Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was pretty good. The flavor of the apples was nice and the applesauce added a very nice boost of flavor. I wasn't a big fan of the topping. Wasn't really very crisp. Wasn't bad just wasn't what I think of when I think apple crisp. I would definitely use butter in place of the evaporated milk if I was going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Sweet Potato Pie I

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I followed other reviewers suggestions and added lemon juice, a tlb. of flour and doubled the spices. It in super duper good, my only sweet potato pie recipe now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've never tried a real cabbage roll, so I can't compare this to them...but on it's own, this is a very good recipe. I really enjoyed it, and my husband and son (who have both tried but never got that excited about cabbage rolls) said they enjoyed this more. The only change I made was to use the flavoured cans of diced tomatoes...I had olive oil-basil-garlic flavour on hand. Simple recipe for a pretty quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cookies IV

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Yum! Just got done making these! Turned out amazing and my family loved them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Pot Pie II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Came out GREAT! Next time I'll leave out the milk or add less of it so the inside is not quite so watery, but I'm sure it'll set up a bit after it's been refrigerated. Love it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This one is definitely in our go-to dinner rotation now! My husband and teenage son both adored it. Even I liked it, and I'm not a sloppy joe fan. I made minimal changes. We prefer ground turkey over beef so I used that, and instead of garlic powder I tossed in a spoonful of minced garlic. Very tasty, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Seen this on Facebook thought I would give it an easy try It did just taste like a chocolate bar I added some nuts on one side but again just tasted like the chocolate out of the bag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Homemade Spinach Pizza Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I loved the use of reynolds wrap but just didn't like the sauce, I think I will try it again with extra cheese instead, the family didn't love it but thought they would try again without the sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very tasty. I was out of Cayene Pepper so I substituted masala seasoning and a small amount of crushed chili peppers and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Flank Steak Fajitas

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very easy to prepare with a quick cleanup! I love Reynolds wrap and I had never thought of cooking fajita meat this way! What a great idea, the flavors melded together and made for a delicious meal that even the kids loved! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Crispy Chipotle Roasted Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love these potatoes, I got something similar at a restaurant and have been making these nonstop, the awesome flavor of the Mazola corn oil as opposed to olive and the spice was perfect! I put the potatoes on a cookie sheet with water and cover with foil to steam them at 450 for 30 minutes instead of boiling. Will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Garlic Shrimp Scampi with Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Not very good and instructions don't allow the alcohol to cook off. Shrimp came out chewy(wasn't precooked) and the sauce was bland. I never ever wanted to write a bad review, however this time I felt the multiple reviews calling this restaurant quality are deceptive. There are much better scampi recipes on this site. My curiousity got the better of me, but I love trying other recipes even if I got a good handle on one. Pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Followed exactly minus the peas. I thought it was okay. My teenage boys didn't care for it at all. Could have used more tuna and maybe some extra soup and milk for a creamier casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pecan Pie II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My family and friends love it! It's easy to make. I like that it makes two pies at a time, especially around the holidays! I don't mix the chocolate chips in the filling, I poor them into the crust and make a even layer, then add the filling. Also you have to cover them at some point or the crust will burn. Thanks for a great recipe Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tickfaw, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great chili! Used grounded top round and it's worth it for the tenderness. Not too spicy, just enough to feel it. Next time I'll make it a little more spicy but following the recipe it turns out just right so everyone can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Walnut-Tarragon Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Good, but needs a little something, so I made a milk gravy from the frying oil and the little bit of flour mixture that was left. Y'all. Do that. Seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Katsu

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe! The crust is really crunchy and the chicken really tender. Next time I will marinade the chicken a little more to add some more taste. KFC just got themselves some competition...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Delight Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These were really good! My husband is a big fan of blueberries and these will be great for him to grab on the way out the door in the morning. They bake up nicely and came outof the pan perfectly. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Scalloped Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've actually made this twice, I'll be making it again Thursday. It's a must for the holidays!! Everyone has absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Delightful. The chicken was super juicy and shredded easily, the biscuits definitely need about 90 minutes in the end. But we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Haskins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States