Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Valentine Night Strawberries

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Really good. Fun for two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
A keeper! I had this at a BBQ a couple of years ago and when I found the recipe on here, I just KNEW it was the same one. I made it and it tasted just as great as I remembered! My go-to pulled pork recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
A good coleslaw. I appreciated the tip about getting the water out of the cabbage (salt and drain for 30 mins). I ended up adding much more mayo to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made these for a get-together and everyone loved them. Granted, they took time. I threw them in the freezer after each coating (flour, breadcrumbs, breadcrumbs) to harden. I ran out of breadcrumbs it took so many, so be prepared with lots on hand. Also, I omitted the bacon bits. I did try baking these and did not like the texture - luckily I only baked 2 to see how they would taste. The rest we fried and they were incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made batches and batches of these for poker night. Everyone loved them. They were super simple and absolutely delicious. I did make a simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water) and just measured out the liquid in the same measurements as called for in the recipe for sugar. Worked like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Buttery; perfect combination of white chocolate and cranberry without being over sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Need it even quicker? Melt butter in microwave then add garlic and microwave about 1 min more (70-80% power). Pour butter mixture into baking pan add chicken and toss to coat. Mix other ingredients in gallon plastic bag. I used a combination of shredded cheddar, grated parmesan, and shredded parmesan. Pour half of breadcrumb and cheese mixture over chicken. Press in. Turn chicken over and pour remaining crumb cheese mixture on top. Pat down and bake. May need additional 5 minutes of cooking time but cleanup is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falconemomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made my own recipe before finding this one, and then made the decision of adding kale. My recipe was 4 cups of vegetable broth, five cut and diced red potatoes, half a bag of extra thick egg noodles, 1 1/2 cup of frozen mixed veggies, and 1 bunch kale. That's it! Doesn't need salt/pepper/spices in my opinion. It was very delicious, and I'm sure that this recipe is as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqulyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Delicious! I used king apples off my uncle's tree instead of granny smith, and only used four apples and it was perfect! Love love love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I changed nothing, however; I did make one mistake. I had 4 apples cored/peeled/sliced and used them all. I am not sure how many cups it came to. BUT, I am going to make this cake very soon! I have five gallons of apples to use, and this is a very tasty way to use them! Perhaps cupcakes next time. Also, It was perfect without frosting. I dusted lightly with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cake Frosting II

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is Very close to Wiltons 'secret' frosting, but they add meringue powder. You Must start this frosting off by whipping the shortening, water, flavoring/coloring till it has the consistency of lotion, THEN add the sugar. If you don't NEEDED white frosting, you could use butter. Almond flavoring is a nice change as well.I love this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by cz375hh

Classic Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Got the key lime fever after a trip to Florida. Not a big pie eater until after our trip and this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Pretty excellent recipe. My husband wanted something other than "plain old broccoli," so I went looking for broccoli recipes and decided upon this one. Glad I did too! My hubby was very happy with it! We didn't have cashews, so instead I used 1/3 cup of sliced almonds that I sprinkled with kosher salt and then toasted in a pan. Everything else was as the recipe states and I think it was a success! Used this as a side to go with our pork tenderloin and roasted potatoes and we had a great meal! I'd probably make this recipe again, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scotcharoos

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Always a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Samantha Gilman

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
So smooth and perfect, just the way dough should be...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
One of the better potato soup recipes I've tried. Took a lot longer than 40 minutes to make. Fair amount of prep work. I will try to lighten this up for future batches. I made it for a high calorie dinner for my underweight son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRETCHAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Fantastic after a long day. I omitted the bacon, and used dried minced onion because I was in a hurry. Wonderful flavor. Thanks for this little gem :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Pork Tenderloin with Dijon Marsala Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very tasty and super moist. I did not use the full amount of mustard on either the pork nor sauce but it was very delicious. Also subbed chicken stock for Marsala Wine and 2% milk for heavy cream, simply because I did not have those items on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I heart this recipe so so much!!! I love that the flavor is complex - you can adjust the heat. And what I love most is using the chili spice as a rub on grilled chicken and fish. When I make this recipe, I double the spices, store 1/2 of them in a covered jar, and make the chili with the rest. The spice mix stays on-hand when I'm in a hurry. Rub it together with a T of oil into some chicken thighs and grill for a quick, DeLicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gyroll

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was great! I did 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 lamb. Next time I won't doubt myself, and I'll use all lamb. I did cut the salt to 1 t. and I used just 1 4.75 oz. can of diced black olives, I think 2 cans would have been too much. I also stirred the olives & zucchini right into the mix. I had no trouble with doughy insides, it baked up well and my whole family ate it up! I also made the tzatziki sauce from this site, except used sour cream instead of greek yogurt. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States