Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I was hoping this would be really good with how affordable it is to make with cabinet staples. However, I really had to stand over stove watching it. The cooking times are really off. I ended up with mushy lentils. It literally tastes like mashed beans, rice, and onions, or what I consider burrito filling and not traditionally what this dish is meant to be. Also, the onions and oil were not enough to give it flavor. I added a little garlic salt and that helped some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Used shells instead. Turned out perfect (shells could have been cooked a tad longer though)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Sweet Marie Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My family loves theses bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe! A little liquidy and a tad too sweet the first time (I ended up adding starch and still runny), but far and away still one of the better carrot recipes I've found. I'm not exactly sure if there's a fix or not considering it's pretty much just butter and sugar, so I'll probably just continue making them this way until I figure out a good tweak. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Sugar Cookie Glaze

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Fantastic for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Never Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Yum Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Janet

Coney Knish

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made these with Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausages and the Knishes turned out amazing! Very Good! I had a hard time getting pictures as they disappeared in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Raisin Tea Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is seriously the perfect tea biscuit! I am sitting down right now to a cup of tea and a biscuit fresh out of the oven. DELISH! I did run into one problem. I used lactose free milk and I don't know if that was the issue but I needed to add almost 3/4 cup more milk to the dough. I guess this changed the baking time because they needed an additional 9 minutes.They rose beautifully and I have 8 pretty large sized biscuits and 8 minis. I don't care for raisins so I used cranraisins. I will double the amount next time and maybe some time try chocolate chips. There will be a next time! Thanks Wfdm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

White Chocolate Cheesecake with White Chocolate Brandy Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for cheesecake! If I don't want the white chocolate, I just omit it. Same with the sauce. I also use Golden Oreos for the crust. Just zip them thru the food processor and press into the pan. No need for butter or anything because the fat in the centers bind it together if you just press it in. Amazing recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Isle, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BLOTCHE aka Widow maker

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Wow - now this is a sandwich! And, just as the submitter states it's a BLT on steroids! My husband loves anything with bacon so I had to make this for him and I'm glad I did. It's rich, meaty, and absolutely delicious. While it's not something you'd make everyday unless you're looking to clog your arteries it's nice to splurge once in a while. I added the bacon at the end and served this with a bunch of napkins... Thanks for a great recipe Hot Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Don't know if this was a typo but I layered it with a little sauce at the bottom of the dish then added eggplant, sauce layer, cheese and then repeated. I left the peel on and cooked a bit longer. Leaving the peel on is more nutritious but it can cause bitterness if the eggplant isn't as fresh as it could be. Just an fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Excellent. Made it 4 or five times over this Winter using what is called Shanghai Bok Choi in Toronto. Now experimenting by sautéing Portobello mushrooms, returning these to the pot near end, adding sliced water chestnuts for crunch, have added shrimp at last 4 minutes, very versatile recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doone
Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Catfish Fillets

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Delicious and simple though may be bland for some so either add some seasoning or serve it with something spicy like a home-made salsa, rice or veggie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It was raining so I couldn't grill. I baked them at 375 for about an hour (the pieces were very large so if you're using smaller pieces, bake for less time). I made extra marinade to pour over finished chicken. I used Dale's steak marinade rather than steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was simply amazing! So easy to make and incredibly DELISH. I did change just a couple things. I added 2 table spoons of pesto as well as exchanging 1/2 cup of Cheddar for Mozzarella. The spinach mixture before adding it to the pie crust was so delish, it could actually be used for a dip all by itself. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Creamsicle® Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The pineapple flavor dominates, didn't get much of a creamsicle flavor, but still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Wow! These are SOO GOOOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was good and really easy to make. It didn't turn out quite as thick as I would have hoped but will work fine for my needs. It's quite sweet - not in a bad way, I love sweet, but when I make lemon-something, I want a bit more tang. I could eat this as a sweet pudding by itself, but I made it to use as a layer in a ricotta-cream 'cake' with lady fingers, and would have liked more tang for this purposes. Still, it's good, no real complaints and I'd probably make again reducing the sugar a little, or upping the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Easter Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I am a few months shy of 50 years old and have been making ham this way since I was in 4-H at 10 years old. After scoring the ham, I stud the crosses with cloves. I have never used the grape juice though, I always used some wine in its place, any kind except sherry which has too distinct of a falvor. I had my first dinner party at age 18 and used Concord Grape Wine and it made the gravy lavender colored! I would think the grape juice would do the same. Any soda works here, root beer is good and any ginger ale or white soda as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Exactly like the pudding my mother use to make! I doubled the recipe and omitted the raisins because the hubby doesn't like them. I noticed that one reviewer mentioned there was too much egg. I though I was going to have that problem as well but I just let the bread rest and soak up the egg mixture for about 5 minutes. It came out perfect!!!! It was a hit with my family! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States