Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black Bean Hummus

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Really great change-up from hummus, which is a staple at my house. Made it for a girl gathering and was quite a hit. I did not change anything but did not measure too carefully so may have had more cumin, garlic and cayenne, but was too delicious with veggies and multigrain chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Loved this, did add a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Apple Cider

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yum and so easy, i used gala apples and next time i will reduce the sugar. I also used more water alot more but it cooked down. About 15c of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Garam Masala

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very easy to make, but im not a fan of it. Seems abit like chinese five spice. Idk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Chef John's Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crazy Bread CopyKat

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Pretty good, not exactly crazy bread but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bacon Ranch Pulls

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this for two functions during Christmas last year one was for family and friends; the other was at work for clients and co-workers, IT WAS A RAVER at both! I am a health nut but use the best yummy stuff for Christmas, I am just careful for myself! My oldest son came over for supper, he dug in, and he LOVED it, and he says very little about anything I make. I searched for it for this year as well. I am making it for my works Christmas parties pot luck supper. NO WORRIES, IT WAS/IS PERFECT FOR GROUPS! I am making this as one, of a few of our favorite snacky hors d' oeuvre for family on Christmas Eve too. It is PERFECT,and WONDERFUL, and for all the raves, it is very EASY! Yes, I made it as is with butter ranch and all, I used aged shredded cheddar cheese and packed it into all the fingers with yummy cooked bacon. I followed all the ingredients, and cooking instructions perfectly, it turned out fabulously! MY BACON TIP, I cut the bacon into small peices while raw, (I have dedicated kitchen scissors), then cook the 1 to 2 inch squares. I don't have to handle hot bacon or deal with cutting it after, my time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie N Mark Hilton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I found this to be a decent recipe with a reasonable mix of flavors, even if it was a bit complicated to make with that long list of ingredients. There are, however, a few things I would do differently... (1) use far less Tabasco in the marinade, perhaps just a few drops. (It was too hot to taste the fish!) (2) Cut back the lime in the marinade, it was a bit overbearing. (3) The sour cream/adobo sauce definitely made the dish, but be aware that smoky adobo sauce can vary from medium to very hot so taste before you dump 1/2 cup of the stuff into your sour cream. Add enough to suit your personal taste. (4) I only marinated for 30 minutes. Fish absorbs flavors quickly and several hours would literally 'cook' the fish in the acid and we'd have ceviche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Potatoes and Peppers

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Followed it exactly. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
The soup was a big hit on a rainy day!! my husband and his friends loved it! i left out the homny bc our grocery store only caries the huge can. It was fine without it! Yumm!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YADI916

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cherry Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I LOVED these cookies! I so did not expect these to be like any biscotti I have tried with the maraschino cherries, which I presumed was used from the main picture. However, they were even better. They remind me of all sorts of Italian cookies I have tried. They are actually not excessively sweet like I thought they would be. I chose not to add the white chocolate. I thought they were perfectly sweet as is. However, I might do a few that way for a pic to post. My only changes were using just 1 teaspoon of almond extract and 1 teaspoon of water for the missing liquid. Almond extract can be very strong. It was just right in that amount to me. With the cherries I chopped them first and let them drain well on paper towel so that I didn't end up with pink biscotti. I liked the use of the mini chocolate chips. They are my preferred type to use. I also used salted butter and it did not say. I noticed though that the bake time is slightly off. On the first bake as loaves it took 31-32 minutes and then I cooled them completely to avoid breaking when slicing. After cutting, I had to bake them 19-20 minutes, flipped them, then an additional 4 minutes. I baked them each time on parchment and suggest that. I got 36 cookies total. I am going to add these to my recipe box for next Christmas. It is definitely a festive looking cookie. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Campbell's® Tuna Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Just like my mom use to make. I think I will change the topping next time though. The topping was not enough and I think a good topping would add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
We tried this recipe because it looked good and was highly rated. We were very disappointed. It seemed to lack enough soy sauce and brown sugar. The sesame oil was too strong. Also the sauce was far too oily to put over the salmon or the rice. We will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCarrizosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Arizona, USA

Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this for my husband, but instead of apples I used pears and it was super delicious! He loved it and so did the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cantu Mitchell

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Malabari Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Wasn't hard to cook, but the flavor wasn't quite there. Tasted like craemy chicken porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
After I made the soup I placed it in the crock pot for 5 hours to make the broccoli really tender. I did not add corn starch until about a half hour before we ate it. Reason being I didn't know I was out of corn starch, and had to run to the store and get some. It did not make a difference, it thickened up just great! Best Broccoli cheese recipe I have found. My picky husband said it was the best he has ever had. I added some ground pepper, it just felt strange not to put it in there, so I did. Besides that, I didn't adjust the recipe and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

Spicy Glazed Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious, easy, and so addictive. Perfect for a holiday party. I used 2 teaspoons more water, added a pinch of cinnamon, simmered the leaves from a sprig of fresh rosemary with the sugar and water, and baked the nuts 10 minutes longer. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholio

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used a mixture of Gruyere, Emmenthaler, and Raclette for the cheese and New Glarus Apple Ale for the beer. Mine was a smidge too bitter, but I might have simmered the beer a little too long while greeting guests. It was still tasty with bread, apples, pears, cauliflower, and pretty much everything we dipped in it. Thanks, ScandoGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato, Leek, and Mushroom Croquettes

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
http://www.myrecipes.com/quick-and-easy/dinner-tonight/how-to-make-potato-mushroom-leek-croquettes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Neater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States