Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was not my favorite...I thought it was to many strawberries and the topping tasted to much like a old granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I live in Colorado and this comes out perfect here. I made it in Illinois for my parents and it came out similar to playdoh. ??? Where does this recipe originate geographically and has anyone else had a similar experience? Otherwise, this is drop-dead great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJTOOTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe, YUM,YUM, also what is the price per serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Meat and Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a very filling meal. I did change the sausage from polish to Eckrich smoke sausage, with that little change, it was Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very easy and tasty too! You can do many things with this recipe to adjust for different tastes. I made it as it called for first, then played with it other times. It's a good one for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I usually boil my cabbage but only because I never had a good fried cabbage recipe. This is my new way to cook cabbage on New Years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Quick and easy, along with a great flavor! Another one to add to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A very good snack! Those who've had it before - will love it again, and those who haven't - will think they're in heaven. All the newbies who eat this, ask for the recipe. Great during the holidays or anytime you want a salty/sweet snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Cube Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Easy recipe and tasted good too! I added a little bbq sauce to the salsa, which turned out really good! This is one for the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
The best honey mustard dressing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a very good dressing. So much better than the bottle. A little goes a long way. Served the winter salad and dressing at a party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made 6 batches of these in no time and they were a HUGE hit. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Huge hit over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Different taste. But incredible good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Quick and Easy. Add some celery and use chicken broth instead of water. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very Good snack! Everyone always wants to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bringing Home Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
waaayyy tooooo sweeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These turned out wonderful! I did make several changes though. As Judy Jones (in a previous review) recommended I boiled 2 bone in chicken breast in ck. broth for about 25 min. Mean while I sauted diced white onion in 1T of butter and a pinch of garlic powder and added to the cream cheese (3/4 block). I omitted all the rest of the butter. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is the best! Two things that I think are important is to make sure you get the spinach really dry and also I spread the dip in a very shallow dish. I think the shallower the dish the better the dip...it seems to be very googey which is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
The best! This is all about getting the roux right. Do not forget to season it and also season your veggies while they are cooking. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States