Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have tons of tomatoes from my garden and needed a way to use them up. I was browsing for tomato recipes while drunk last night and accidentally wrote down 2 cups of tomatoes instead of 4. I just realized that now, after having made the recipe and coming back to review it. Anyway, despite me only putting in 2 cups of tomatoes, it is seriously good and really simple. I look forward to making this again, but with the correct proportions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I tried this today and it was pretty good! Normally, I make recipes on AllRecipes as is, but I did take the other reviews into consideration and came up with my own alterations. Here's what I did; 1. I used 3/4 cup of chopped onion instead of 1/2 cup 2. I minced 3 cloves of garlic 3. I substituted 1/4 cup water for 1 cup of low sodium beef broth 4. I added 2 oz of sour cream along with the 4 oz of cream cheese 5. Finally, I mixed 1 tablespoon of flour with 2 tablespoons of water to help thicken the sauce. I also found that 8 hours was too long and that my beef stew meat had cooked within 5 hours. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eboehnlein_629

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was really good...didn't deviate from the recipe. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommakay0831

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Loved this. Increased sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by nikki_kaldas

Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I added black pepper, garlic powder and onion powder as well. An additional 1/4 sour cream (I used 1/2 fat) and some extra shredded cheese. Corn flakes on top gave it an extra crunch! My husband said it was "better than cheesy potatoes!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_kaldas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Dijon Basa Swai Fish (or a fish of your choice)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was such a great recipe!! Great way to get kids to eat fish. Will try this again even with any other white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad)

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is kind of like what we serve at the German restaurant I work in. I don't like the addition of paprika, and we let our cucumbers cure for quite a bit longer than half an hour. I'll stick with our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very yummy and moist bread- trust me, you won't miss the oil in this bread! I had some pumpkin pie spice that I had mixed up on hand and used 1 1/2 tsp of that and it was perfectly spiced. My kids loved it, great after school treat, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Used chopped mushrooms, broccoli, zucchini, and summer squash with 1 1/2 jars pasta sauce, 48oz ricotta, and no bake noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made the recipe with the directions for the regular active yeast and added rosemary and garlic. Nice to work with. However, once baked (on a pizza stone), the texture felt more like breadsticks than the NY style pizza I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were great. We used grass feed 92/8 ratio, and used light brown sugar, everything else was the same. Made 6 small loaves. I saw people said their sauce was too sweet, I'm not a sweet lover and I thought this was fine, so if your not a sweet lover, use the light brown sugar like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Savoiardi I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
With the help of my Kitchenaid mixer, this recipe was super simple and easy, plus it makes fantastic ladyfingers! I only had to bake tme for about 10 minutes, one batch burned on the bottom, so keep an eye on that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made dip this for an office picnic potluck, with the suggested vegetables, and then used the leftover dip in a Curry Pasta Salad. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Broccoli Soup II

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Sorry, but searching recipes on this site, means cooking from scratch. Adding a can of pre-made cream of mushroom soup defeats that purpose. I may save this recipe to try, however, rather than add the can of soup, I'll add a cup of half and half cream to the equation and omit the 1/4 cup water based on the 8 cup measurement of stock. And for those of you looking for a thicker, creamier soup, start with about 1/3 cup melted butter, add 1/3 cup flour and mix until flour is completely dissolved (a roux), now you have a great base to add your other ingredients for a no-fail cream soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made this last night for my family we are all huge cabbage fans and it was awesome! For me it was one of those "why didn't think of this" moments lol. I made exactly as written except for doubled. I served a simple white minute rice on the side using beef broth instead of water. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leresis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made this tonight for my family and In-Laws, everyone raved about how delicious it was! I used center loin cut chops, which are a bit thinner than the butterfly chops. They were juicy and tender, none of that leather boot toughness I have had before pan frying chops. I served it with mashed potatoes, corn, and country gravy. This will be a go to meal for me. It's easy, fast, AND a southern comfort food. SCORE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leresis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braseltouille - Meatatarian Ratatouille

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is really great. Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Squash Puffs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very southern, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by StickySue

Honey Roasted Almonds

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
the only this I did different is use mix nut with out peanut. They are sweet and a little salty. Next batch I will be adding some spices. maybe some cocoa. just for giggles. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This wasn't my favourite salmon recipe but it was still good. Followed recipe to a tee with the exceptions of using green onions rather than regular. I'm sure that however you choose to cook the salmon will not impact the outcome. In other words, you could just bake it or broil it. There was a lot of left over sauce. A lot. Not sure what I will do with it. I can't imagine serving it on pasta as the submitter suggested, that just doesn't appeal to me. I served it with a variety of sauteed veggies. Thank you for sharing Good EatNZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States