Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Butter Crescents

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Very straightforward and easy recipe. My 14-year old daughter made these twice. Everyone enjoys them. She found better results when beushing with milk instead of egg. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Ladies and gentlemen get your cold glasses of milk ready! Super easy and super delicious. This whips up-even by hand- in no time. I even used 3/4 cup of sugar and they were awesome. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
It was amazing ... till the nausea kicked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Dutch Babies

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Delicious and enjoyed by all. I used a cast iron skillet and it had a beautiful crust and yet was so soft inside. *side note: I melted the butter in the skillet in the oven while it was preheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Wow, I thought this was only my family's secret recipe. Oh wait aren't you my cousin? Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Pork Chile Verde

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This pork chile verde recipe is absolutely delicious! I am familiar with the dish, but I was concerned with the jalapenos peppers this recipe calls for making it too spicy. No worries needed, this had just enough "kick". I do recommend wearing disposable cooking gloves when you clean the jalapeno peppers to protect yourself from any accidental encounters with their lingering burn! Their aroma alone made it a bit uncomfortable to breath while cleaning and chopping them, but oh my, they were worth it! I thought the size of the cut vegetable in the end product might be too big, but they were perfect! I could not find the Swanson Mexican Tortilla broth anywhere, so I just used regular Swanson Chicken broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Love it! Have made it 3 times. I also add pepper and cubed cheddar. Large recipe, so I usually half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Ouellette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Costa del Sol Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Made this for recipe group. This is a very very good BBQ sauce, and easy to make. I loved the combination of flavors. I had to make 2 substitutions based on what I had on hand. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and I'm sure if I'd had the proper ingredients I'd still have rated it 5 stars. I used yellow/brown onion instead of red, and red pepper flakes instead of the chili pepper. I used 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and it had a nice amount of heat without overwhelming the other flavors. My family could have had it a lot hotter, but I wasn't looking for a fiery BBQ sauce this time. I used it instead of Buffalo sauce on some baked wings. We all liked it, and I'm sure I'll make it again. It makes a nice thick sauce that would be good for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb&Art

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Very easy and delicious. I used the suggestion in the comments to let the balls chill before dipping them. I ended up figuring out my own way to dip the balls into the chocolate. You will find that while dipping them you figure out which way works best for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb&Art

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LA Homespun

Chocolate Oatmeal Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I am giving this 4 out of 5 because it tastses so good, BUT there are some issues with this recipe as it is written. First, you HAVE to use a 9x13" pan...9X9 will not cut it! Second, TOO MUCH butter! I used two sticks or 1 cup and I'll cut that back more the next time I make this recipe. I used my fingers and pieced the remaining oatmeal topping all over the top exposing the chocolate here and there. Third, I used almond milk and not evaporated. Fourth, as the recipe is listed, the chocolate mixture is too wet! I had to add the remaining 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips to thicken it up and it set up perfectly as the bars cooled. It tasted more like a semisweet chocolate pudding on top. YUM. Fifth, like one reviewer stated, I baked the cookie dough for ten minutes, took it out and poured the chocolate chip mixture all over and topped the remaining dough all over the top here and there; then baked for about 20 minutes. After all my changes, it is super yummy and I will make this again for sure! I even added a photo showing how my topping looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

Grilled Marinated Swordfish

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
My second time with this dish, and it was even better than the first. The trick seems to be not to overcook it, so the pertinent variable is how thick the steaks are and you go from there as far as the cooking time. Since it is on the grill, you can watch it and tell when it is done on one side. Not every steak is going to require 5-6 minutes per side. Also, if it doesn't turn out the way you thought it would, try it again. Practice makes perfect, and Chefs become one with their creations. I don't think I'll even need to consult the recipe next time. I feel like I really have it down now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This came out great. Made it in a bundt pans as my husband loves cake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stovetop Granola

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Loved this as written! I did halve the oil and added a bit of cinnamon to the mix, but otherwise followed the recipe. I stirred in the almonds during cooking, and didn't add the dried fruit as I find it too sugary. Really good flavor, and hubby liked it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Loved this, and surprisingly the kids did too! I added shredded carrots in with the chicken mixture and sliced up some radishes to top with. I didn't have the basil, but I think the cilantro on it's own was fine. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Made this for my teenage nephew and son, they devoured all of it with iceberg lettuce wraps. I did not have the chestnuts or mushroom caps, but either way it was very good. Small suggestion: decrease the ginger its a bit overpowering and decrease the brown sugar to half. Also I found it easier to cook all of step #1 prior to mixing it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cantu Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spicy Shrimp Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
These are yummy! I overcooked mine a bit but that was my fault. Also I only marinaded about 20 minutes, because I was worried the citrus would start to cook the shrimp. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Really enjoyed this. Made it as written, which I like to do the first time to evaluate the recipe on its own. I thought the flavors were good as is. Easy recipe with ingredients I have on hand, love that. Hubby liked it too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Comfort Food

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Best Mexican comfort food. I serves this over rice. My father, granddaughter and I just about licked our plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Yoly

The Best Lemon Lime Avocado Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I cut the recipe in half and made 6 mini pies. I could taste the avocado or could it be because I knew it was there? It is creamy but I don't think it is cheesecake-like. There is a hint of lime but it does not taste like a key lime pie. It was fun to experiment with this but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA

Maui Wowie Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Made for the first time tonight. Loved it. Followed recipe exactly except for the cayenne pepper. didn't have any so I use McCcormick southwest seasoning. I mixed everything into the mayo all at once and marinated the shrimp 1 1/2 hrs. brought to room temp. then placed on gas grill set on med. cooked ABOUT 3 1/2 min. per side. I fix shrimp at least once a week so will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary DeMeyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States