Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Black Bean and Corn Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I love them! I also only used 2 tsp of chili powder but think I will try 3 next t time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFGRANDMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Two of Everything Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Easy and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki
Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lucedale, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Salad with Chives

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Tried this mainly because I had a larger container of sour cream to use. It turned out to be the perfect side dish for my weekend dinner. The taste is light and clean without the heaviness mayonnaise adds. Adding other ingredients would make it a much different recipe. My menu was grilled pork chops with red barbeque sauce, grilled zucchini, and tossed green salad with orange basil vinaigrette. Had corn on the cob for dessert. P.S. I grow my own fresh chives so that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Thai Curry Noodle Bowl

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Delicious! It's quick AND easy, but has so much flavor. This was my first time using the Swanson Thai Ginger broth and boy, is it ever tasty! It's perfectly seasoned, with just a slight hint of heat. It really does take the guesswork out of making soup and fiddling with seasonings. The lemongrass, ginger, curry, coconut, lime flavors are already IN the broth, so no fuss! I made this exactly as written, and the only thing I'd suggest is adding more broth since the rice noodles absorb all the liquid (and it definitely doesn't reheat well because of this). I'd even suggest doubling the broth if you want a more soup-like consistency, and serve immediately. Add in shrimp for protein and you got yourself a nicely balanced meal. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Creamiest Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Very good and yes it's creamy! I had no problem with it setting up but you definitely have to bring it to a boil before turning it to a simmer for an hour. It took roughly 20 minutes to get it to boil on that low-medium heat. I used 1/2 1% regular milk and 1/2 rice milk since I needed to use them up; the setting was no problem but the flavor was just a wee bit off - maybe more vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites by Team 50 Shades of Plaid

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Grandkids love this combo! Simple and quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn S Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites by Dragonriders

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Seriously wonton-licious. No Dinomite in their right mind could resist this tasty treat. If you don't want to be stampeded by mascots present and past, I suggest spraying the area with mascot repellent before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I made this last night but like others here I made a few modifications. I added a bit of olive oil to the pan for frying the chicken. Then cooked the chicken just until done with a nice crust then put in the oven at 350 to finish cooking while I made the sauce. I did make almost double the sauce for the noodles that I made as a side. I added a dash of paprika and red pepper (not much as my family don't like spicy) I also used a half and half mix of Gruyere and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. I grow my own basil, oregano, and thyme. I added just a bit of thyme and fresh oregano to the sauce. I also chopped up 1/4 of a large sweet onion and 3 crushed garlic cloves (we love garlic). I sauteed the onions, garlic, and pimentos in the pan first before adding the chicken broth. I placed the noodles on the plate then the chicken breast then the sauce. My family loved it. My family doesn't usually get excited about chicken but I was told this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I made this last night but like others here I made a few modifications. I added a bit of olive oil to the pan for frying the chicken. Then cooked the chicken just until done with a nice crust then put in the oven at 350 to finish cooking while I made the sauce. I did make almost double the sauce for the noodles that I made as a side. I added a dash of paprika and red pepper (not much as my family don't like spicy) I also used a half and half mix of Gruyere and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. I grow my own basil, oregano, and thyme. I added just a bit of thyme and fresh oregano to the sauce. I also chopped up 1/4 of a large sweet onion and 3 crushed garlic cloves (we love garlic). I sauteed the onions, garlic, and pimentos in the pan first before adding the chicken broth. I placed the noodles on the plate then the chicken breast then the sauce. My family loved it. My family doesn't usually get excited about chicken but I was told this was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Yeah, I have seen enough of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I enjoy Kale prepared in many ways, this is by far my favorite at the moment. I actually find myself thinking about it at random moments & craving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cha
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Yes it is a tad dry but OMG I haven't had this in years and it was just delicious! I had no mushrooms so no mushrooms, no onions so I used dried chopped, only used 3/4 pkg of the no yolk noodles. Potato chips and cheese on top are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Day Apple Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I liked this recipe, but had to cut the sugar by a lot & add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Boxty with Whiskey Kale garnish

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I was looking for something special to serve for dinner with Dinomite and former mascots. This hit the spot! All the right notes of kale ... and the whiskey sauce was the perfect touch. Next time I will hide the whiskey bottle though because that Elopus ... what a lightweight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Fried Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I didn't make the dipping sauce as it doesn't appeal to our tastes. By themselves I found them a bit bland. My boys just dip it in ketchup anyway and I found some sweet/sour from McDonalds! Anything that my picky kids will eat is ok by me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Homemade Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
This sauce was fantastic and tasted like summer! I have my usual family recipe that's been around for years that I normally make, and it's quite hearty filled with tons of veggies and meat, but this was a nice change of pace. I made it exactly as written and would only suggest maybe adding a pinch of sugar. For the tomatoes I used 8 Roma Tomatoes - these are naturally sweeter, have fewer seeds and hold up really well in sauces. I see others have suggested red wine instead of the water - this would work well too if you have it, and I might try that next time if I have a bottle open. I don't understand the reviews saying this is "too salty", when the recipe clearly states you are to add salt "TO TASTE". If it's too salty, then that's your own fault. Taste as you cook. Also, since this is a quick sauce, the flour thickens it, instead of simmering it for hours to thicken. Yes, the texture might be a little better without the flour, but for the short cooking time, it has its purpose. I found the sauce to be very flavorful and I wish I had made more. The servings sizes are a little small - I found this made 4 side servings. If you are looking for a main entree, then this would make 2 servings. This is a perfect way to use up all that crazy, out of control basil that's growing in my garden. A nice chunky sauce that you can blend up a bit if you prefer a smoother consistency. Thank you Kayleigh for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Coconut Curry Tofu

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Very good;I did choose to brown the tofu and mushrooms before adding the sauce to the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman

Spider Web S'mores

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
These would be fun to decorate with kids. They taste like s'mores, but I like more marshmallow and chocolate with mine. Smush together two of them for a neater s'more sandwich and you get the marshmallow and chocolate you want. They're a super cute Halloween treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
I was trying to find something different for a snack, I came across this recipe. I just had to try it! And am I glad that I did! I will be sharing this with my friends. My taste buds completely loved the different tastes all together! Cynthia H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia hummel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Great chicken salad! I followed the recipe exactly. This was wonderful as a wrap. Served it with cucumber salad and potato chips. Great light dinner on a hot summer night. I used grape tomatoes right out of the garden. Hubby and son fought over the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for a new twist on chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States