Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe, and so easy. I happened to use 8" tortillas and was able to fill 10 of them in my 9x13 pan. Used low fat cream cheese and 2% milk Mexican blend cheese for the topping. Two large chicken breasts were more than enough. Added a little garlic powder to the filling, along with 1/2 can green chilies and a couple shakes of Chipotle Tabasco sauce for a little zing. Also used a can of red enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and top, as suggested, and these were excellent. Next time, might try with green enchilada sauce, a diced chipotle pepper with a little adobo sauce, and jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy After Work Chicken Francaise

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
A simple and very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Really delicious. High flavor and nutrition in a very healthy dish. It is now in my rotation often. I like to serve it with sliced avocado and tomato. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I browned and drained the meat before transferring it to a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I also made my own mashed potatoes rather than instant, and added a layer of mozzarella cheese. This dish was a first for our household and it was enjoyed. It has been added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe except that I fully baked the chicken. The chicken itself was quite bland - next time I will stick to my seasonings. Also, it calls for 1 cup panko/parm for each breast. That is entirely too much as I expected! I had half a bowl of the breading left. Otherwise, it was very crunchy and the left overs were just as good. Definitely adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soupier Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have tried several different homemade Mac and Cheese recipes. This is one of the easiest to make. Some take many ingredients, some turn out pasty and blah. This one took only a few ingredients and had a good flavor. I used cream of celery soup instead of mushroom because my son doesn't like mushrooms. I cooked three cup of macaroni, but didn't use it all. I mixed the soup and cheese in my 2 qt. casserole dish and added macaroni until the dish was full. Not all the macaroni would fit and I think it might have turned out a bit dry if I had added it all. I think 2 generous cups would be enough for a 2 qt casserole dish. The recipe did not say what size dish to use. I thought the flavor was quite good considering the recipe doesn't call for much in the way of seasoning. We added salt at the table to our individual taste. The crispy onions on top are a great addition which we all enjoyed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Norwegian Sour Cream and Raisin Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I thought this pie had way too much spice and so did my husband.The pie turned out fine as far as consistency and baked in exactly the time stated on the recipe. I won't make this one again, but if I did I would add only the cinnamon and omit the cloves and nutmeg completely, and maybe add a little vanilla. Some reviewers mention they would chop the raisins, I think that would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe, other than I used my crockpot (4 hrs on high), used less butter to saute' the onions, used a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chilies, and I used Dry Sherry rather than vinegar. Also used 1 tsp of ground cumin 1 tsp ground coriander. The beef broth was a low sodium version. Refrigerated the pot overnight, then re-heated the next day. Soup thickened pretty nicely, but next time, I'd add a 3rd can of beans to the blender. Served with buttermilk cornbread. Would be good with some Monterey Jack Cheese, diced onions, and/or a bit of lime on the side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Pheasant

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is perfect as written. I used 3 whole pheasant breasts with bone-in since that is what we had from the hunt. I prepared the recipe just as written and served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli on the side. It was delicious! The gravy is not pretty to look at since the half-n-half curdles during the cooking, but it is delicious and rich tasting. The whole family loved it. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poinsettia Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these today and am glad I baked one sheet of cookies and waited to see how they turned out before baking the rest. The recipe does not say how big to make the balls of dough, I made them walnut-sized and really should have made them slightly smaller. Also the recipe does not say to pull apart the petals before baking, but you MUST SEPARATE the petals BEFORE baking, they do not separate themselves during baking. Once I figured out those two points the rest turned out pretty. I will likely make these again, they are a colorful addition to the holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchilada Soup III

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this recipe as posted. I thought it was rather bland and would not make it again unless I was trying it with some of the add-ins others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Tasted okay, but I will not make these again. Hoped the filling would be more like a pecan pie. I did use a Pampered Chef tart pan. Way too much filling for the amount of crust dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe. Next time I'll just eliminate the salt all together. I think the other spices make up for the deficit. I loved how juicy this roast was but I LITERALLY had to rinse it before serving. SALT OVERLOAD. Kosher salt, table salt, no matter.. TOO SALTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HistoryTeacher2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Rosemary Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Followed the recipe other than did not add salt. Used Trader Joe's whole grain dijon mustard. Delicious! The flavor of the fresh rosemary from my herb garden was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mauigirl's Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Love this salsa. Adding a little fresh pineapple to the mixture really works well. We enjoy this with grilled fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Sour Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe for Rhubarb Pie. My family always makes a custard type pie, but I was looking for something slightly different since one of my daughters doesn't care for the custard pie. This was easy to make and tastes very good. I enjoyed it most when it was chilled. I made the recipe exactly as stated and didn't think it needed any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I found these easy to make and they tasted much better than expected. I turned the sauce into a gravy for the pork chops and my super picky 6 year old devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Filled Cranberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought these were very tasty. Easy to make, but I don't think I'd take the extra couple minutes to put the apple in the center, I'll just mix it in with the batter next time. It didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Krispy Brownie Delights

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Loved it! So simple, and a nice flare to the treats. I altered it a bit and blended cheesecake into the brownies, and used all natural chunky peanut butter. It wasn't as rich as other reviews said, and I'm not a sweets person either. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made this for my husband. After following Ferguna's tip to: double the sauce, lower the temp, and cook longer, The pot pie was a total success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States