Bloomington, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Heather Brackney

3 Musketeers® Trifle

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Heather Brackney

11-Can Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Good recipe for a chili base. Really easy to add spices and other ingredients to heighten the flavor. If you are starting out cooking this is a good recipe to use to experiment with. I used ground turkey instead of hamburger but still was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Heather Brackney

100% Whole Wheat Peanut Butter and Jelly Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Love the recipe, as I am always looking for healthier ways to feed my family. This is almost like a dessert bread, I used grape jelly as I am allergic to strawberry. But will experiment with different jellies to see if the flavor changes. I used a regular oven instead of a bread maker, bread came out fine. Cooked it for about 1hr and 15 mins on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Heather Brackney

"CranCrack" Cranberry Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Good recipe, but next time I make it I will omit the sugar. I used sweetener instead of sugar but it was still very sweet. Also may need to use a pack of unflavored gelatin to help set. Recipe as it is, is very loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Heather Brackney

1-2-3 Lemon Icebox Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Very quick and delicious recipe. I used lemon juice instead of juicing actual lemons. I think next time I make it may add a meringue on top of it. Recommendation though, this takes awhile to set, I suggest making it first thing in the morning then it should be ready by dessert time. I made it right a couple hours before dinner and it needed maybe another hour but they couldn't wait to dig in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Heather Brackney

'Whiz Wit' Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I used london broil steak, since it was on sale. But I also added dried chilies and cayenne pepper to kick the spicy up a notch. But overall really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Photo by Taryn Lopshire

Hot Turkey Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a childhood favorite for me, but I do it a bit differently. Today, I actually made it with ham, because I had a lot leftover after Christmas. It was just as good. Here are my regular variations: *I always use sliced almonds instead of pecans. *I add 2-3 cans of sliced water chestnuts (drained). *I add a few dashes of hot sauce. *I omit the potato chips. *I use Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise, or a combination of both, or whatever I have on hand that will fit the bill. (Today, I didn't have enough, so I added a little creamy poppyseed dressing.) With the extra crunch the water chestnuts give, the potato chips aren't missing--especially not the extra fat. It almost seems more like a casserole than a salad--or at least to my kids. They love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn Lopshire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The only drawback I encountered was the sherry. I prefer dryer sherries so naturally that is all I have in the house. I should have scaled back the amount b/c all we could taste was sherry. Next time I will either omit it or cut it back - otherwise the recipe was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe, and so easy. I happened to use 8" tortillas and was able to fill 10 of them in my 9x13 pan. Used low fat cream cheese and 2% milk Mexican blend cheese for the topping. Two large chicken breasts were more than enough. Added a little garlic powder to the filling, along with 1/2 can green chilies and a couple shakes of Chipotle Tabasco sauce for a little zing. Also used a can of red enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and top, as suggested, and these were excellent. Next time, might try with green enchilada sauce, a diced chipotle pepper with a little adobo sauce, and jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy After Work Chicken Francaise

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
A simple and very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Really delicious. High flavor and nutrition in a very healthy dish. It is now in my rotation often. I like to serve it with sliced avocado and tomato. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Witzig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I browned and drained the meat before transferring it to a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I also made my own mashed potatoes rather than instant, and added a layer of mozzarella cheese. This dish was a first for our household and it was enjoyed. It has been added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Brackney

Pineapple Flip

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great creamy recipe, but next time I make it will definitely make more dough, recipe dough didn't quite cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe except that I fully baked the chicken. The chicken itself was quite bland - next time I will stick to my seasonings. Also, it calls for 1 cup panko/parm for each breast. That is entirely too much as I expected! I had half a bowl of the breading left. Otherwise, it was very crunchy and the left overs were just as good. Definitely adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Brackney

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good salad. We ate this as our main dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brackney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Soupier Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have tried several different homemade Mac and Cheese recipes. This is one of the easiest to make. Some take many ingredients, some turn out pasty and blah. This one took only a few ingredients and had a good flavor. I used cream of celery soup instead of mushroom because my son doesn't like mushrooms. I cooked three cup of macaroni, but didn't use it all. I mixed the soup and cheese in my 2 qt. casserole dish and added macaroni until the dish was full. Not all the macaroni would fit and I think it might have turned out a bit dry if I had added it all. I think 2 generous cups would be enough for a 2 qt casserole dish. The recipe did not say what size dish to use. I thought the flavor was quite good considering the recipe doesn't call for much in the way of seasoning. We added salt at the table to our individual taste. The crispy onions on top are a great addition which we all enjoyed. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Norwegian Sour Cream and Raisin Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I thought this pie had way too much spice and so did my husband.The pie turned out fine as far as consistency and baked in exactly the time stated on the recipe. I won't make this one again, but if I did I would add only the cinnamon and omit the cloves and nutmeg completely, and maybe add a little vanilla. Some reviewers mention they would chop the raisins, I think that would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe, other than I used my crockpot (4 hrs on high), used less butter to saute' the onions, used a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chilies, and I used Dry Sherry rather than vinegar. Also used 1 tsp of ground cumin 1 tsp ground coriander. The beef broth was a low sodium version. Refrigerated the pot overnight, then re-heated the next day. Soup thickened pretty nicely, but next time, I'd add a 3rd can of beans to the blender. Served with buttermilk cornbread. Would be good with some Monterey Jack Cheese, diced onions, and/or a bit of lime on the side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Pheasant

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is perfect as written. I used 3 whole pheasant breasts with bone-in since that is what we had from the hunt. I prepared the recipe just as written and served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli on the side. It was delicious! The gravy is not pretty to look at since the half-n-half curdles during the cooking, but it is delicious and rich tasting. The whole family loved it. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poinsettia Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these today and am glad I baked one sheet of cookies and waited to see how they turned out before baking the rest. The recipe does not say how big to make the balls of dough, I made them walnut-sized and really should have made them slightly smaller. Also the recipe does not say to pull apart the petals before baking, but you MUST SEPARATE the petals BEFORE baking, they do not separate themselves during baking. Once I figured out those two points the rest turned out pretty. I will likely make these again, they are a colorful addition to the holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States