Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Scalloped Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
used whole kernal corn(that's what i had- hubby approved-that means 5 stars to me!! freezes well too!! thanks Carla A. for passing along the recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. It was my first ever apple pie from scratch! It was FANTASTIC! I do suggest not making the liquid until you are totally ready to pour it over, otherwise it solidifies. DELISH! I will make this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. Everyone enjoyed. I added a slice of leftover bacon and thought it a distraction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have made this a few times and I love it!!! I use 1 can of diced tomatoes instead of plum. I also add some peas and some parmesan cheese. Def something I make at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Christine Astramecki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiny Pecan Tarts

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
While they were very tasty, this recipe did not work out well for me. There was so much filling (I believe it was due to the 4 eggs rather than two other recipes call for) that I made a half recipe of crust just to use it up...and that STILL didn't work out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband absolutely loves when I make this! Don't change a thing! It's been very popular for guests or just a meal for the two of us with leftovers! The sauce that results is divine! The tricky bit is rolling the chicken with the ham and cheese, but you'll get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe! Made this exactly as written and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eireann_nm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Why, oh, why has it taken me so long to try this dish? Stellar results. I'm never going to rush around mashing the potatoes at the last minute again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Dairy Free Funnel Cake!

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
this made me 3 funnel cakes! Tasted wonderful with lots of powder sugar............Going to do it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crafty Wolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Good basic dish...just what I was looking for. I used a two pound chuck roast; you will still need to use one cup of water if you want to make gravy (I didn't want gravy). The liquid was very oily but that's to be expected from this cut of meat. I cut two russets in half and placed atop the meat...they came out perfect for us: Not soaked through with 'juices' nor falling apart. Very tender and tastes just as you'd expect: Meat and vegetables :-) I used Wylers Mrs. Grass onion soup mix. To me Lipton is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Enhance That Jar of Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I love the principal here and that's to take any jar of pasta sauce and doctor it to something approximating homemade. I used Tomato sauce instead of paste,added Italian seasoning and a bit of brown sugar to counter the acidity. As per another website, I also added a pat of butter at the very end - it's supposed to smooth out the sauce and help eliminate acidity. To put this recipe to a real test, I bought the store's cheapest pasta sauce. The end result is really great. The benefit of going this route rather than the 'totally from scratch' route, is a shorter cooking time, and, really, a more reliable end product. I would use this for company any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bavarian Torte

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was actually disappointed with this dessert. I am picky about apple desserts, but these apples were just barely cooked at all and super crunchy - made a mess when we tried to cut into it. I will definitely use the crust recipe again, but the overall torte if I were to make it again I would sauté the apples in a pan first to almost done and then arrange them in the dish. I do appreciate that I doubled the cheese mixture and layered it with the apples a few times because otherwise it would have just been a large amount of undercooked apples. I also added more cinnamon than was called for which added a lot of flavor which would have been missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This really made for a less stressful T-Day! Made the stuffing early in the day and didn't have to worry about it. I was reluctant to add the two eggs, but, I added them and it was delicious! I will make these from now on. One suggestion only, be mindful of the cooking time. The outside got a little over cooked. Possibly the original 45 min on high too long?? Delicious anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I didn't have any powdered sugar in the house & stumbled upon this. The only change I made was to add a little peanut butter. Delicious, light, & gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Outstanding! I have always held the canned jellied sauce in such high regard until I tried this recipe. I'm hooked??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamayama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I took one reviewers advice and didn't make this the day before. Instead I made them ahead of the turkey, without the last minute rush, and was able to put them in the oven to re-heat while the turkey rested. They were absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe as is except added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon into the topping. I loved it (and I am not a huge sweet potato fan) and my husband had far more than he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Cooked for Thanksgiving yesterday and it is the best dressing I've ever made. Made the night before and smelled great, but the flavor was even better the next day. Will be on our list for future needs for sure. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

KISS: Keep it Simple (Brussels) Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh, I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving after looking at many "fancy" recipes. I'm so glad I went KISS! These looked gorgeous and tasted delicious. I will never, ever make brussel sprouts any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States