Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was beautiful AND delicious. I placed raspberries in the center and a few around the cake; then dusted with confectioner's sugar. It was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aebleskiver

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
For the first time aebleskiver maker: There are pans made out of other materials, too, but they are more difficult to maintain a consistent temperature. Cast iron is best. In the Midwest, aebleskiver pans can be found in hardware stores. I double the recipe and use two aebleskiver pans to make more of them in a short time for a family of 6. I also have a silicone handle cover available to use over the cast iron pan handles as needed. I set my stove burner between 4 and 5 and give it plenty of time to get to an even heat. You don't want to add the oil (or solid Crisco, which is what I prefer to use; it's quicker & easier than pouring) until the pan is already hot. Be prepared to put your aebleskiver batter into the pan very shortly after that. I think that a gas stove works best, but I place a wire or steel unit 'platform' over the flame just to help stabilize the aebleskiver pan securely over the gas flame. I use a long metal skewer to turn the aebleskiver. To turn, you put the skewer right through the aebleskiver and flip it over. I would not use 1 T. of oil for each pan. For the first pan, maybe, but after that, maybe more like a teaspoon of the solid Crisco. Put the batter into the pan starting in the same hole each time, and ending with the middle because that one will cook a little faster than the ones around the outside of the pan. I dust each platter of them with powdered sugar. Serve with applesauce too. A Christmas morning tradition for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Instead of the bell pepper, I put in chopped mild green chilies. Went well with the black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Loved it just the way it's written. Pared it down to 10 servings. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Tina

Sexy Fish Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
When I saw the title for this recipe I knew I had to try it. My husband I both love fish and so I made it last night. I thought it was very good. But the fennel and tarragon were a little overpowering/sophisticated for my palate. My husband on the other hand is IN LOVE with this Stew! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbarella's German Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really easy. Fun to serve with a couple kinds of berries, some whipped cream, chopped pecans and maybe drizzling a little chocolate or good quality espresso balsamic across the top of the rolled pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Baby

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Amazingly easy and makes the cook look like she's handy in the kitchen. Fun to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Kale Smoothie

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very quick, convenient and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Pugliese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Winner every time, as is. No changes needed! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sticky Sue's Sour Dough Orange Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This turned out very moist, I iced it lightly with chocolate store bought icing. it has little different texture. I added some dried cranberry about 1/2 cup. orange zest is optional. it baked at 30 minutes but I had a 12 cup Bundt pan. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sky-High Biscuits

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
These turned out great! Very light. Not QUITE sky-high but pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I don't think I'd ever eaten naan before making it for a themed dinner party. Guests that had eaten naan before said it was VERY good. I liked it but I wouldn't say that I am qualified to say whether it was REALLY good or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Australian Damper

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I like making breads from different countries and so i was curious about an Australian bread. I satisfied my curiosity but probably won't make it again. An interesting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Israeli Stuffed Dates

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
A really special treat. One taste and you're hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado and Tuna Tapas

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
The perfect addition to a Tapas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
We love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus from Scratch

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really quite easy. Pressure cookers are great! I want to play around with more additions to the hummus...more garlic, roasted tomatoes, pine nuts, etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
We absolutely loved these! I didn't have quite enough bacon to use whole strips around some of the jalapeno halves, so I cut some of the strips of bacon in half. It worked, but next time I would make sure I had enough bacon to use a whole strip per half jalapeno. My husband told me to be sure to make these again for our next Tapas party. P.S. I'm glad I used a grilling basket to hold these as they were grilling. They would have been at risk for falling into the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe for left over chicken from stock. Easy to make the night before and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locke Cooking

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Excellent spanish rice. Could not be any easier. I used water with chicken stock paste. Loved that the rice wasn't sticky. Must try for a quick and easy rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Locke Cooking

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States