Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Ham with Maple Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This ham is delicious and easy! My extended family asks for it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I used half the sauce and pepper jack cheese instead of plain Monterey. I only used .5 lb shrimp. These were too rich for me. guess I am not a huge fan of cheese and seafood. Only two out of five of us liked these. Easy but $$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made a double batch for a cocktail party and they didn't last!! This will be a constant in my potluck recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacinta C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Thanksgiving Wedge Pies

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Easy and delicious. I don't know why I never thought of doing this before. They remind me of my father's pasties of ground beef and potatoes but with a holiday twist. So so good! Thanks for sharing, Anna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Mini Chili Calzones

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
no reason for the bacon! use a good hot dog instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

Make-Ahead Unstuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was pretty good. Easy to prep while I was making dinner. Popped it into the fridge and it was ready to go for the next day. Made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I would add crispy bacon for this to go over the top! Trust me its good with the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe hardly needs another positive review, but I thought I'd mention that this soup truly benefits from using chicken bouillon. I ran out of bouillon one time and thought I could get away with just using chicken broth and tinkering with the seasoning a little bit, but it just wasn't quite as good. This is one of the few recipes that I can follow exactly as printed and have it be absolute perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA
Photo by Huge

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Didn't change a thing. This was perfectly cooked and seasoned. My wife and 13 year old son were a bit wary about it being too rare, but one bite from the carving instantly won them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

British Hot Cross Buns

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made these, with a few alterations, as a Christmas treat for an elderly gentleman who has been asking for something he remembers his mother making around the holidays in the early 1900s. After much discussion and looking at pictures, we settled on this recipe. (I really think he has his holidays confused, but it's ok with me if he's happy.). I changed my method, proofing the yeast without the flour and adding ingredients liquids first, but I stayed with the paddle instead of switching to the dough hook. I think I would have gotten a better rise if I had kneaded the dough. I also adjusted the spices, cutting the cloves to a scant 1/8 tsp and being a bit more generous with the nutmeg. I skipped making the crosses and the sugar glaze and just used the icing to skim the tops. Oh, and I found the buns I baked in my 9" square pan rose better than the 3 I baked individually on a sheet pan. Nice recipe, I will play with it a bit and have it ready for Easter. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My son, that is 22 and eats only corn, loved it and asked me to "please make this often Mom" finished off the little bit of leftover we had.... I haven't seen any pigs flying or h*ll freezing over so I guess he really did like it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Oh my goodness - we couldn't stop eating these! Love love love them. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Strawberry Cheesecake Bites

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Delicious! Half I made into Strawberry Santas, the other half I simply stuffed. The kiddos loved them, the men devoured them, the women raved. I didn't fine them time consuming to make at all and will definitely prepare again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a true 5 star recipe. It turned out fantastic. It didn't sink or crack. The flavor was great and it wasn't overly sweet. All of my guests loved it. I followed Estella93's cooking tips. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Waid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto with Arugula

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was my 1st attempt at making pesto and it turned out great. I only had dehydrated arugula and still got a nice peppery flavor. I subbed wasabi almonds for the pine nuts and added parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Just a little tweaking. About 2 1/2 lbs. ground beef, 1/2 onion shredded, 2 cloves garlic, 1 c. ritz crackers smashed with rolling pin, 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 1 egg, 1 c. milk, salt and pepper. Formed in 9X13. 3/4 c ketchup, 4 tbsp mustard, 6 tbsp bwn sugar. Baked for 1 hr 10 min. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Amazing Spinach Artichoke Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Amazing!!! I have to disagree with everyone who thinks there is too much spinach. It's a perfect, creamy consistency. I actually prefer a chopped yellow onion instead of the green, and I totally forgot to add the crispy onions at the end, but I honestly don't even think it needs the topping. My only concern is that half an hour of cooking didn't seem long enough. I ended up leaving it in for 1 hour, which I think might have been too much. Next time I make it, I think I will leave it in for about 45 minutes. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was delicious! I added carrots, celery, onion and some a few diced garlic cloves the second time I made it. I didn't have the instant rice so I used long grain wild rice and cooked it in chicken broth. Also added some Thyme. Great recipe by its self or alter it to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne

Gluten Free Spaghetti with Caramelized Red Onions and Whole Cherry Tomatoes, Pine Nuts and Pecorino Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe! It has a clean and fresh flavor that is highlighted by the yummy pine nuts! I made a half recipe, but next time I'll have to make the whole thing! Thanks, Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Amazing! My sister said this is the best sweet potato casserole she has ever had, and it was her favorite dish at Christmas. I followed the directions exactly. Since it was for Christmas, I used whole milk and regular buttermilk, which I normally don't do. It was delicious. This will by my go-to sweet potato dish from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States