Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Delish! First couple came out funny looking and too thick, but by the third crepe I was a pro. I forgot to add the melted butter (oops), and I added a tiny bit of cinnamon and vanilla based on some recommendations, and I would definitely do that again. They smell so good. I used my nutribullet to blend the ingredients and make it easy to pour. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDLESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Just too bland - not enough flavor to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Italian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We really liked this quick and easy pasta salad. I had to improvise by using shredded mozzarella and only used the dressing, not the dry mix and it was still fantastic! Thanks for sharing, Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Barbeque Beef Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Easy, quick and yummy. Like other reviewers, I only used about 1.5 boxes of corn bread mix. Added chipotle seasoning for a little kick. Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I forgot to thaw the hash browns ahead of time so I put 3/4 of a two lb. bag of potatoes in a colander and ran some luke warm water over them for maybe a minute and then sat them in the sink to drain well. I added seasoning to our taste to the potatoes and I didn't have red peppers on hand so I opened up a small can of green chiles and spooned it on top of the egg mixture before I placed the sausage in the cups. The green chiles really added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Oatmeal II

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Been making this for years! My kids and I love it! Serving with warm milk is a must! We like it with fresh cranberries or raisins as well, and use just 1/2 cup brown sugar. We also bake it for 25-30 min, or until edges are brown and top is golden. I would say this serves about 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
When I was making this I wondered why I was going to all this work. After one bite, I had my answer. It was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Carrot Cake Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Whoa, this is a little strange. It was kind of more like carrot cake batter than carrot cake. The spices even turn it that dark batter color. I really liked though how healthy it is with the cinnamon, ginger, carrots, and fruit. I only had frozen fruit, so I had to use an additional 1/2 cup non dairy milk. I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Prune Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The measurements are off. Most of the liquid evaporates after simmering for 20 minutes. It filled 1/4 of the blender only and it tasted like a prune shake. I added another cup of water, 2 tsp of sugar and only 1 tsp of flour to save it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Crescent Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Quick, easy and tasty. If you want it less greasy, use the reduced-fat crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfbeaner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was disappointing; I marinated overnight it was about 4lbs of pork roast; it cooked in the oven and was still hard after over an hour, so I put it in a pot of chicken stock for another hour and a half; it was relatively bland and was hard in spots. will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pie Crust | Simply Recipes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The first pie crust recipe on this link is the one I tried and it is fantastic and super easy! Don't forget to freeze the butter...that is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Baked Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I think this would have an inordinate amount of calories, not sure of the nutritional value at the end of the day. I prefer to cook the ham and serve pineapple on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookInterest

Heavenly Halibut

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this for dinner last night from some Halibut that was given to us. OMG! My husband and I thought this was restaurant quality and want to try this on other seafood = maybe shrimp. You need something with some substance because the mix is a bit rich, but it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is it. This is the chocolate cake I have been searching for. It was a nice change from the cake recipes that call for butter. This Black Forest cake is moist, sticky, and sponge-like. Definitely in a good way. I don't have two 8 inch cake pans so I used two 9 inch pans and it still baked well at 30 minutes. I love how chocolatey it is. And kudos for the coffee, what a great idea. I am obviously going to make this cake again and it's going to be fun playing around with different frostings, creams, and/or pie fillings. To me, it's a versatile chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Quinoa, Beet, and Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Apricot Chicken with Balsamic Vinegar

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
It was excellent. The only thing I did was add some garlic when cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Haroset for Passover

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was our first experience with haroset, and we really (really) enjoyed it for our seder dinner. It was simple and affordable, and the results were delicious! Of course, we made changes, because that's what humans do. We used grape juice instead of wine, and we left the nuts out. Some of us added raisins to ours, but not everyone did. The only change I would make next time is to leave out the sugar--it's sweet enough as it is. Thanks for a terrific recipe for our seder dinner! We'll be making this more often just for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagx8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fjc555

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Moist and delicious! Bumped cocoa powder up to 1 full cup per some previous reviews and baked in 9 X 13 pan, other than that made exactly as recipe states. Frosted with a chocolate buttercream and it made the perfect 80th birthday cake for my mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fjc555

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fjc555

Simple and Delicious Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Doubled the recipe, added 3/4 cup of cocoa and 2 tsp of instant coffee dissolved in a little hot water for a chocolate buttercream. Was a delicious, decadent frosting for my mother's 80th birthday cake. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fjc555

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States