Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
A solid Asian marinade. Thighs won't dry out as much as breasts with this marinade. It burns easily so you'll either have to raise the grill away from the heat or supervise VERY closely. I cheated and used foil. Reduced the marinade by half and served as a sauce. A green salad with mandarin oranges, sliced almonds, and Asian dressing was a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Whole Grain Banana Muffins

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I have never eaten a whole grain banana muffin, so this was new to me. To be honest, it's not what I'm used to - sugar packed muffins. With that being said, I'm trying to get away from all the unnecessary sugar and I think this is a good starting place. It's not my norm, but will be my new norm! I did make a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used 1 & 1/4 cup whole wheat flour because I didn't have pastry flour. I subbed sour cream for the yogurt (so I used 3/4 cup sour cream total in the recipe). I used two 4oz cups of applesauce total - because I was short a banana. A whole egg and 2 ripe bananas. I did a few muffins without pecans & raisins, a few with pecans & raisins, a few with just pecans, and some with just a few chocolate chips. They were all great! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
We liked this, but it had to sit in the fridge for two days before the flavors melded together right. The second time I made it I added lemon juice and a little more salt. It was alright. I will continue to tweak it here and there until we find the right mix. But a great starter! My only complaint was that it seemed to gum up the blender and I had to stop and scrap a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Perfect as written. The only thing I did differently was add a pinch of salt to finish the sauce off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lnldad

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This recipe is a hit! I did, however, sub. the standard tortillas for the Old El Paso "stand n stuff" tortillas. There are eight to a package and, like a bowl, you just fill them up. This worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Mushrooms II

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I will use less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Loved it. Very quick and easy for a easy summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom

Creamy Pasta with Zucchini

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I added sliced mushrooms, red, orange and yellow pepper and sweet onion. The sauce was interesting, not my concept of an Alfredo sauce, but ok. There could have been more of it. I did omit the cheddar cheese, it just seemed out of place to me. All in all this made a good main dish for a meatless meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Honey Pork Oriental

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I didn't have green pepper and it would have helped but it still wouldn't have been something I want to make again. Sorry. If I were to make it again, I think I would use 1/2 of the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I have been making these refried beans every week since I tried the recipe the first time. I cook them on the stove to cook faster and 1 stick of butter to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lentils with Cheese

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I chose this recipe because we have started a new lifestyle change - cutting out highly processed foods and adding more highly nutritious foods to our diet. So I was looking for something new we'd never had. I did make some changes to this recipe. First I used homemade vegetable stock in place of the water and ended up using 3 cups total. I used a mixture of red & brown lentils because the recipe didn't specify. I omitted the marjoram & sage because I didn't have them. I used 1 tsp minced garlic from a jar and a mixture of red/green/yellow peppers because that's what I had. I sautéed the onion, carrots, celery, and green peppers for about 5 minutes in a little olive oil for added flavor. I also didn't read the directions thoroughly and ended up combining everything but the cheese in the pan. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350 and checked it, the liquid was gone (which is why I added another cup as stated above for a total of 3 cups) at this point I turned my oven up to 400 covered with foil and baked an additional 45-55 minutes, checking a few times for doneness. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, and oregano - to taste because it was too bland for my tastes. I did not bake it with the cheese it melted without putting it back in the oven. This isn't a dish I will cook every week, but it changes things up and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Coconut and Lime Grilled Kale

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
These are tasty, and would go great with a nice cold beer. To be honest, I couldn't really taste the coconut milk, but the spices and lime do come through nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Melissa Trenado

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
One of my family's favorite recipes! I've made this several times and always comes out delicious! This recipe is also great with chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Trenado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Like everyone else said- MASH THE BANANAS!!! Other than that, this worked out great. I used to make banana bread with yogurt instead of sour cream, but I didn't really taste the difference. For extra points, wait til the bananas get brown before trying this, and bake with a shallow pan of water in the oven, preferably on the rack directly below. I brought this to my class and everyone loved it- maybe the professor will give me extra points on the final exam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
WOW!!! Is this chicken good! Love the flavors that come together in this dish. Definitely need a large roasting pan for this one as the chicken and potatoes fill up the space. I added two sliced shallots and some baby carrots to the mix. I also sprinkled McCormick's Montreal Garlic Chicken Seasoning over top of the chicken and vegetables. Chicken skin came out nice and crispy. Will definitely be making this again! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Molyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecued Pork Kebabs

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
these are unbelievable and so easy !!! i used b. sugar instead of white and a red onion excellent recipe !!! delicious and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Chicken Veggie Stir Fry

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I was surprised to see so many low reviews for this recipe because my entire family really liked this one. To me it seems like people are expecting restaurant quality stir-fry, which just looking at the ingredients indicates that won't be the case. It's a great dish that you can load full of veggies, and switch out anything that your family doesn't like. The flavor was good (despite what people say), and was very filling with both the rice and noodles. Thank you for the recipe, ANNIEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
corn flour is Masa Harina, for this recipe I love peppers so I added fresh/diced jalepeno (no seeds, just ribs), fresh anaheim peppers and diced green and red bell peppers. Also, I think fresh garlic is much better, at least granulated garlic instead of the garlic powder. I make a LOT of this at once, because I make a LOT of mexican food at home, so I set the entire garlic clove in the oven (while I'm baking something else) for a few minutes and then chop it up and add it. I like to first use beef broth, not a lot, but a good concentration, almost boiling to first brown the beef, then add the veggies (sauted in a separate pan), afterwards and let the whole recipe simmer quite a bit while I'm doing other things. The flavors marry very nicely, and I agree about using the food processor(today's ground beef is not the quality of my Mom's and grandmother's). I have drained the beef, ground it and added it back to the broth and let the broth cook down with the veggies, but mostly it's for texture. (The kids are picky, but at work, it's not that big of deal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTexasGirl:)

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Del Rio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight French Toast I

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Just a few changes, took another writers idea to use 7 eggs. Added blackberries and raspberries along with the blueberries, about 3 cups total. I also used buttermilk because that's what I had.sprinkled cinnamon sugar liberally on top. Brunch perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scandinavia, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is what Sesame Chicken should be. If your wanting to change the servings to 2 ppl, do so. But leave the sauce measurements the same.. WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pntfla013

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States