Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MBKRH

Basque Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Awesome salad! I served mine over arugula and ate it for lunch throughout the week, keeping the dressing separate until I was ready to eat. This is a very fresh and crisp salad, it will definitely be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by MBKRH

Chicken Andouille Gumbo

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I did saute some diced onion, omitted the file powder (I was out), and used boneless skinless chicken breasts (that's the only kind of chicken we like). The end result was delicious; my fiance proclaimed this to be the best version I've gumbo I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe. Next time I will double the marinade to have more to baste with while on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFamilyAcademy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very, very good...my kids even enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern-Style Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
By itself, not so good. The vinegar overpowered everything else. To fix that, all I did was add more hot sauce and ketchup. It's super thin so you can always cook it down to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Velis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This cake was awesome! I really suck at making cakes, so if I can make this one anyone can! it had a lovely light lemon flavour, and nice moist texture. I did not have sour cream so I subbed 3/4 cup sour milk (milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar) and added 1/3 cup butter when creaming the butter and sugar. I served each slice with a generous amount of homemade strawberry rhubarb compote. the tartness of the compote really worked with the sweetness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This a good building block and I would encourage you to make it your own as I did. As is, you got the makings of a good potato salad. Everyone recalls that Mom's tater salad is the best, and mine is no exception. But I like this one. Things I did different? Added more egg, celery, changed the ratio of sour cream and mayo. Used a Thai chili sauce and added crushed garlic and onion. Except for the potatoes, I minced everything tiny, just like my Mom did. I hate chunks in my salad. Anyways, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirbahashi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is perfect, easy, can feed a lot of the neighborhood and will get five stars at the State Fair with vanilla ice cream on top. This is better than pie (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Read the reviews how to make it less runny. Add flour or tapioca or corn starch to the rhubarb/strawberry filling. Cream cheese layer on the crust is something to try. This is a favorite worth learning to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Simply Guacamole

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I loved the freshness of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet

Peruvian Style Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good flavors and it was moist and tender. We loved it. Followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
My new favorite way to serve potatoes! I added extra balsamic vinegar and a different variety of herbs. I didn't have parchment paper, but greasing the baking sheet worked fine. They are delicious when still soft, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I browned and drained the meat before transferring it to a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I also made my own mashed potatoes rather than instant, and added a layer of mozzarella cheese. This dish was a first for our household and it was enjoyed. It has been added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have been trying to find a mac salad without sugar, this went over really well. The only changes I made was using red and yellow peppers, knob onions, a touch of garlic and celery salt. Additionally, I used plain greek yogurt to sub for the sour cream to cut the fat and add some protein. There were no leftovers. Making this again for the fourth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Homemade Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Thanks once again Chef John. My grandma always had home-made mayonnaise. She would only use Mazola corn oil and just added salt and lemon juice. She also used a hand mixer and drizzled in the oil. I thought hers was the best but this is much better. I used 1/2 corn oil and 1/2 olive oil. The stick blender is much quicker and there is no splatter. You are absolutely right there is nothing better than a slice of bread with a big slather of home-made mayo. Try this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet

Strawberry Spinach Salad II

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious. I decreased the sugar and I added some Pecan Pralines. I also used red onion as we love onions. It was a hit and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Heather Jordine

Pineapple Flip

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great creamy recipe, but next time I make it will definitely make more dough, recipe dough didn't quite cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Jordine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Photo by molina411

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Holy cow this is good! I followed the advice of another poster who said she poached a frozen chicken. In my water, I added salt, onions, salt, and bay leaves. Let it simmer for 2 hours. I also made my own sauce with tomato sauce, olive oil, garlic, onions, oregano, italian seasonings, salt, and pepper. I also added mushrooms into the sauce and had some broccoli left in the fridge that I chopped up and threw in there as well. I used 9 no boil pasta noodles, making it three layers. I also used only 3/4 of the cream cheese because that's all I had. And on top of the lasagna, I sprinkled Kraft shredded cheese that contains parmesan, romano and asiago over the mozzarella. Baked for about 40 minutes covered, then uncovered and broiled for 5. My husband and I both loved it and lucky for us, we had leftovers for dinner the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian-Style Beef Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
No water! Just wrap tightly in foil while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great thick sauce for vegetables. Needs a little zip so I'd add hot sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfbeaner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States