Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by shaun schell

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Good quick and easy meatloaf. I cooked it in a meatloaf pan that catches the grease below. A lot less greasy. I put the brown sugar on top as well as the ketchup. I also mixed in one packet of meatloaf seasoning packet. Good texture and great flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaun schell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa

Mexican Pizza I

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickled Beets

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used demarara sugar instead of white sugar and red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. 10 lbs. of beets made 12 pint jars. I only used 1 Tbsp. of whole cloves because I prefer to keep the spices light. That way I can use the pickled beets in a variety of recipes without the cloves taking over. I had to make more brine to cover the last two jar's beets. I used 1/4 c. red wine vinegar, 2 Tbsp. demarara sugar, 2 Tbsp. water and 1/4 tsp. salt. With the modifications, the recipe tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This wasn't a hit with me or hubby. The kitchen had a nice spicey holiday-ish aroma while they were baking and I instantly thought how wonderful it would be around Christmas. My cookies did stay soft for awhile. I won't be making this again, just not my cup of tea. I never baked with molasses before and I was curious, now I know! lol However, if you like ginger snaps this is right up your alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Everyone loves these cookies. Frost them with American or italian buttercream and they are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie-bo-bamey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Peach Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very yummy! I used the refrigerated pie crusts and 1/4 c corn starch in lieu of tapioca. My peaches were really juicy, South Carolina peaches and local blueberries which I had frozen. I used a bit more fruit than called for and added 1/2 tbsp of apple pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Pie set well after cooling. Took to a friend's for dinner and it was a big hit, especially with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hammond-Beyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very yummy! I used the refrigerated pie crusts and 1/4 c corn starch in lieu of tapioca. My peaches were really juicy, South Carolina peaches and local blueberries which I had frozen. I used a bit more fruit than called for and added 1/2 tbsp of apple pie spice and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Pie set well after cooling. Took to a friend's for dinner and it was a big hit, especially with vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Hammond-Beyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Limeade

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My perfect blend is 3/4 cup lime juice, 1/2 cup sugar, 6 cups water. Kids are split on it, so obviously this version is not too sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn

Smoothie Breakfast Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I love muffins, and I had some frozen blueberries and cranberries to use up, so I decided to try this today. They are tasty, and we will eat them all, but we thought they were just OK. They had an unusual gummy texture, which I think was from using so much water and the cooked oats. Perhaps it was from using 2 eggs; most muffin recipes I make only use 1. Or maybe I didn't get enough water out of my frozen blueberries. We thought they needed something to give them some oomph, so I made a glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar, which really went well with it. Be aware that the recipe directions do not mention the eggs; I put them in after I put the smoothie mixture in the bowl. Also, I can understand why the recipe submitter may have called for making more smoothie than needed. I made a double batch, so I doubled all the ingedients except what went in the smoothie. I got just 2 cups of mixture--just what was needed for the double batch. I think the issue is cranberries and blueberries are round and different sizes; how they fit in your measuring cup will vary. I think Cheerios wanted to ensure that exactly 1 c of the mixture was used, becauce you could end up getting more or less than someone else. If I'd had any remaining, I would have just made a smoothie. Thank you for the interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Zucchini Provencal

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this as a side dish for dinner tonight, and both my husband and I thought it was really good. The only thing I would do differently next time is add another clove of garlic. I didn't peel the tomatoes either (as another reviewer said), and used an orange pepper instead of green. It turned out great. Nice to make something that's good for you and delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Can't Miss Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe has some flaws or possibly typos. I rated it a 3 because I was able to save it. Other than the cucumber I did 1/4 of all of the ingredients. The cucumbers were still heavily coated in yogurt. It was missing flavor. I added dry dill to taste, a splash of vinegar, and a spoon of mayo. The yogurt alone did not taste like a dressing. It worked great then. Luckily, I have made enough of these salads to rework the dressing after tasting the flavor as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Tasted great but took a bit longer to get a nice crust than is let on. And if you're dealing with real potatoes (not just frozen already prepped) you're going to deal with a longer prep time. I'd advise doing up the roué with the butter and flour first and then adding the rest to save time/flavor as well. I also melted a bit more cheese into it and then sprinkled some on top. Seriously, you can not have too much cheese with potatoes. Otherwise, this recipe is a great one to play with, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shotwench

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

P.J.'s Fresh Corn Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My sister and I made this for dinner tonight and we all loved it just as it is. We used Wishbone Robust Italian dressing which was perfect. Most of the salad came from our own gardens and the corn was from a local Farmer's Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAD6363
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Delight

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Everyone loved this trifle!!! I used good-ole Betty Crocker cake mix: 1 box, Hershey instant pudding: 2 boxes, frozen whipped cream, Copa De Oro coffee liqueur, I looked all over to find toffee bars... so I took the new Crunch bites: 1 1/2 bags(whole), and a bag of Werthers Original and crushed all the candies (powder or chucks, doesn't matter). The texture was perfect and the taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA

Citrus Herb Marinated Grilled Vegetables

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was recommended to me by someone on the BUZZ. I needed a recipe that would incorporate Chervil, and this did the trick. My family really enjoyed this very much. The recipe is simple and it was well written too. It seemed as though I could have done this with just peppers and my family would still have loved it. I liked the mushrooms, personally. Next time I might just do whole Portobello caps, and serve them on a bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
use half the amount of rice called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Three-Ingredient Baked Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Exotic ingredients. May need to travel to find them. What is this chicken they speak of? How is this published and so many creative recipes sit in Allrecipes "review"? Including two of mine. I'm insulted to see this published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious made my own Italian dressing and added a tsp sugar and it also was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
not very good. Will not make again. Bland and the black eyed peas overpowered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States