Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Papa Oriold's Spaetzle

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is exactly the taste I was looking for. Paired it with my Traditional Sauerbraten for a home run. If you don't have a press or ricer, the (traditional) way my Grandmother did it was to put the dough on a cutting board and then "slice" small pieces into the boiling water. It's hard to explain, but basically she would cut about a finger's size of dough and scrape it to the edge of the cutting board. Works great with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Simpler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This chicken is wonderful but I just wanted to save everyone some grief. DO NOT USE A PYREX DISH UNDER THE BROILER. Pyrex is not safe under the broiler, it will shatter. I speak from an experience several years ago. I use the broiler pan with out the insert. I am a huge Chef John fan but I was surprised to see him using glass under the broiler. Hope this will save someone a lot of trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Changed a few ingredients to make it Paleo. (Coconut sugar, coconut aminos instead of soy sauce, and apple cider vinegar) It was amazing. Rested the roast then pulled the pork, adding some of the juice back. Placed in the slow cooker again with homemade Paleo BBQ sauce. DELICIOUS.Will definitely make this again - SOON. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Changed a few ingredients to make it Paleo. (Coconut sugar, coconut aminos instead of soy sauce, and apple cider vinegar) It was amazing. Rested the roast then pulled the pork, adding some of the juice back. Placed in the slow cooker again with homemade Paleo BBQ sauce. DELICIOUS.Will definitely make this again - SOON. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

White Bean Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is five stars! I always laugh at the ...'I liked it but"....remarks. It certainly isn't white bean chili if you add black beans! I had to substitute also. No Tomatillas and NO salsa verde...so...What is in Salsa? Hmmm..tomatoes, onions, cilantro, onion. garlic, etc. AND LIME JUICE! I added lime juice. Yummy. My whole family loves this chili and I will bel making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Corbett Balach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnegie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and everyone in the house loves it. I marinade mine a full 24 hours, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Kemper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe if soy sauce is reduced a bit. We had a 1.5 lb roast that marinated for 24 hours then put it on the rotisserie for 55 minutes. Perfectly moist and browned. Heated up the marinade and used it as a sauce. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made several modifications to this recipe based on other comments, and I was really happy with how it turned out. It tasted even better on the second day. I am vegetarian so instead of using bacon I added 1/3 cap-full of liquid smoke. I used one stick of butter and 1/2 cup flour. 2 cups of whole milk, 2 cups reconstituted powdered milk,3 cups veggie broth and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also added 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I like that this can be made in under an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chive Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
As far as cuke salad goes, this was just okay. I wouldn't add the water and add more of all of the dry spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I'll give this 5 stars too. I made it just as written with half the amount of water. However I'm telling you .... You don't need NEAR that much sugar!!! It's a keeper but I'd diminish the sugar by at least 1/3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYJIMMIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pumpkin Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Didn't refrigerate - just mixed and ate with graham crackers for an easy dessert with the kiddos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I'm not a big fan of tuna. I think that's why I love this recipe. There really isn't a strong tuna taste. I only had 5 oz cans of tuna on hand, so I added used 2 for this recipe. That's the only thing different I did. I put it on toast and it was delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies III

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made these with mini chocolate chips (same amount), replaced the egg with egg beater, no nuts and replaced the oil with half oil and half unsweetened apple sauce. This made a lot! I used a small/medium cookie scoop and got 22 nice sized medium cookies (cooked fine in 11 minutes at 350) and 14 mini muffins (filled with the same amount of dough as each cookie). They also cooked fine in about 13 minutes. I wish I had added more food coloring as my cookies don't really look like pumpkin. But the taste is out of this world. I am sure the original recipe would have been fantastic, but I always try to lighten things up when I can. Next time I want to try some wheat flour. Hot from the oven I had to smack hands to make sure we have enough for the recipe tasting tonight. These definitely will go into our holiday rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Beer Cheese Soup II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Terrible. The soup is runny and rather than complimenting it, the beer completely overpowered it. To thicken it, you can puree some of it and that will improve the texture, however the flavor...not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Cabbage Rolls III

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These are the cabbage rolls I grew up eating. Grandma always used ground beef and ground pork, she also added some chopped garlic and a spoonful of Hungarian paprika and didn't bother with the toothpicks. I don't know why everyone wants to add tomato sauce to them. Cabbage rolls cooked in tomato sauce are good but try them with just the sour kraut. I cook them in the crock pot (grandma would have loved that)or bake them in the oven at 325 for about 2 hours. They also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noah Weisberg Sr

Johnsonville Classic Meatballs and Spaghetti

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I agree with the other reviews here that this is a very easy recipe to follow and to make. If you have a hungry family and not a lot of time to make dinner then this recipe is for you. Here are my two issues with this ... it lacks flavor and the texture is spongy. I have tried various other frozen meatballs in the past and these rank up with the better ones but they still need more flavor. You have the option to microwave, bake, or simmer them in your sauce. I chose to simmer them and the turned out okay. The texture of every frozen meatball I have tried seem to all be the same. For some reason nobody can seem to get a "homemade" texture in a frozen meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Weisberg Sr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Navy Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I soaked the beans overnight and put them in the crockpot today on high until it was bubbling and then turned down to low until the beans were cooked. Sauteed the veggies in olive oil and used 1 qt of Trader Joe's low sodium organic vegetable broth and 3 c of chicken stock - I was worried about the other reviews mentioning the saltiness and the veggie broth was all I had that was low sodium. I'm glad I did - we really liked the added flavors from the veggie broth (including tomato). I cubed a 1lb ham steak instead of bacon. When the beans were tender I took out 2 c of the soup, pureed and added back to thicken the soup (I pulled out the ham cubes so they didn't get pureed). I also let it cook without the top on for about 45 min to thicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I don't know who ever thought of this but it's surprisingly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I've had this recipe in my box for over 10 years now so glad to have finally tried it. Very good. I recommend making the sauce because it was the perfect consistency and kept the pasta from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Cheeseburger Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I really wanted to like this but the eggy layer just killed it for me. 3 stars because my hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States