Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Halfed the recipe and used an 8x8 pan. Only needed 4 noodles. Skipped the fennel and Italian seasoning. Used very little salt. Had a little left over sauce which I can freeze and use later. Most excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Style Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
OMG!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tots® Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This only received so-so reviews at the table. I followed the recipe as written without the Montreal Seasoning because we didn't have any. Prep time was quick and easy. I didn't like that the sauce was gray. It just looked unappetizing. I mistakenly mixed the meat and sauce together before putting it in the pan and actually felt it could have used a little more sauce. Overall between the color and the really heavy Worcestershire taste I just wasn't fond if it. My teen son, on the other hand, though it was excellent and finished off the leftovers the next day. I don't think I'll make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Sherbet

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Use coconut milk. OMG that makes it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It's a great recipe when used as a guide. I prefer easier methods, more flavor and spices. But for a beginner, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I liked this. The cake itself is not too sweet (the topping is). It highlights blueberries well and has a really nice fluffy but still substantial texture. I did add a bit of vanilla, and used butter rather than shortening, but otherwise the only change I made was the baking time. Mine took over 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chess Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Pretty tasty. I used fat free cream cheese and only half of the powdered sugar and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was a bit too dry for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Like-PE Chicken Fried Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Kids wolf it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puppy Chow

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Cristian loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portillo's Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was good but not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was OK the first time I made it (following exact) so, the second time around, I tweaked it and that was much tastier! I sauteed an onion and a tablespoon of crushed garlic in some butter. Then added a cup of milk, 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp Thyme and 1 tsp Sage. Simmered for a few minutes. Then I started this recipe as listed here. I also added a bag of frozen peas & carrots. For the dumplings, I used one tube of grands and cut them into eighths instead of quarters. Covered and simmered for 20 minutes stirring every 5...perfect! Much better with the added seasonings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Yank Pulled Pork BBQ

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My daughter asked all day what was cooking because it smelled so good! When it came to dinner, she says "I love this chicken!" Needless to say but this is a hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rubeck Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Creston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
The kids really like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Tastes just like Portillos. I love it in a bowl with milk poured on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Liked this, so did Mike - of course, he is partial to cashews! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Mama's Potato Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Awesome! Great rich taste and perfect texture. I love the hint of spice and big potato chunks. I was shocked at the amount of mustard but obeyed the recipe and was glad I did later! I will totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese I

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
The kids loved it just as it's written, the best I've found so far. I think we have finally found our go to mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatBoy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmount, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States