Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
BIG QUESTION! WHERE does one FIND 'boneless,skin-on chicken breasts'??? If it's a 'do-it-yourself' project, please provide instruction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This loaf was so good! I didn't have poultry seasoning so used just tarragon instead. I served it with salad and cranberry sauce, my man thought it was like thanksgiving in mid-april! Divine and a great low-cost everyday meal. Thanks for sharing!I bet ground turkey would also be awesome in this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Big Smokey Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Totally 5 stars on this burger! Nicely seasoned...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Kale Cranberry Pepita Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I really like this, but I think it should be stated to use FRESH OJ in this. I used bottled, and think fresh would have added the nice sweetness this needed for me... Good overall..will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Not bad, but not very exciting. Followed the recipe exactly and can't understand all the fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This bread ended up looking strange because the sides rose up like a box around the top, but the bread was very good tasting. I thought it might cook over the top of the 9x5 inch bread pan because it was almost to the top when I poured in the batter, and I did not use the optional nuts either. However, it did not. I ate those crispy edge corners off while it was still warm and the bread was delicious. I tried this recipe because it was different than most other recipes with using melted better and a cinnamon sugar sprinkled top. I can't wait to taste it when it cools completely. I think this recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana

Tempura Batter

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
5 stars with one note - using carbonated water (club soda) makes a huge difference. I did carrots, onions and shrimp - YUM! (PS - the batter is supposed to be light in color)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by kellybeth

Pork Tenderloin alla Napoli

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this for dinner this evening and loved it! I substituted chicken broth for the wine but left everything else the same. The cook time was spot on and I served it over pasta. Tasted like something on a restaurant menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Powdered Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just made these and, lo and behold, it IS the sugar cookie recipe that I lost several years ago and have been looking for the right one for awhile! Best of the best in texture and flavor!!! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara

Asparagus and Smoked Salmon Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and made it home with only one serving for my leftovers (out of a double recipe!). Great recipe and I'll be using it to trounce my brother-in-laws mac n cheese this weekend for Easter! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I substituted water for 1/4 C white wine, reduced, added 1/2 C heavy cream, reduced, added 1 tsp. fresh thyme chopped, then finished as written, mounted with the butter, pour sauce with mushrooms over chicken and serve. Was more flavorful than the original version (which I tried first with stock instead of water), and richer which suited my palate more. But pretty darn good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Fantastic---we've had this twice in the last week. Easy to make and absolutely delicious. I add chopped parsley towards the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly

Spicy Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a nice little pasta dish. I used fusilli pasta, as that is what I had on hand. Also, omitted the olives, due to personal taste. The feta cheese adds a nice bit of saltiness to the recipe without making it too salty. Will be a nice summer salad as it contains no mayonnaise. This recipe has been "faceless" since April 2001, glad I could add a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
A pretty good and quick dinner recipe. Like everyone else has said, the dill sauce makes the dish. Cool, creamy and very tasty. I used a cheaper Cajun spice and it seemed to be comprised of mainly salt. Good thing I didn't add any extra salt or pepper, just the Cajun spice. It would have been too salty to eat! In the future, I think I will mix up my own Cajun spice with a myriad of spices such as, garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper, paprika, etc. I had to bake the tilapia a few more minutes than stated on the recipe, but that was no problem. The ingredients for the dill sauce make quite a bit...I plan to use the rest as a spread on our lunch sandwiches tomorrow morning. One reviewer said she makes the dill sauce as a dip for veggies...a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
this was amazing!!! Super easy and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I used chicken drumsticks for this and marinated them for about 11 hours. I didn't have any chipotle powder so subbed paprika instead. We liked this recipe very much. Slightly too sweet; I might cut back on the brown sugar a little next time but we will definitely have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great starter recipe. For our tastes it needed much more seasoning like chili powder, oregano and paprika for a true Mexican flare. Let's face it, Texans also like meat in their pintos so I added 3 fat slices of peppered bacon. I started the beans in my crockpot on high for 4 hours, the beans still weren't done. So, I boiled them in my dutch oven for an hour until tender, adding water as I went. I served them in a bowl topped with fresh onion, cilantro, jalapeno and crumbled spicy, chipotle cheese. My husband smoked a pork loin so we ate the beans charro style with street style, pork tacos! Delish! I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Wasabi Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My fiance made these to the recipe, and we tasted them and decided they needed much more of a "punch". Wound up adding about another teaspoon of wasabi powder before they had any proper zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States