb of haddock, 5 crushed Ritz crackers, a little water in bottom of baking dish. Top (don't coat all over) the fish with crackers, a modest sliver of butter on top and bake 425 for 20 minutes. Simple and no soggy bottom of crumbs. No need to grease dish ... just the water or white wine if you prefer. I live close to the ocean and we cook our good seafood simple.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe has made me famous for twice baked potatoes at parties. I love them and so does everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Pork Chops with Onions and Apples

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Fantastic flavor combination! Have to admit I was surprised how good this was, plus it's easy. I grilled two chops but used the same amount of apples, onions, etc. as the recipe suggests. Tried using a bit of ground sage on the chops the second time we had these. Excellent! BTW, it took me about 12 minutes to saute the apples and onions. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These are in the oven now and they smell wonderful! I made some modifications to the recipe. I used buttermilk, rather than regular milk, and, I added baking soda and powder since people are saying they fell flat. Also, since people were saying they were bland, I chopped up a granny smith apple, coated it in brown sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon, and mixed it in after the base was mixed. Also used mostly brown sugar since I'm low on white. Will top with sprinkles of cinnamon and sugar. Hopefully, the bf will like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravosava

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wow! I cannot believe how much I liked this. I love tuna salad and am not vegetarian, but like some variety in foods. I'm not a huge fan of chickpeas usually so I was wary. I really enjoyed this on a toasted pita. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I only had frozen sprouts and this turned out great! I followed the recipe, probably used a bit extra vinegar and gorgonzola, but that's to my taste:) great recipe since i'm not a big fan of brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I'm not usually an asparagus fan, but our store had some great looking bunches! I wanted to find something new to do with it and found this recipe. I didn't think the 1/2c chicken stock was enough, but it turned out to be just fine. I made the recipe as written and it was great! I added extra pepper because I love me some fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was amazing! At first, I thought the sauce was really bland and added some turmeric and garam masala to spice it up. I should have waited to taste it after adding the chicken! This turned out better than I've had at restaurants. I love being able to make a dish at home that tastes better than what I can order out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I eyeballed my measurements and it tasted great! Definitely a good recipe to change up boring sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King's Hawaiian S'Mores

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
OMG! I have only just stumbled onto this recipe and I am already salivating. I will be attempting this twist on s'mores at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is an AMAZING bread. I add a brush of butter and a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon/sugar. Truly the best bread I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stanford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Sweet Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Wonderful! Hubby like it better than store bought. I sprayed my 10 in springform pan with cooking spray and let it rise until doubled like the recipe stated. Then I baked until golden on top, about 20-25 min. Perfect! Very sticky dough and lots of air bubbles so I poured straight from bread machine pan without touching then poked with fork before last rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was very good and so easy to make. I added a bit of salt and pepper for extra flavor. My husband loved it. We ate it with baked salmon. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
3/5 stars because I haven't actually tried it, yet. Sounds like a solid recipe, although I will be making some changes. I will definitely be adding a few sprigs of thyme and some bay leaves, as well as some beef broth or beef bouillon cubes, whichever I happen to have on hand. Also, I will be adding button mushrooms. I love mushrooms! Also, instead of cooking the potatoes with the roast, I'll be making mash on the side. All in all, I am excited to have this especially since my Irish friend from Tipperary will be attending. :D I will re-review once I know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravosava

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Sherry

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My husband surprised me by making this dish after a 6 hour drive with kids. It was great! I was unsure when he told me the ingredients, but I liked it a lot. I think we'll customize it some more next time we make it. The sauce reminded me of his chicken cordon bleu, so we may add some bacon or pancetta. I think that would taste great with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Yogurt Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I think this recipe is great! I used unsweetened almond milk and 1 cup wheat flour in my version. This really made enough for 6 people! Between my two boys and I, we have 4 servings left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! This recipe is fool-proof. I have made so many different variations to lighten it up and each time it comes out perfect. Such an easy, delicious, filling breakfast that EVERYONE loves! Thanks so much for sharing this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Dumplings IV

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I think this is a great basic chicken and dumplings recipe. It's very easy to season to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States