Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mustard Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I did stray from the original recipe some, but I feel that if it were made as written, it would be incredible. I made a single serving and used about half the oil called for to keep the calories and fat lower. I loved this dressing! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I give this four stars only because I chose to use Hickory Farms Sweet Hot Mustard rather than regular prepared mustard. I also used bone-in chicken quarters because it's what I had on hand. I think it turned out amazing! I removed the skin and cooked it right side up the entire cooking time. Towards the end, I used the broiler to give the top a little bit of a crust because mine was super saucy. I loved it, but I love mustards. My husband wasn't a huge fan, but he hates any type of mustard. His opinion doesn't count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
These are great! So tasty. They were not spicy from the jalepeno, but had great pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Frittata

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I just made this this morning and loved it! I wanted to find a breakfast recipe for my asparagus without adding bacon and this one had great reviews. I didn't have cheddar cheese, so I sprinkled about an ounce of jalapeno havarti on top along with parmesan before putting it under the broiler. The cheese crust on top absolutely made this dish! I also skipped the addition of salt because of the saltiness of the cheeses. My 2 year old was even eating this with the asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cheese Balls

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe was missing something. I was unable to roll the 'balls' ... I was very excited but left disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexie Shelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indonesian Satay

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I thought the chicken turned out delicious and the peanut sauce was tasty, but the flavors didn't meld that well for me compared to other satay recipes. The chicken was really some of the best I've had and will probably make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These tasted very much like Red Lobster's biscuits, only they turned out pretty dry and dense. I also thought they needed a bit more cheese or maybe I shredded it too finely. We will make these again, but try adding more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We made this exactly as written and I loved it! I used Tabasco Chipotle for the hot pepper sauce and I think that it was a much better fit than regular Franks or Tabasco. This made a huge serving and we froze some for another dinner. I can't wait to make this recipe for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Anna

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made this with only 1 cup milk and it was delicious. I think with 1.5 cups it would be too thin and milky rather than thick and filling. I also used pumpkin pie spice because I couldn't find my nutmeg. This was delicious! I'm sure it tastes amazing as written, but I made little variations to my taste. My 2 and 5 year old scarfed this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is very tasty! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts & thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very Awesome!!! My whole family loved em! Will Be making them again!! Do cut back on the butter. Also I added just a couple more seasonings. Also uncovered the last 15 mins. but still had to broil for a couple mins. on each side.. So crisp, juicy and tender.. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecake80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep-Dish Blackberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This turned out really tasty. There was a lot more crust than filling, but the crust was very good so there were no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cadillac Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I think this recipe is great as is and it's also a great base for making your own variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I have always hated my mother's potato soup. This soup is not my mother's. It's great! The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Texas Caviar

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Wow! This was soo good! I only used 4tbsp of EVOO and I used Rotel instead of plain petite diced tomatoes. I made this as an appetizer to serve with chips, but I think it would be great with tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Bryan

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Loved this! I was very pleased with how similar it tasted to the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What I love most about this recipe is that it is so simple and basic, it is just as great whether you follow it step by step or whether you add your own love. I like to add onions and fresh garlic and if I really want to make it hearty I will add cubed ham on top of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very good. Read most of the reviews then decided to use 1 Tbsp of reduced sodium soy sauce instead of two, and 1 Tbsp of bourbon to try to cut the sweetness. Next time, will grill the salmon and try the sauce as a basting liquid during the last 5 minues or so. May add a little mustard too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Haddock

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
After reading several reviews, I think the recipe is too complicated. For two people use 1 lb of haddock, 5 crushed Ritz crackers, a little water in bottom of baking dish. Top (don't coat all over) the fish with crackers, a modest sliver of butter on top and bake 425 for 20 minutes. Simple and no soggy bottom of crumbs. No need to grease dish ... just the water or white wine if you prefer. I live close to the ocean and we cook our good seafood simple.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe has made me famous for twice baked potatoes at parties. I love them and so does everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States