Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Enchilada Soup III

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as posted. I thought it was rather bland and would not make it again unless I was trying it with some of the add-ins others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Tasted okay, but I will not make these again. Hoped the filling would be more like a pecan pie. I did use a Pampered Chef tart pan. Way too much filling for the amount of crust dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe. Next time I'll just eliminate the salt all together. I think the other spices make up for the deficit. I loved how juicy this roast was but I LITERALLY had to rinse it before serving. SALT OVERLOAD. Kosher salt, table salt, no matter.. TOO SALTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HistoryTeacher2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Rosemary Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Followed the recipe other than did not add salt. Used Trader Joe's whole grain dijon mustard. Delicious! The flavor of the fresh rosemary from my herb garden was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mauigirl's Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Love this salsa. Adding a little fresh pineapple to the mixture really works well. We enjoy this with grilled fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe for Rhubarb Pie. My family always makes a custard type pie, but I was looking for something slightly different since one of my daughters doesn't care for the custard pie. This was easy to make and tastes very good. I enjoyed it most when it was chilled. I made the recipe exactly as stated and didn't think it needed any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I found these easy to make and they tasted much better than expected. I turned the sauce into a gravy for the pork chops and my super picky 6 year old devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Filled Cranberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought these were very tasty. Easy to make, but I don't think I'd take the extra couple minutes to put the apple in the center, I'll just mix it in with the batter next time. It didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krispy Brownie Delights

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Loved it! So simple, and a nice flare to the treats. I altered it a bit and blended cheesecake into the brownies, and used all natural chunky peanut butter. It wasn't as rich as other reviews said, and I'm not a sweets person either. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made this for my husband. After following Ferguna's tip to: double the sauce, lower the temp, and cook longer, The pot pie was a total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was actually really tasty. I did make some changes with spices to incorporate more flavor and it helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Peas

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These turned out pretty good, although I thought they lacked slightly in flavor. I will probably make my own variation of this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sweet Potato Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I love curry! I don't know where I went wrong with this recipe, but I wasn't a huge fan. The flavors were over the top, which I usually prefer, but in this case I didn't. It wasn't bad by any means, just not what I was hoping for based on the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup with Lemon

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have an abundance of dried lentils and usually make the typical lentil soup with ham. I really wanted something different and a new way to eat lentils. I tried this because I had all ingredients on hand and it sounded great. Turned out wonderfully! I followed the recipe exactly which is quite rare for me. I was very please with the results and enjoyed my leftovers the next day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelley's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe! We did reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and added cinnamon and nutmeg. We were a big skeptical before putting it in the oven but when it came out, it looked gorgeous and tasted so good! Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chop and Roasted Red Pepper Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used less than half the lemon suggested and felt it was still too powerful. I didn't think the flavors worked together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This chili exceeded my expectations. I doubled the recipe to have leftovers. I used a bit less cayenne pepper, omitted the salt, added a large chopped green bell pepper when the onion went in the pan, and used one can of rinsed & drained black beans and one can of rinsed & drained pinto beans (don't care for kidney beans). Really enjoyed the ground turkey in this. Didn't expect to like it as well as ground beef, but I sure did. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is a superb recipe! All ingredients I already had on hand (YAY!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili I

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this tonight along with baked corn tortilla chips and WOWZA! It was a hit even among my 2 and 6 year old. I only had 1 can of green chiles, but it was probably for the best considering kiddy taste buds. I also used ground chicken, because that's what I had on hand and I loved it. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I love this recipe! I skipped the cumin and chili powder because I was making it for my kids, but I would have much preferred the extra kick. I baked mine for about 11 minutes because I was scared of overdoing it, but they were a little chewy in the center still. Kids loved them, Husband and I loved them so I'm thrilled! They are so easy and we always have an abundance of corn tortillas around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States