Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Exactly what potato salad should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My mother was going to an ice cream social and wanted to take along a dessert. This was a HUGE success!!! Everyone loved it, I've made it a couple of times and my mother has also made it a couple more times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was a super easy really great tasting recipe! I did make a few small changes like only using about 1 1/2 cups of milk, I also used onion powder instead of chopped onion just because I was too lazy to chop up some up! I also reserved about a 1/2 cup of cheese til the end. I cooked this for about an hour and added the reserved cheese and a cup of corn flakes on top for the last 5 min. the cheese melted and browned and the corn flakes gave it a crunchy texture that I thought it needed. I Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pinkies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My 9 yr old daughter is a type 1 diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar and diet lemon lime soft drink for a completely carb free treat for her!! She absolutely loves this drink, this recipe is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I live in Colorado and this comes out perfect here. I made it in Illinois for my parents and it came out similar to playdoh. ??? Where does this recipe originate geographically and has anyone else had a similar experience? Otherwise, this is drop-dead great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJTOOTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe, YUM,YUM, also what is the price per serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Meat and Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a very filling meal. I did change the sausage from polish to Eckrich smoke sausage, with that little change, it was Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very easy and tasty too! You can do many things with this recipe to adjust for different tastes. I made it as it called for first, then played with it other times. It's a good one for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I usually boil my cabbage but only because I never had a good fried cabbage recipe. This is my new way to cook cabbage on New Years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Quick and easy, along with a great flavor! Another one to add to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A very good snack! Those who've had it before - will love it again, and those who haven't - will think they're in heaven. All the newbies who eat this, ask for the recipe. Great during the holidays or anytime you want a salty/sweet snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Cube Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Easy recipe and tasted good too! I added a little bbq sauce to the salsa, which turned out really good! This is one for the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made 6 batches of these in no time and they were a HUGE hit. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Huge hit over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Different taste. But incredible good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Quick and Easy. Add some celery and use chicken broth instead of water. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very Good snack! Everyone always wants to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bringing Home Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
waaayyy tooooo sweeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These turned out wonderful! I did make several changes though. As Judy Jones (in a previous review) recommended I boiled 2 bone in chicken breast in ck. broth for about 25 min. Mean while I sauted diced white onion in 1T of butter and a pinch of garlic powder and added to the cream cheese (3/4 block). I omitted all the rest of the butter. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I really liked the taste of this meatloaf due to the sweet taste that the brown sugar gave it. I did decrease the milk to a 1/2 a cup and added a dash of Tamari sauce as others had suggested. The down side to this recipe is that I did end up pouring off at least 1/2 a cup of drippings and it actually looked terrible when i pulled it out of the oven. I actually thought I had done something wrong and that it would taste horrible but I figured I would give it a try anyway and it actually had a really good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States