Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Chicken Salad Ever

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yum yum yum. I used some ranch creamy dressing and homemade slaw. I get a kick out of people who don't read right. It does not say to puree in food processor. Says to chop. I just hand chopped all and it turned out wonderful. Great on some multi grain bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Corbett Balach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnegie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher

Baked Panko-Breaded Zucchini Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
To our surprise, these were fantastic! They were very flavorful and nice and crispy. I used two larger zucchini and baked for 15 minutes at 425 on the lower oven rack. I used about 2/3rds a cup of Panko but kept the cheese and seasoning amounts the same (and ended up with enough left over for another zucchini). I used a Cajun seasoning blend instead of Italian since we had a spicy spinach and feta turkey burger with them but am sure the Italian would be just as tasty. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Triple Dipped Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
@ladyisis123...First of all, since when is one concerned about Nutrition when one is eating fried chicken for crying out loud. Most of us are intelligent enough to realize that fried chicken is not one of those items that is put on top of a "healthy" diet but we love it anyway...PLUS if you scroll down far enough on the recipe page you WILL find a nutritional analysis of the recipe....NOW on to more actual constructive criticizm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetolRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
BEST pie crust ever, and so easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I haven't made it personally but my aunt makes them all the time for parties. They are so delicious the perfect treat for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Ranch Crispy Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love all types of chicken, but this one really stood out from the crowd in the best way possible. You need to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dee's Chocolate Peppermint Milk Shake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
OMG'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everyone in the world MUST try this recipe. It's the best recipe I've ever tried!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Milkshake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is the best milkshake I have ever had!! It's so delicious, whoever posted this recipe I want you to keep posting recipes because this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coriander and Cumin Rubbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
The recipe was just... meh. I followed the instructions exactly and make it twice (the second time with brand new spices since I was concerned my coriander was too old the first time), and it just didn't do anything for me or my other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Ramey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartley, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pina Colada Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
It was good, but letting it set to long in the pina colada mix made it a little mushy. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Apples

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My grandma made fried apples throughout my childhood and beyond. Her apples had less cinnamon but could be adjusted to your own taste. This is a great place to start because my husband likes a more intense cinnamon flavor. Whichever way you like these apples either loaded with cinnamon or not your family will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe! I only added a dash of cinnamon because I'm pregnant and was craving cinnamon. I've made it previously as-is, and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key West Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This grilled chicken is a favorite of mine. I have served it at many church functions and I always have someone asking me for the recipe. This works best with large plump chicken breasts. Allow the marinade to soak in for at least 12 to 18 hours. Cook over medium heat and you're good to go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Garner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really tasty! I added some minced garlic, though, and some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper while the meat was cooking. Very easy, and very delicious! It was even tastier reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mari Werner

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This turned out really delicious! I didn't use ranch dressing mix though, I used a little more chicken bouillon (3 tbsp) and mixed a tbsp of corn starch to a little cold water and put that in. I used regular salt instead of season salt and added cumin and a little chili pepper for some bite. Instead of parsley I used Italian seasoning. Also I used 5 cups water instead of 3. And 8 red potatoes instead of 10, mozzarella instead of cheddar. Really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Werner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Really good. I did not peel or seed. Regretted it later. After it was finished, due to my not following recipe, I had to put it through a food mill. MY FAULT. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Photo by molina411

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took advice of others and doubled the sauce which was def a good idea. My husband was running late from work the night I made this and the chicken cooled off by the time he arrived. I took another poster's advice and popped it in the oven for 15 min at 350 degrees F. Perfect solution! Followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it! Will for sure make again. Oh, forgot to mention that I took another's advice and flavored the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder when I cut them into chunks and marinated for an hour in the fridge. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder in the flour mixture. I would suggest doing this as it will give the chicken more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Good base recipe but needed some extra flavor boost tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I started with 2 large yellow onions and added 4 smaller white ones. I cooked for about 20 minutes then added the sugar and continued cooking for another 25 or so until caramelized. If you don't use the sugar it is going to take longer. I added the sherry and please, if you're using it make sure it is something you could drink. After about 4 minutes or so (and most of the sherry had been absorbed), I added the mixture to the crock pot and followed the broth directions to a T. The flavors were decent but did not taste real rich/beefy. Next time I'll use this as a base and modify with some concentrated beef stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States