Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Mr.Mom

Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Simple to make and amazing to eat! Followed recipe, no adjustments were made and ended up with great results! Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr.Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was pretty good. Maybe with a better cut of meat it could be "Steak Soup", it tasted more like beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Very nice. Made as written and it turned out great. The filling could also easily be mixed with some more tomato and some cooked pasta with a little cheese for an Italian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Waffles

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Didn't like this recipe at all. Ended up in the garbage. Too wet inside - I'll use my own excellent waffle recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Easy Beef Stew for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
What's better than having dinner ready when you get home from work AND have it taste good!??! I normally don't use gravy or seasoning packets (personal preference) but decided to try this because of the ease and convenience. I made it exactly as written (well, I added in an extra celery stalk and used 1/2 onion instead of 1/4 -whatever) and this came out perfectly tender at 6 hrs. I imagine if you're working a longer day you could put in on low for 8-10hrs and it would be equally tasty. I was so mad today when I left for work and forgot my leftovers at home! Thanks for sharing your recipe Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Lemon Cream Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
For our tastes it was too lemony and not creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfbeaner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Made this with bone in chicken breasts tonight. Followed the directions exactly except I didn't have ketchup so I used chili sauce. My husband called it "Tasty". It was flavorful and the taste not too overpowering. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I would prefer the sauce be thicker (it was fairly watery.) I will make this again and maybe cook the sauce down on the stove first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gindin Spiegel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Yellow Rice for Rice Cookers

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Because I have a small rice cooker, I halved the recipe. The salt amount seemed like WAY too much, and after reading the other review stating it was salty, I chose to only use one third the amount of salt (so for a half batch, I used 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp). Am I ever glad I cut back! The seasonings were perfect, so I can't even imagine how salty it would be with the full amount. With the reduced salt, I really liked the overall flavor. It was a nice change of pace. The rice did come out a little mushy (even though I rinsed it first), so it would be a good idea to use a bit less liquid than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Christoph's Mediterranean Spinach and Sun Dried Tomato Dish

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Bam! Winner, winner! Christoph, you are a genius! This is easy, quick AND delicious. It's the perfect side. The only slight deviation I made was to sauté the tomatoes first, then add the spinach, since spinach only takes under a minute to wilt down and cook. I added the seasonings in with the spinach, instead of after the spinach was cooked. Since spinach wilts down so much, I consider this more 1 serving instead of 2. Tip of the night: Make lots!!! You'll regret it if you don't! This one's a keeper. Thanks Amy for sharing your hubby's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Wazzu Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This makes a TON of chili with a lot of meat. I'm not used to such a meaty chili but my husband likes it. I swapped the 1 lb pork with 1 lb lean ground turkey and followed the submitter's suggestion to liberally season the meat while cooking. To make clean up easier, I drained the meat out of the pan with a spoon into a paper towel lined bowl, then I used the leftover fat and seasonings in the pan to cook the veggies. I have small kids so I used 1 fresh jalapeno and about 1/4 c. diced pickled jalapeno. It was still pretty spicy with the cayenne and jalapeno, so I may cut more next time for the kiddos. I cut the beans to 2 cans instead of 3. Otherwise followed all directions. It does have a beer aftertaste that I am not totally sold on. Next time I may cut the beer in half and add beef broth to make up the lost liquid. I would also probably add a little more tomato sauce and maybe 1 1/2 lb. meat instead of 2 to get a little more "soup" and a little less meat. Overall a good chili with good flavor, nothing bland about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cilantro Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Love it with 1 T lite soy & some freshly grated f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Mock Sour Cream II

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was a pretty good sub for sour cream. On it's own, you can definitely tell it's cottage cheese with not much of a sour cream flavor (but who eats sour cream on its own anyway!), but as a topping or addition to a recipe, it's a tasty alternative. I put it on a baked potato and really appreciated the low fat and calories. The consistency was perfect. Blend it up and let it sit for a few mins and it thickens up. Thanks for sharing your recipe Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was really good. I put salsa on the bottom of a 9x13 pan and poured a bit over the top after I rolled the enchiladas. I also filled 10 flour tortillas, not 6. I added jalapenos, cumin, and garlic powder to the cream cheese mix while it was cooking. I also sprinkled sliced black olives over the salsa on top and sprinkled cheese on top before baking. After baking, I put chopped fresh tomatoes, cilantro, sour cream, and hot sauce on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I'm always looking for new ways to use quinoa and this recipe was a good find. I did not have any kale on hand so I used baby spinach leaves and it was a great substitute. The only thing I did not care for was the dressing, so I added a little honey to it and it was a huge improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tilapia Scampi

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. I don't know why people say that their fish is dry. Mine was perfect and definitely not dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissJenn1772

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My family and I loved this roast. It was moist, falling apart just enought to soak up the juices. I did take a few suggestions from others: I only had a 2 1/2 # Bottom Roast and I cooked it in a crock pot on high for 5 hours. I followed the directions using only 3 onions (due to the smaller roast) and added some italian seasonings, some minced garlic and one cup of beef broth for gravy. I will def make this again and again. I served it with roasted potatoes and a salad. My teenager put the leftovers on a roll for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gindin Spiegel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles III

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I thought they were very good but I am not an expert since I prefer chocolate. My family liked them a lot. I baked them at 375F for 9 min which made them crispy, then switched to 400F for 8 min which kept them softer in the middle. Either way I will def make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Gindin Spiegel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The flavor was great. However, I found it too easy for these cookies to get crispy. I prefer my cookies soft and chewy. I had to hover over these to make sure they didn't get over baked, which would happen quite quickly. I would rather have a recipe that is a little more forgiving. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Turkey Mushroom Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
A nice hearty and healthy "stew" to warm you up on a chilly day. This makes a HUGE pot, enough to freeze for later. A few things....First, this really didn't seem like a stew to me, and definitely not something I'd call turkey mushroom stew. Like another reviewer mentioned, it really was a cross between spaghetti sauce and chili. Take out the beans and you have spaghetti sauce. Take out the Italian seasoning and you have chili. Turkey and mushrooms weren't the prominent ingredient or flavor. Secondly, the 1/2 cup hot pepper sauce wasn't too much at all, which was the concern of some reviewers. I suppose if you use a brand that's crazy spicy it might be, but I used Frank's Red Hot as another reviewer suggested and it was the perfect amount of heat. Definitely not enough to get the nose running, just a nice bite. Third, this recipe was seriously lacking in salt. I added about 1.5 tsp of salt to the finished product and it really made the flavors pop. In terms of the other seasonings in this recipe, these are the amounts I used: 2 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp Italian seasoning and 1 tsp black pepper. Lastly, this came out really acidic. Normally when I make tomato-based sauces such as these, I add a bit of sugar to counteract the acidity. I tried that, but it was still overly-acidic so I then added about 1 tsp baking soda to the pot and that completely solved the problem. Tomorrow I will serve my leftovers over spaghetti squash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Texture was nice, but way too sour tasting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States