Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was a HUGE hit in my house, even with my 5 yr. old wh has recently "removed pork from her menu." lol! I dredge in flour first like others mentioned, then egg, then repeated that before coating with breadcrumb mixture. I agree that the original recipe did call for too much egg and breadcrumb mix. I will remember that next time. I did not have an oven-proof pan so I baked in glass dish turning them over halfway through to ensure crispiness on both sides. My only complaint is that the breading didn't stay on the meat when cutting into it... which could easily b operator error. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I cut back onthe amount of mayo, so it wasn't quite as creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche Lorraine I

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Huge hit with my family and my crazy quiche eating friend who actually called to compliment my triumph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This will be the only way I EVER make pot roast. It was to die for. It is almost impossible to mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Umm.... Chocolate + Strawberries= To Die For!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Football Dip Ever

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Fan favorite. Took it to a Super Bowl party, went over AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I will try this recipe again. I feel I may have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My boyfriend is not a huge beef eater and most often will pick fish over anything else. So I chose this recipe one night and it was the first thing I fixed that he LOVED. I went ahead and added black beans to the salsa and served the fish over a bed of brown rice. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Another triumph! My boyfriend requested brussels sprouts and I was a bit hesitant because of the sprouts reputation. He loved these so much I've fixed them twice and he always gets into them before I serve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Awesome!!!! I used them as an alternative to french fries with hamburgers. Instead of 2 pounds, one package of onion soup fixed 4 pounds of red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
VERY GOOD! made the recipe as it called and it was so good, even the non-guac people tried and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is the worlds best lasagna! I made this for my kids baptism and it was a huge hit not even a sliver left.I took the advise of many and made it a day ahead & refridgerated over night. the only thing I changed was I didn't add the fennel seeds and it was still great. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have been making this for Years! I follow the recipe to a T usually.. sometimes i add some spices, Onion power, season salt, garlic, And sometimes i serve on texas toast.. Its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
After reading several other reviews I tried fixing two "problems" that I saw were a common issue. First with the crispiness, I used Panko Bread Crumbs and they were perfect. I also only baked for about 35 minutes. I made the "gravy" using both cream of mushroom and Golden mushroom....(which it would have been fine with just the Cream of Mush) i spooned the gravy just over the tops of the chops and baked another 10 minutes or so to let it soak in. We served with rice and my whole family LOVED it. The chops were very tender too, which baking can sometimes dry chops out, but not in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These were really good. I did omit the nutmeg because I don't like it but they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Holcomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It was very easy to make, and was delicious for a cool November evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Venison Stroganoff Meal

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is an outstanding and amazingly easy recipe. My husband has already shared it with all his hunting friends and I have no doubt they will be fixing it this season. Thanks, Kristie, for such a wonderful venison dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paprika Chicken with Sour Cream Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is great, easy and just a little spicy. I cut the breasts up into small chunks or strips, then dip them into the flour mixture and then cook them up to nearly done. Doing this gives the chicken a little crispier texture. I go ahead and keep the chicken in the pan when I simmer the soup. The flavors really meld together betetr. Then I like to serve it over egg noodles (the thick frozen ones are the best). It's a huge hit in our house and great for chilly days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are incredible. Everyone that has had one I made is begging for more. I've even handed out the recipe a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States