Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I will try this recipe again. I feel I may have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My boyfriend is not a huge beef eater and most often will pick fish over anything else. So I chose this recipe one night and it was the first thing I fixed that he LOVED. I went ahead and added black beans to the salsa and served the fish over a bed of brown rice. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Another triumph! My boyfriend requested brussels sprouts and I was a bit hesitant because of the sprouts reputation. He loved these so much I've fixed them twice and he always gets into them before I serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Awesome!!!! I used them as an alternative to french fries with hamburgers. Instead of 2 pounds, one package of onion soup fixed 4 pounds of red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
VERY GOOD! made the recipe as it called and it was so good, even the non-guac people tried and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is the worlds best lasagna! I made this for my kids baptism and it was a huge hit not even a sliver left.I took the advise of many and made it a day ahead & refridgerated over night. the only thing I changed was I didn't add the fennel seeds and it was still great. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
After reading several other reviews I tried fixing two "problems" that I saw were a common issue. First with the crispiness, I used Panko Bread Crumbs and they were perfect. I also only baked for about 35 minutes. I made the "gravy" using both cream of mushroom and Golden mushroom....(which it would have been fine with just the Cream of Mush) i spooned the gravy just over the tops of the chops and baked another 10 minutes or so to let it soak in. We served with rice and my whole family LOVED it. The chops were very tender too, which baking can sometimes dry chops out, but not in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These were really good. I did omit the nutmeg because I don't like it but they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It was very easy to make, and was delicious for a cool November evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I liked this but I added my shrimp to soon and they were tough. I will add later in the process. Also I had cooking sherry instead of wine and it was a bit to strong. I also added Parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Venison Stroganoff Meal

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an outstanding and amazingly easy recipe. My husband has already shared it with all his hunting friends and I have no doubt they will be fixing it this season. Thanks, Kristie, for such a wonderful venison dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paprika Chicken with Sour Cream Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is great, easy and just a little spicy. I cut the breasts up into small chunks or strips, then dip them into the flour mixture and then cook them up to nearly done. Doing this gives the chicken a little crispier texture. I go ahead and keep the chicken in the pan when I simmer the soup. The flavors really meld together betetr. Then I like to serve it over egg noodles (the thick frozen ones are the best). It's a huge hit in our house and great for chilly days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are incredible. Everyone that has had one I made is begging for more. I've even handed out the recipe a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Exactly what potato salad should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My mother was going to an ice cream social and wanted to take along a dessert. This was a HUGE success!!! Everyone loved it, I've made it a couple of times and my mother has also made it a couple more times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was a super easy really great tasting recipe! I did make a few small changes like only using about 1 1/2 cups of milk, I also used onion powder instead of chopped onion just because I was too lazy to chop up some up! I also reserved about a 1/2 cup of cheese til the end. I cooked this for about an hour and added the reserved cheese and a cup of corn flakes on top for the last 5 min. the cheese melted and browned and the corn flakes gave it a crunchy texture that I thought it needed. I Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband thought this was really yummy! I will cut down on the lemon in the sauce next time but other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I loved this soup. I did not use all the ingredients but I stuck pretty close and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Asparagus Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was very good. I really liked it and my husband loved it! It goes very good with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pinkies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
My 9 yr old daughter is a type 1 diabetic, so I used Splenda instead of sugar and diet lemon lime soft drink for a completely carb free treat for her!! She absolutely loves this drink, this recipe is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaBready

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States