Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
perfect frosting for carrot cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Spicy Wings

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made 1/2 recipe and used Frank's Red Hot Sauce. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Okay, so the flavor may not be as good as a store bought rotisserie chicken; HOWEVER it is so moist and it's hard to find a recipe for moist chicken. Definitely a keeper. The cooking method is a winner, will experiment with spices perhaps under the skin. Sue, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chi Chi's Corn Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious! Instead of the corn, I used 3/4 of a regular can of creamed corn (without processing it). I also used skim milk since I didn't have heavy cream. I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Spicy Southwestern Slaw

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is by far my favorite and most frequently made recipe from Allrecipes. I've brought it to BBQs and potlucks and receive lots of requests for the recipe. I admit that it is very spicy, especially if you make this a day in advance. Adjust the recipe if you don't like spicy. My favorite ways to eat this are as a taco topping or as a side with pulled pork. I don't like canola oil; instead, I use olive oil. I love that this is not a mayo-based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Best Grilled Margarita Chicken... Ever!

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have to agree - Best Grilled Margarita Chicken ever! I've made this many times, sometimes with chicken breasts and sometimes with bone-in chicken pieces. I did mess up the recipe one time which I'm embarrassed to mention but on the off chance someone reading this also contemplates using sugar-free margarita mix - DON'T. The artificial sweeteners were disgusting when heated and probably toxic. If you want to make this recipe with less sugar, just substitute a couple Tbsp of lemon juice for the margarita mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have made this more times than I can count and it is requested every Easter and at all family BBQs. This is a sweet treat, not something you're going to eat a lot of. Don't rate a recipe as bad if you don't like the nutritional content - simply don't make it or change it to meet your nutritional needs. Not every recipe appeals to everyone's needs and only make the ones that fit with your lifestyle! We have used both regular cream cheese, cool whip and butter as well as the lighter versions of each. My family prefers the combination of 1/3 fat cream cheese, regular cool whip and light butter. This time I chopped the frozen berries in the food processor for a bit (no sliced strawberries without sugar) and added a few more whole berries from a second bag. If you do this, make sure you cut the boiling water a bit. We have also had with orange jello with mixed tropical fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Five Minute Ice Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I recommend this recipe wholeheartedly to anyone with a sweet tooth. I use a Vitamix blender which makes this technique very easy. You can use any frozen berry, and adjust the cream and sugar to taste. This also works well with frozen bananas. Definitely reduce the amount of sugar and cream if you try this with bananas, because frozen pureed bananas already have a very creamy texture and sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Easy Chicken Taquitos

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
The technique is great, but I thought that it was a little dry and bland. I made these again with cumin, chili powder, minced jalepenos, and sour cream mixed in with the chicken - that did the trick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde)

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I think that there was too much liquid in this recipe, which diluted the spices and made it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I've fermented cabbage to make sauerkraut at home, but this was my first kimchi attempt. I followed the ingredients and preparation steps in this recipe exactly, but allowed mine to ferment at room temperature in a large jar with an airlock for about 14 days which resulted in an extremely sour and spicy kimchi. I did not think that it was too salty, but I rinsed and squeezed the cabbage very well with distilled water after the salt soak step, and used distilled water after packing the cabbage into the jar to ensure that the brine level rose above the veggies. Salt is important to prevent the growth of "bad" bacteria, but too much salt (or chlorine in tap water, which is why using distilled water is important) will inhibit the lactobacilli from fermenting the veggies. If you are making this recipe to eat immediately without fermentation, then add much less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Lazy, delicious, and tastes like summer. I made this in the crock pot several times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
My husband and I have made this several times. Breading and cooking the chicken pieces takes a lot of time. The most recent batch we didn't bother breading the chicken at all, just cut up some chicken and put it directly into the wok with peanut oil, and it was still crazy tasty - just faster. I used low sodium soy sauce and instead of orange zest / sugar, I used orange marmalade, and I doubled the red peppers. I am looking forward to making other small changes to add variety - some peanuts or maybe peanut butter, or more orange, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious and very easy to make. We did this once on the grill and the second time in the oven, but poured the marinade into the pan with the salmon while it baked for a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Really good - I followed other review's suggestions to add fenugreek and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Kiki's Borracho (Drunken) Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious! I've made this several times - the first exactly according to the recipe, which tasted good but a little bland for my taste. After that, I made a couple of changes - substituting 2 jalapenos for the pickled jalapenos, and Heineken instead of dark beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Jamie's Baked Brie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Delicious and smelled intoxicating while it baked. My husband and I loved it. We went the phyllo sheet + brushing layers with butter route, so assembly did take a bit of work but the result was a very flaky shell. We served it with granny smith apple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Amazing!! 5 stars for the thyme / garlic rub, although I based the exact oven time & temp on other's reviews (formula below). We've made this twice. For Science. I used the thyme / garlic rub in this recipe without adjusting the serving size for a 3lb standing rib roast because I wanted a thick, strongly flavored crust. Based on studying other's reviews, this is the oven formula that worked well for us both times: 460F for 12 minutes, 400F for 8 minutes, then 325F for 20 minutes per pound. I did use a digital leave-in meat thermometer because I wanted to remove the roast from the oven when the internal temperature hit 130F, but the estimated time based on the formula was very close (within 8 minutes) and would have resulted in more of the roast being medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I wish I had looked at the pictures before making as my chicks were very top heavy and caved in. That said, I believe it is because we like a creamier deviled egg. I prepared the filling as directed (except cut the horseradish to 1/2 tablespoon because kids are eating) and although it tasted good, it was too stiff for us. I added 2 more tablespoons of mayo and 1 more teaspoon of pickle juice to get it to the consistency we like. We did like the base recipe though and will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I used the recipe for general guidance but had a lot of modifications. I used leftover chicken from roasting whole birds the day before, frozen veggies including little onions, a LOT of black pepper, and lightly brushed some butter on the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States