Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty as is, but If you have the time and a smoker this can be amazing! First, salt with kosher salt and leave in the fridge overnight. Next, coat meat with olive oil and rub with dry ingredients, minus black pepper. Also, I like chipotle way better than cayenne. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Preheat smoker to 165-180 degrees and place cold meat straight from the fridge over active smoke (for this I like roughly 50% Hickory, 40% cherry and 10% mesquite). Smoke until internal temp reaches 100-105 degrees, then place the meat on the grill over a bed of hot coals. Sear but try not to burn the meat too much. Grill to 130 degrees internal then remove from the grill and hit all sides with a little fresh cracked black pepper, tent with foil and let stand for about 5 minutes or so. Slice 1/4 inch thick cross grain and serve with Chef John's sauce. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristen203

Turkey Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I used onion, green beams, corn, and carrots. I've never had Shepard's pie or made it before.. But I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Southwestern Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
It was an okay dinner, but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cream Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
It's a nice basic recipe and easy to make. I think adding more chocolate or using a higher cocoa content chocolate is definitely necessary. I only had a 34% cocoa milk chocolate on hand, albeit a high quality one, so I used 1.5 times as much as the recipe stated and halved the sugar due to me using milk chocolate anyway. It was still a bit mild on the chocolate flavor. Also I cooked this by tempering the eggs with a bit of the milk mixture, before returning the whole mixture to the pan and stirring for a couple more minutes. Not sure how you can buy a square of unsweetened chocolate- either it's semisweet or bittersweet, but unless it's cocoa powder, all chocolate has sugar added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Made this tonight. Followed the recipe to the T. It was amazing. I tripled the recipe by 3x for my family of 8. It was wiped out!!!! Cheap, Easy and O So Good! asked every kid if it was a keeper and they all said YES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asia S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Stuffed Brie

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
As someone whose idea of a great meal out is just appetizers and desserts, I can say that this is one appetizer that is WELL worth the calories! The orchestration of carmelized onions, mushrooms, and dates is symphonic! That unexpected bit of sweetness just catapults this into the stratosphere. As for the art of heating it until melty, but still in a recognizable form, try using a low power. I started with 2 minutes at 20%, and added increments of 1 minute at that same power until it barely started to melt, which amounted to about 5 minutes total. I served it at my book club tonight, and all the ladies loved it! Of course, crackers always work, but try grapes and apple slices as alternative accompaniments. Simple to put together in about 15 minutes, delicious, and sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
These were so good!!! Such a great way to spice up a sandwich. I may double the sauce next time and dip the entire sandwich in it (french toast style), and bake them that way. The flavor of the sauce is so good and I feel you'll get a lot more doing it that way rather than just pouring it on top. I will also be trying different meats and cheeses with this. So fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brinker1982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Sacco

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
More vanilla, more cinnamon, and half amount sugar . Super amazing cake :-) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sacco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Lime Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Modified this based off lutzflcat's review. I scaled the recipe to half. Used only lime juice- no orange so I doubled it. Lime zest. No herbs de Provence so I subbed mrs dash herb and garlic. Shook it in a ball jar and it was darn tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Chinese Chicken Salad III

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was so good. I had an issue with the wontons burning in the allotted time. I only needed to keep the next batch in for 7 minutes. I also dressed the lettuce with a lime vinaigrette. The brown sauce is pretty thick and isn't quite a dressing. It's super tasty but not a dressing. I pan fried the chicken in peanut oil with salt and pepper. I subbed radish for he carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Hot and Sour Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was a winner!! I loved it. I had to use cider vinegar and it tasted great. Next time I'll add even more heat. yay!' Thank you for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Molly

Buffalo Chicken Sausage and Pepper Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Loved this sandwich! We grilled the sausages and added the sauce to the sandwich rather than mixing it in, as I knew we would have leftovers. The flavor combination of this sandwich is spot on. They just all blend really well together. I served this with 'Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes' from AR, and we enjoyed a very delicious meal. Thanks Joey Joan for your creation, and for sharing it with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Indian Tandoori Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
this was beyond absolutely amazing.. i used legs and thighs and marinated for close to 24 hours.. unfortunately it started raining when we were planning on grilling so we had to bake it in the oven.. i can't wait to try this on the grill.. i was worried about adding the whole teaspoon of cayenne but it wasn't hot.. i don't carry food coloring in the house so i left that out.. i was more concerned about how it tasted rather than how it looked.. we used a roasting rack in the oven.. ty so much for the recipe.. i can't wait to have it grilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly

Blue Cheese Fried Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
A delicious recipe to use up leftover baked potatoes. Because my potatoes were prebaked, my dish was ready in the stated time frame. My DH is not a fan of bleu cheese, so I made a part of the pan with bleu cheese and the rest of the pan with feta cheese. That simple change could be made with any type of cheese. I served these with 'Buffalo Chicken Sausage and Pepper Sandwich', another AR recipe. We both enjoyed our dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This will be tops when readied with Sous Vide hot water oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar-Free and Dairy-Free Slow Cooker Steel-Cut Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Really like the way the bananas added flavor to the water and I added honey to taste. When putting into 1 pint jars I would fill 1/2 and add a layer of fruit (bananas, blueberries, pear, raspberries)then another layer of oatmeal and top with more fruit. Sent it through my office microwave for 1:45 and enjoyed a tasty breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Stacey Wood

Doggie Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
My dogs loved this cake! ! I didn't use the honey but instead agave nectar and then made frosting from extra peanut butter and nectar. ... also I used bees knees peanut butter with honey added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Wood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Billy Boy's Butter Tart Slice

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
When you cannot be bothered to fill tart shells, this is a NICE alternative to at traditional butter tart, top with whipped cream or ice cream for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've fixed this salsa for years except I use sweet red onion. It also goes well with pork tenderloin, or any pork dish, in place of applesauce. The longer it sits in the fridge, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutey delicious! Used canned tomatoes, less cayenne and two mild jalapeños from the garden. Seasoned and browned the chicken and threw it in the slow cooker. Sautéed the onion, etc. And mixed it with tomatoes and coconut milk and poured it all on top of the chicken. Cooked on low 8 hours. Fantastic flavor! Thank you, MLYIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States