Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Delicious. Didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Quebec Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I've tried dozens of pickled eggs recipes (including most of the ones on allrecipes) and this one is perfect. If you haven't made or tried pickled eggs before, this is a great place to start. It's a very standard recipe and very flavorful. It's what I think of when I think of pickled eggs (could be bc my family is from Quebec!). I love the use of fresh ginger. The brine has a sort of pickling spice flavor, but better. This is not too vinegary at all. I ate an egg the next morning and it was already delicious. If you want even more flavor, leave the ginger and other spices in the jar instead of using the cheesecloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Best Hamburger Ever

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Too much stuff and too many flavors fighting each other. Simple is better...always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
this was great. Never sauteed peppercorns before, but it was really good! Simple and guest-worthy. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsey Haliti

Simple Sweet and Spicy Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Super easy and delicious!! I added some shredded cheese and substituted chopped romaine for the spinach simply because we were all out and I didn't have time to book it to the store! Will be making again for sure! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Haliti

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I haven't made a sweet potato pie in a long time and this recipe has just become my favorite way to make them from now on! I took the advice of others and used half white sugar half brown sugar, half & half instead of milk, and 2 tsps of fresh lemon juice. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Baked Tofu Slices

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I'm such a HUGE meat lover, but lately I've been trying out a bunch of different tofu recipes. This is one of my favorites to date! Nice and spicy, just how I like it, and very easy. It took longer than 10 minutes for mine to start browning, so I think about 14-15mins cook time before spooning the sauce over top. The only tofu available in my area comes in 14oz packages. I almost ate the whole thing by myself! I served this over white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Agua Fresca

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Delicious! I'm nearly 9 months pregnant and was craving something refreshing. This totally hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmyheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkiedash's muffins
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Overnight Coconut Pecan Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I think I finally found my go-to overnight oats recipe! I've always made overnight oats with regular old-fashioned/rolled oats and wasn't that big of a fan. I love steel cut oats but it never occurred to me to try it in overnight oats. I absolutely LOVE the chewiness of the oats, which some might be turned off by. Also, for those that are used to sugary sweet processed breakfast cereals, this probably isn't for you. But it should be ;) - much healthier. This doesn't seem like it makes a lot, but it's actually quite filling. The only changes I made were to use unsweetened cashew milk (bc that's what I tend to have on hand nowadays), I used half the pecans and I used flaked coconut (larger pieces) instead of shredded. With these changes, the calorie count was 271. I was so happy to have made this last night bc this morning I woke up late for work and otherwise wouldn't have eaten breakfast. A perfect on-to-go breakfast! I like putting my overnight oats in small canning jars. For those who can't find unsweetened coconut, Bob's Red Mill makes some, so check that section of the store. These oats won't get soft, so if that's what you're looking for, you're better off sticking with a cooked oatmeal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like this as much as my usual "french onion soup mix" pot roast, but it did have some nice points that I probably will steal. For some reason, this had almost a heavy celery flavor to me. I'm not sure if it was the ranch dressing mix or the italian dressing mix, but the whole roast/gravy tasted heavily of celery. This is not my favorite flavor and I usually leave celery out of soups and stews to avoid that overwhelming flavor. I really liked the consistency of the gravy and I think I will start using the 1/4 c flour rubbed into the meat from now on. I really liked using the chuck roast. I usually use just whatever is on sale but I think chuck is how I'm going to go chuck from now on with pot roast. My next roast I will go back to the onion soup mix packet, but thanks for the recipe. I'm glad so many like it, it just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiesta Stuffed Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Wow! What an interesting, tasty flavor combination. I did change this up based on what I had (only used 3 tablespoons of minced red onion, used a fresno pepper minced instead of the cayenne) and more cilantro (about 3 tablespoons because we love it). We enjoyed the light heat of the fresno pepper with the fresh taste of cumin. We had one with cheese and one without, both tasted wonderful. I did top with fresh mashed avocado and then served with an ice cold corona with lime. What a fantastic early summer meal. We will definitely have this again and again. One tip that I find makes turkey burgers more juicy is to mix up the ingredients before hand then let sit in the refrigerator for a few hours. Not only does this help them not fall apart, it allows the flavors time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Cold Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I made not quite half a recipe (used only 1 can of beans) and we did not care for this. The vinegar didn't seem to work with the spicy peppers. Oh well, thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Chef John's Chicken French

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I made the chicken following the recipe right down to the tee and Chef John did not disappoint. I even used tomatoes and avocados as side dishes and it all came together beautifully. Hardly any carbs, only delicious food. We ate this at 11:30pm so we appreciated the lightness of the dish. Can't wait to make it for my parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Lemon Blueberry Salad Dressing

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This is a good starting point for a fantastic vinaigrette. As written, I found it needed a few tweaks. It had too much vinegar and not enough sweetness. I ended up adding another 1/4 cup of blueberries which helped a lot. I'd recommend doubling the berries, and only using 1/4-1/3 cup of vinegar. I also found this needed some salt and a touch of fresh black pepper. With the changes, it was delicious! I served this over a simple spinach salad topped with blueberries, sliced strawberries and sliced almonds. Thank you EvilJekyll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I usually do not like to rate recipes if I change them, but we really enjoyed these. I added Worcestershire sauce to the egg mixture. I also did not have stuffing mix and I worried about the salt content. I used plain breadcrumbs and added a little salt and paprika to that. Otherwise, I did follow the recipe and they came out well coated and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I scaled this to 1 serving and it was plenty of sandwich spread for 2 full sandwiches on regular sandwich bread. I did not like the thyme, sorry, and I even used just a little bit less than called for. The rest of the spread was great with nice proportions of each element and it really added a nice creamy, crunchy, flavorful kick to a basic sandwich. This makes a BIG sandwich, one was almost too much for me. I did not use 2 slices of tomato, but I thing you really need to just skip the recipe instructions for the amount of filling and use your eyes. I think I ended up using 2 good slices of turkey and I did go with the 2 full slices of swiss to get it good and cheesy and to make a good barrier to keep the tomato from sogging up the bread. I toasted it on a regular skillet with another skillet on top to weigh it down, and I made sure to really grill it a long time to get everything warm and gooey. Next time I will make it without the thyme because it unfortunately just overpowered everything for my taste, but this is a good fancy grilled cheese and I bet the spread would go great with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Pheasant

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
First time cooking pheasant, it came out wonderful. I did have to cook over 1 hour longer, because we had a larger than usual bird. Came out tender and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
The whole family loved this. I used chicken broth in lieu of veggie broth. I think it would make a nice burrito filling with some cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These were a huge hit with company when I grilled steaks this past weekend. They made the kitchen smell amazing even before they went in the oven! Loved the combo of fresh herbs with a touch of heat from the red pepper. This one will definitely be made again and again this summer! After these were done, I drizzled a bit of truffle oil right before serving. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States