Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Exactly what potato salad should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My mother was going to an ice cream social and wanted to take along a dessert. This was a HUGE success!!! Everyone loved it, I've made it a couple of times and my mother has also made it a couple more times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was a super easy really great tasting recipe! I did make a few small changes like only using about 1 1/2 cups of milk, I also used onion powder instead of chopped onion just because I was too lazy to chop up some up! I also reserved about a 1/2 cup of cheese til the end. I cooked this for about an hour and added the reserved cheese and a cup of corn flakes on top for the last 5 min. the cheese melted and browned and the corn flakes gave it a crunchy texture that I thought it needed. I Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pinkies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My 9 yr old daughter is a type 1 diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar and diet lemon lime soft drink for a completely carb free treat for her!! She absolutely loves this drink, this recipe is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I live in Colorado and this comes out perfect here. I made it in Illinois for my parents and it came out similar to playdoh. ??? Where does this recipe originate geographically and has anyone else had a similar experience? Otherwise, this is drop-dead great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJTOOTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Megan's Granola

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe, YUM,YUM, also what is the price per serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Meat and Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a very filling meal. I did change the sausage from polish to Eckrich smoke sausage, with that little change, it was Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very easy and tasty too! You can do many things with this recipe to adjust for different tastes. I made it as it called for first, then played with it other times. It's a good one for your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I usually boil my cabbage but only because I never had a good fried cabbage recipe. This is my new way to cook cabbage on New Years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Quick and easy, along with a great flavor! Another one to add to your recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A very good snack! Those who've had it before - will love it again, and those who haven't - will think they're in heaven. All the newbies who eat this, ask for the recipe. Great during the holidays or anytime you want a salty/sweet snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Cube Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Easy recipe and tasted good too! I added a little bbq sauce to the salsa, which turned out really good! This is one for the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made 6 batches of these in no time and they were a HUGE hit. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Gorp

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Huge hit over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Different taste. But incredible good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Quick and Easy. Add some celery and use chicken broth instead of water. Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very Good snack! Everyone always wants to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bringing Home Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
waaayyy tooooo sweeeet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These turned out wonderful! I did make several changes though. As Judy Jones (in a previous review) recommended I boiled 2 bone in chicken breast in ck. broth for about 25 min. Mean while I sauted diced white onion in 1T of butter and a pinch of garlic powder and added to the cream cheese (3/4 block). I omitted all the rest of the butter. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I really liked the taste of this meatloaf due to the sweet taste that the brown sugar gave it. I did decrease the milk to a 1/2 a cup and added a dash of Tamari sauce as others had suggested. The down side to this recipe is that I did end up pouring off at least 1/2 a cup of drippings and it actually looked terrible when i pulled it out of the oven. I actually thought I had done something wrong and that it would taste horrible but I figured I would give it a try anyway and it actually had a really good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States