Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Gluten-Free Rhubarb Bars

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
A sweet pudding like dessert. Goes nicely with some ice cream. The crust could be used on its own as a base for other desserts. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Tater Tot Taco Casserole

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is easy and hits the spot. I couldn't follow the recipe to a "T" I had to use ingredients I had on hand. Nevertheless, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Best I have ever made the key to making them right is letting the butter and eggs come to room temperature. I make them with the Tool House milk chocolate chips sine i grew up down the street from were they were first made . I also add cream of Tarter it make the cookie snap and look better and does not change the taste or color at all .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Callahan
Photo by Amanda

Easy Corn Salad - Great Side for BBQs

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I'm not really sure how to rate this one... half of our party really liked this but the other half didnt. I made this as is except used yellow onions instead of red. I felt like it was missing something though as a dressing/binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is a great recipe. I cut the tops off the pepper, instead of cutting it long-ways, because it stands up better after cooking. I also prefer red, orange or yellow peppers, but that's just personal preference. There is plenty of flavor in this and, if you want to make it dairy-free, just leave off the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love this recipe; it's absolutely perfect. Another review recommended simmering the tempeh brick in vegetable broth before crumbling it, which is a great idea. In the past, I have marinated the tempeh in pareve (vegetarian) chicken broth before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Five Stars. I read the reviews and also decided not to use the stems. I did saute a quarter cup of finely chopped onion with the garlic. Used a 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan which I suggest. Cored out the mushrooms a bit better than just popping out the stem with a strawberry corer, huller tool. I didn't have any leftover filling. Used 15 white button shrooms. 20 minutes was spot on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
These can come out a little dense if you don't let them rise enough, especially the second time. You shouldn't bake them until they have risen to the size that you want them to be when they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
They are perfect every time. I haven't bought biscuits since finding this recipe. I have 4 very picky kids and they all agree these are the best we've ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I just made these cookies and can't stop eating them! These are seriously delicious cookies, and like other cooks, I found the dough a little too soft to form balls, so I added an additional 1/4 cup of flour and they turned out soft and amazing. Next time I am going to add orange juice in place of water and 1/4 tsp. cardamom and make a double batch to see how well they freeze. I highly recommend this recipe exactly as it is if you have time to chill the dough before rolling them into balls - otherwise, just add a little extra flour and you are good to go! I made them for my husband's lunchbox treat, but at this point, I'm not sure they will make it that far! Thank you for this yummy contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
In the end, the top layer of pasta never fully cooked in the baking process, leaving a crunchy inedible cover over the rest of it. Under that, the cheese didn't come out creamy or particularly cheesy, so I wound up eating slightly undercooked pasta with bits of egg in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I liked this recipe a lot although I agree with those who remarked that 1 cup oil would be too much. I made it as written with the exception that I reduced the oil to between 1/2 and 3/4 cup. I like the kick that the jalapeno adds so much that I might do as another mentioned next time and make it two jalapenos. My hint would be to be sure and remove the pepper seeds and dice the peppers pretty finely. That way you get the good Tex/Mex kick but not an overly hot raw jalapeno bite. I also agree that it is a perfect fix early and refrigerate for later recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The flavor was wonderful-the family loved it. Although it didn't make the crust soggy, it just didn't set up as well as I would have liked. I think it depends on how juicy the strawberries are. I let the cornstarch mix boil for 10 minutes, so I'm sure it was thoroughly cooked. Next time, I will take that into account and add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by cmelia1

Oven Fried Chicken II

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made this exactly as listed with the exception of mild chili powder in the flour. Came out moist, crunchy and flavoursome. Staple for picnics and Friday nights with fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Waffles

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Ohh the texture was absolutely great. But do agree with another reviewer there was something missing. Next I make these I will add some vanilla extra. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Chickpea Salad Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
What a grand idea! This recipe resolves those "what to do with all these bits of veggies in the fridge" issues. It is also an ingenious solution to a quick and tasty lunch when you are tired of eating meat. I used 2 cups of homemade boiled chickpeas instead of canned. I made this on whole grain GF bread and served it also inside an avocado for a different angle and it was delicious with the creamy avocado. I added some hot peppers for a bit of punch and it went well with all the other ingredients. I don't have Italian dressing so I just used some Italian seasoning and some olive oil. It was light and refreshing. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Maple Syrup Custard Cups

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Delicious and velvety. I pre-boil the water before adding to the baking dish and custards are perfectly set at 35 min. Avoid using B or no.2 Grade maple syrup in this dish or the maple flavour will be overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Italian Chickpea Bread

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is just like I had in Portofino from the street side bakeries. "La farinata" as it is called in Italy is a fast and easy alternative to cornbread and wheat bread. This recipe is perfect leaving you with a flavourful, sponge-like focaccia to enjoy with salads, soup or on its own. The method is right on. I let it sit for 4 hours uncovered but was told by the submitter of this recipe it is best covered. Mine tasted just fine nonetheless. It cooks up quickly and takes only minutes to put together. It is also nice the next day reheated on the grill similar to polenta, crisping it to be used for appetisers and even as a base for gluten free pizza! Thank you sueb for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is a delicious recipe as it is presented, second time I used miracle whip, as did my aunt... was cheaper than mayo (at the time 1933) and no vanilla extract - expensive and hard to come by back then. Still delicious, albeit a different flavor, to be sure. Note: Do not use DUTCH-processed baking cocoa with this recipe! Not enough acid to offset the taste of the baking soda and creates a extremely heavy cake. The concept of this recipe (my opinion only, of course) is to re-create the taste, texture and flavor of a depression-era treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFWPaul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Followed to the letter and it turned out perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poissanb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States