Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Thankfully I had flavorful sides because this was beyond bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Seasoned as directed, except used 2t of dried rosemary. Baked at 400 for 30 minutes, then reduced heat and cooked at 315 for 2 hours (we don't do rare meat). Super tender, juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Easy and delicious! Didnt change a thing and they were gone in faster than 90 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seylette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gazpacho

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Mc

Thick Spaghetti with Marinara Sauce, Arugula and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great meal. Very easy to make during the week when time is rushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Diana Mc

Mezzi Rigatoni with Chicken Thighs, Rosemary, Lemon Zest and Roasted Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I thought this was a really easy and delicious meal. I liked how the lemon zest brightened up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Mixed Nuts Pesto and Orange Peel

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This nut pesto was just interesting enough that I had to try it and boy am I glad I did. I just love the refreshing flavors of this sauce! I make basil pesto all the time and it's a very strong sauce. This pesto is more delicate summer version. The orange is very mild in this, but adds a touch of sweetness to the nuts. I upped the garlic as always, but that's personal taste. If you're a salt lover like me, you'll want to toss some of that in too. Thank you, Barilla, for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Justin's Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I just made this and substituted salad dressing for mayo, left out vinegar and milk but added sweet pickle relish to give it a sweet taste. Turned out very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auctionjunky1953

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Vegetable Sandwich Spread

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I thought this was a great idea to use up some of my zucchini. You must press as much water as possible out of the zucchini if you don't want it to be watery, especially after it sits in the fridge awhile. I made half a batch, and after tasting, I added 3 green onions and a few drops of worcestershire sauce. I would probably add a few less carrots next time, as the whole spread turned orange. I spread it on a wrap and added turkey slices for lunch yesterday. And today I ate it with crackers. It was good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Tomato Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great, healthy and tasty recipe! I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Made this today and LOVED it! I used hierloom red popcorn kernels which pop WHITE. They popped perfectly using this method and I hardly had any unpopped kernels. I used: 1/3 cup of the red corn kernels, 1/2 tsp of vegetable oil, put in regular brown paper lunch bag, and I popped them in an 1100 wt microwave for approximately 1 minute and 40 seconds. This was so easy, and so delicious, that I don't know if I will ever go back to brand-name pre-packaged microwave popping corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebOh68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This makes a good bowl of chili. Great on a chilly day with the family. The only things I can add to this is not to cook it too long or the meat will turn mushy. A one hour simmer is just right. The onions and peppers need to be sautéed. I did think it needed something else so I added 3 tablespoons of teriyaki sauce. Now its just right. You should be proud MIGHTYPURDUE22
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Warm and Creamy Bacon Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is so addictive! I made this for a party and everyone gobbled it up. The flavors blend perfectly together. I did use real bacon, not bacon bits. Next time I will do as other reviewers suggested and add more bacon and/or sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Bean Chimichangas

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These were good...nice & crispy. I will definitely make again, but would like to try with shredded chicken next time. I'll maybe use enchilada sauce too, just to compare and contrast with taco sauce. Would have actually given them more like a 4.5 stars just because I felt like it was missing something, but can't quite put my finger on it. So, hopefully using chicken will next time will make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels

Spaghetti with Broccoli Florets and Traditional Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My sons were starving after swimming all afternoon, so I made this for a quick late-afternoon lunch. At first my seven & nine year olds weren't crazy about the fact that there was broccoli in their spaghetti, but once they tasted it they finished everything on their plates. This is so easy to make and we were all pleasantly surprised by how much we lived the combo. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was in a hurry when I made this cake and didn't follow the egg white/egg yolk directions as written (I beat the yolks into the whites). But it turned out OK in the end. I baked it in a 10" nonstick pan and didn't have a problem with dripping in the oven. Also, it came out of the pan beautifully. It was a bit juicy on top when done, but we just ran it through the broiler for a few minutes and it was DEVOURED by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tried this as written....Outstanding! This is a very, very, good dish. You could change it fifty different ways, but why???? It's great as written. The cumin makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Picadillo (Cuban Beef Hash)

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Although this recipe is authentically Puerto Rican, the recipe is similar with some missing key ingredients. When adding key ingredients, I suggest adding these Goya© products(found in hispanic section of grocery store) that never are missing in my cupboard: Goya© Adobo con Pimienta(pepper), Goya© Recao, Goya© Sazón (Con Achiote y Culantro). And to add even more flavor, a cupful of diced thin Cilantro when cooking beef. After meat is no longer pink and Cilantro is almost disolved into meat, then strain eccess fat & return to heat & add 2 envelopes of Sazón, 2 Tbsp of Recao & rest of ingredients mentioned in recipe(Note: if you find Goya© Adobo with pepper, no need to add additional pepper). I usually let it simmer about 45mins, then add small, peeled pieces of white potato and let that cook while covered over low-medium heat for another 1/2 hour. When potatoes are soft, but not too soft, I remove from heat & serve with a side of white rice and yellow, fried plantains. Note: In Puerto Rico we do not add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I think the dough for these wonderful cookies would be very difficult to make without a stand mixer, or a good strong will and some major elbow grease. Almost all of the negative reviews complain that the dough is too dry or there is too much flour, however the large quantity of flour is essential to get a dense, soft cookie like the Lofthouse cookies at the store. You have to really work it to get all the dry ingredients incorporated (hence the importance of a stand mixer). The dough is very stiff. Before you stick it the fridge to chill, work it into a single ball/mass. Note: your cookies will turn out and taste fine if you substitute butter for the margarine or shortening, but the butter will cause them to be crisper. All things considered,this is hands-down the best, simplest, and easiest to manipulate cutout cookie recipe I have ever tried, and I have tried a lot. I used half butter and half shortening and chilled the dough overnight. I rolled them out directly onto parchment paper so I didn't have to add much additional flour at all, and I baked them in a convection oven for 7 minutes exactly. Beautiful, dense, soft, pale, sugar cookie perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Biscotti

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Loved this recipe! Delicious and easy to make. The dough was a bit sticky but used a rubber scraper helped. Will definately make again, and no more store bought Biscotti. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States