Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Potatoes with Rosemary

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was very good. I didn't have fresh rosemary, so I added some dry herbs (basil and thyme). They were done in 30 minutes. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was sooo sinful! I cooked a fryer chicken in the crockpot to make my own broth and it came out wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and had such a positive outcome! Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Around Good Smoothie

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I went rogue and made several changes. I used coconut milk and honey greek yogurt. I also omitted the tspn of honey. I used a few extra strawberries and it was super delish! Plenty sweet. This is a great base recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Very easy to make and perfect! I fried peppered bacon and mushrooms, added the sprouts for about 5 minutes then threw the whole thing in the over for 20 minutes. Yummy. Reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Donovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This was very good. I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the amount of garlic. I also let the chicken breasts soak in the olive oil and garlic mixture for about an hour. That makes a huge difference in flavor and texture. I added black pepper for some extra kick. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was very good. I took other reviewers' suggestions about adding only half teaspoon of salt and adding vanilla. I added three teaspoons of baking powder and that worked for me. Instead of white sugar, I just added two packets of Truvia. Really easy to prepare and the pancakes turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! All the recipes I have found that call for quinoa don't appeal to me. This one has all of my favorite veggies and ingredients. I followed as written and the only change I would make is to add more lime juice, but my lime may have been a little dried up. I love the taste of this recipe and how filling it is for such few calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mustard Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I did stray from the original recipe some, but I feel that if it were made as written, it would be incredible. I made a single serving and used about half the oil called for to keep the calories and fat lower. I loved this dressing! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I give this four stars only because I chose to use Hickory Farms Sweet Hot Mustard rather than regular prepared mustard. I also used bone-in chicken quarters because it's what I had on hand. I think it turned out amazing! I removed the skin and cooked it right side up the entire cooking time. Towards the end, I used the broiler to give the top a little bit of a crust because mine was super saucy. I loved it, but I love mustards. My husband wasn't a huge fan, but he hates any type of mustard. His opinion doesn't count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
These are great! So tasty. They were not spicy from the jalepeno, but had great pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Frittata

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I just made this this morning and loved it! I wanted to find a breakfast recipe for my asparagus without adding bacon and this one had great reviews. I didn't have cheddar cheese, so I sprinkled about an ounce of jalapeno havarti on top along with parmesan before putting it under the broiler. The cheese crust on top absolutely made this dish! I also skipped the addition of salt because of the saltiness of the cheeses. My 2 year old was even eating this with the asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cheese Balls

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe was missing something. I was unable to roll the 'balls' ... I was very excited but left disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexie Shelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indonesian Satay

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I thought the chicken turned out delicious and the peanut sauce was tasty, but the flavors didn't meld that well for me compared to other satay recipes. The chicken was really some of the best I've had and will probably make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These tasted very much like Red Lobster's biscuits, only they turned out pretty dry and dense. I also thought they needed a bit more cheese or maybe I shredded it too finely. We will make these again, but try adding more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We made this exactly as written and I loved it! I used Tabasco Chipotle for the hot pepper sauce and I think that it was a much better fit than regular Franks or Tabasco. This made a huge serving and we froze some for another dinner. I can't wait to make this recipe for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Anna

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this with only 1 cup milk and it was delicious. I think with 1.5 cups it would be too thin and milky rather than thick and filling. I also used pumpkin pie spice because I couldn't find my nutmeg. This was delicious! I'm sure it tastes amazing as written, but I made little variations to my taste. My 2 and 5 year old scarfed this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is very tasty! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts & thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very Awesome!!! My whole family loved em! Will Be making them again!! Do cut back on the butter. Also I added just a couple more seasonings. Also uncovered the last 15 mins. but still had to broil for a couple mins. on each side.. So crisp, juicy and tender.. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecake80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep-Dish Blackberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This turned out really tasty. There was a lot more crust than filling, but the crust was very good so there were no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cadillac Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think this recipe is great as is and it's also a great base for making your own variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States