Belleville, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I gave 4 stars as I had to add some flavor - a little extra sea salt, fresh ground pepper and a couple dashes of cayenne really brought out the flavors. I used leftover steamed asparagus (added later in the process) and kept aside the tips (also added later to the mushrooms). I sliced the mushrooms super thin on a mandoline, used fat free 1/2 &1/2, and bumped up the flavor of the chicken broth with a little chicken broth paste (awesome stuff). yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Fish Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious! And, since the fish don't go in until the end, the house doesn't end up smelling like fish all day. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaMcDowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My husband wasn't sure about this dish the first time we had it, but after a few times, he now LOVES it and even prefers it over traditional spaghetti with meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaMcDowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Made this exactly like the recipe calls except I used freshly shredded mozzarella cheese. It was really good! Next time I will not be adding any extra salt as it was too salty. I will also drain the meat because there was too much grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good! I added about 1 tsp more of vanilla extract. Creamy and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Egg Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I added French's horseradish mustard to give it some kick to it. It's great as a meal because I'm not only in college, but also on my own. In other words, it's perfect budget and taste wise. Furthermore, I'm trying to maintain my weight at about 100 lbs-103 lbs. Above all, I like tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awiesen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb Pancakes / Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great alternative to traditional pancakes. Don't leave you full and weighed down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaMcDowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Absolutely the talk of our Thanksgiving dinner! Out with boring sweet potatoes and the sticky sweet marshmallow topping...this recipe is going to be a family tradition. The only thing I changed was the preparation of the potatoes: Bake those bad boys for 1.25 hours on a baking sheet at 325 degrees. Then follow the recipe exactly...perfection. I did use pecans instead of pistachios but to each his own on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It is a good basic recipe. Next time, I may add some Worcestershire sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Flavor is awesome! I make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guinness® Irish Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious. Very similar to what we had while visiting Ireland. I cut my potatoes and carrots in larger chunks and added them after 1 1/2 hrs of simmering beef because they take longer to cook than smaller pieces. I think the directions mean cover "skillet" instead of "dutch oven" in step five and then add everything to beef in dutch oven in step six. At least that's the way I made it and it turned out great. I also added extra sprig of fresh thyme and a sprig of rosemary. I think you could substitute tsp of thyme and rosemary if fresh not on hand. Add salt and pepper to taste. I also think this would be a good slow cooker recipe. Gave this to friends for a thank you gift and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montpelier, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lasagna Alfredo Roll Ups

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this for Sunday dinner and it was wonderful. Did what others suggested: used some marinara sauce (lined bottom of pan), added some cooked chicken that I grilled with garlic and Italian seasoning, used fresh spinach that I wilted first instead of frozen. Really this was not hard to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISHOWARD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Amazing! base recipe was very good- hence the 5 stars...I made a few mild adjustments to the next few loaves:1C white & 1C wheat flour, 1.5t nutmeg & 1.5t cinnamon, 1/2 C oil & 1/2C applesauce, 1C white & 1C brown sugar. As a crunchy addition: 1/4C flax seed. Cook 60 minutes at the very least...ovens vary, so be aware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swanny's Killer Fajitas

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
We liked it, but we didn't love it. I let it marinate overnight, so I was expecting big flavor and it just wasn't there. It was definitely quick and easy, but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Balsamic Roast Beef Recipe - Cooking | Add a Pinch | Robyn Stone

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is great! Even my husband loved it and he doesn't like balsamic vinegar as much as I do. The only changes I made were I used the whole can of beef broth and I mixed it up the night before, put it in the fridge overnight, and turned on the crockpot in the morning before I left for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used fat free balsamic vinaigrette from Trader Joes in the marinade. I may make just the chicken sometime because I thought it was very flavorful on its own. I used low fat sour cream and fat free yogurt in the tzatziki sauce. I used fresh dill from my garden. I may have put too much in because it was very strong. The sauce still tasted very good, though. I don't like cucumbers, but for some reason I like tzatziki sauce. I didn't use the olives or pepperoncini, but I don't think they were missed. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Savory Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
soggy, mushy. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Bread-and-Butter Pickles

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These are great and oh so easy. I got a couple of English cucumbers in my first CSA grocery bag. Neither my husband nor I like cucumbers very much. I searched for something I could make using them and found this recipe. I followed the recipe except that I forgot to add the salt. They are delicious. My only question is how long do these keep? Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
We really liked this recipe. Next time, I will have some bread so as not to waste one drop of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Honey Soy Tilapia

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I thought this was very good and easy for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States