Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Very easy, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Nothing gourmet but certainly satisfying and simple. I added half an onion. I did not put the pork in the oven but after reading a couple of reviews I will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Amazing! Doubled the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Chicken Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Amazing as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Persimmon Bread I

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This bread has a nice flavor and is sweet and moist. 4/5 stars because I feel like it comes out very dense- next time I might add a teaspoon of baking powder to the recipe and see if it lightens it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Lemme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
i read the reviews and my family really enjoyed this meatloaf. I did following some adjustments and I would like to make a recommendation. I did the recommendation of 1/4 milk, 1/3 brown sugar, bread crumbs instead of crackers, 1 1/2 tbsp of worcheshire sauce and onion soup mix - all good. I also prepared the meat loaf in a jelly roll pan with three sheets of aluminum foil for easy clean up. Thank you all for those recommendations. Yet, I would recommend if you use the onion soup mix - DO NOT USE ANY SALT. I also added six slices of bacon on the top for flavoring and ended up cooking the meatloaf for about 1 1/2 hours at 350. The bacon was not crispy so maybe use the broiler for a bit to crisp it up then the sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
No great shakes. Did not mind the sweetness but nothing that was too exciting. We had very thick pork chops so perhaps the sauce did not permeate? Marinate ahead of time? I like the idea of using Jack Daniels. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
After all of the positive reviews, I was super excited to try this and WOW, what a disappointment. I was expecting something that tasted like breakfast sausage, not thanksgiving. The flavors just don't work for us and I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Really nice to see a simple combo of spices that turned out so well. I'm hypoglycemic so I substituted beet sugar for the regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByteSized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
My wife and I have never had a meatless chilli and I was really worried about how it would turn out compared to the traditional way that everyone is used to. Well, let me tell you, worry no more. This was absolutely amazing in flavor, you didn't even miss the lack of meat. The potatoes took over the show as far as that was concerned and the heat from the peppers combined with the sour cream and cilantro topped it off and made all the I,ingredients come together. This was truly a spectacular show of a well blended recipe that was might tasty, long live Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Hamusta Soup

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This is a very tasty soup and my first time trying an Iraqi Kurdish soup. I loved the lemon garlic flavor combined with the Swiss chard. It's easy to make, and super healthy! You don't have to feel guilty about eating 2 servings. :) I made it exactly as written (with the exception of only using 1tsp of sugar instead of 1tbsp) and ended up cooking mine for about 20-25 mins, but this will depend on how big or small you cut your veggies. For the 9 tbsp of lemon juice, I ended up using 3.5 lemons. NOTE: I noticed when the first review (2 star) was left, the recipe also had an error in it, asking for only 1 1/4 cups of water. Yes, this would cause the soup to be way too lemony. (I emailed allrecipes about the error). I made it the correct way using 6 1/3 cups of water (per submitter's personal recipe) and the flavors are very well-balanced, with a nice lemony tang. Perfect! Thank you Linda for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by LilSnoo

Healthy Blueberry Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this smoothie, and made it 3 mornings in a row to use up my blueberries. I think you could easily use frozen blueberries and skip the ice. I used Oikos nonfat Greek yogurt. For the OJ, I used Tropicana Trop 50 (low cal/low sugar) and I only used 1tsp of sugar instead of 1tbsp (I don't like my smoothies too sweet). This ended up being 188 cals instead of 295 cals, with these ingredients and the reduced sugar. The vanilla was a nice touch, and I might even increase it to 1/2 tsp. Very versatile and healthy! Thanks Lisa Marie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Mouthwatering Crabmeat Pan Seared Filets

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
A little more butter melted, fresh clove garlic minced, and Old Bay seasoning with real KING crab meat, oh so good!! I like the MR warm through the center steak in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo

Smokey Salmon

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. Maple and salmon, it's like a match made in heaven. I made it exactly as written. I did, however, cut and individually wrap the salmon pieces. I grilled them over medium heat for 5 mins per side, then I moved them over to indirect heat for the remaining 5 mins - total of 15 mins. Next time I will only grill for 10-12 mins. While there is nothing "smokey" about this recipe, it is very tasty and I will definitely make it again. One pound of salmon for 2 people makes VERY generous servings. I prefer to cut a pound into 3-4 pieces. Also, no need to oil grate (!?) since the salmon is not directly on grate. Thank you, wendi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Grilled Chicken with Rosemary and Bacon

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I can't wait to try this. Love the idea of also adding a sprig of thyme. Skoo I am so jealous of you having so much Rosemary. I wanted to grow herbs this year, but didn't yet and I'm not sure how to start. Guess I could look it up online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serena M

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
So good! Only change I will make is adding more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena M
Home Town: Coal City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
So Delish made as per recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Asian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Very tasty salad! I followed the recipe exactly for the dressing portion and had to use a mixture of red and yellow bell peppers (what I had). I did add more snow peas than called for. My sugar didn't dissolve in the vinegar and soy sauce, so I microwaved it for not quite 30 seconds. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

French Crepes

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
fantadtic, exactly as written. Served savory with bacon rolled in some, others rolled and just topped with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Pineapple and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Used canned pineapple and mango from a jar. Turns out great with fresh or canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Marlier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States