Alton, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We were so addicted to these wraps all summer long.. we also brushed a little bbq sauce over them in the final 5 mins :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I hate to give bad reviews but this was not good. The dough did not work at all in my electric cookie press, switched to a manual and didn't work their either. The cookies that did come out were very bland. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Holcomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really good. This really brought out the flavor of the meat and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Alfredo

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
this did not turn out well at all. I took forever for the sauce to come together and only did so after about an hour of whisking and adding the milk. Even after it did finally come together is was too thick and that was after a whole cup of milk. Sorry to say that I will not be making this one again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cherry Valley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really turned out crunchy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jacksonville Carrots

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
so good.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
EXCELLENT, GOING TO GIVE THIS AS CHRISTMAS PRESENTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Paprikash II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Really good....I did not have bacon grease so I used olive oil. I also added quite a bit more paprika...loved it. I put it over a cut up baked potato instead of dumplings because I did not have any flour to make dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I hate to give bad reviews but this was awful. The dough did not work at all in my electric cookie press, switched to a manual and didn't work their either. The cookies that did come out were very bland. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Holcomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by schpoopy

Artichoke Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Turned out really great! Here is what I tried with it: I made individual ones in a muffin tin instead of a pie plate. For the crust, I used crescent roll dough instead of pie crust. The new cook time was about 20 minutes. They were awesome, and I'm going to serve them on the side of herb roasted chicken sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was pretty darn easy, and it turned out pretty good. It sort of reminded me of Red Lobster biscuits, without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was really good. I did sub the wine for water and it turn out wonderful. I also added my own special salt seasoning to the dish and one onion. I loved it enough to pack if for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Dumplings I

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Hard, stiff and tough has no resemblance to what dumplings should be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve & Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
So good. Reasonably healthy and very hearty. I added an extra dollop of Peanut Butter to it, but I don't think you need to. A tip: (albeit less healthy) try putting some crumbled bacon across the top of each bowl. - Just made it again and threw in some corn and fresh spinach. Honestly, this is the best soup recipe I've ever made from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
We were not big fans of this.. 1st.. Look at the salt! 2nd it has a overwhelming beer flavor.. If you add cheese and sour cream and add with chips it wasn't to bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Garlic Chicken with Orzo Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was a great starting point.. I made the recipe.. But, didn't add two cloves of garlic because i made a sauce creamy sauce.. Melt 1tsp of butter add 2 tsp of crushed garlic and then 1/4 cream the 1/2 of parm cheese.. mixed it all together and added chicken and orzo.. I also topped with broccoli.. It was AMAZING!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Snow Ice Cream II

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Just made It :) only thing is : WAY to much sugar,We also added some coco powder and it was great :) will do again! Next time maybe only a cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used chicken wings I really loved the sauce! my only complaint.. NOT enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We really love these pancakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Lybarger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States