Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Fine Crisp Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Nice, very, very nice. I didn't know what this was supposed to be. Is it a cake, a cookie, a bar type dessert? Well, it is a mix of sorts. Crispy on top because of the egg, cake/bar-like in substance-and very delicate. I ate it for breakfast after leaving it to cool overnight. It goes very well with tea. The flavour is aromatic and spiced thanks to the allspice and sweet enough to compensate an un-sweetened hot drink. The turmeric gives it more a hue than color. It yielded 9 squares. It covered the bottom of a 9-inch pan with about 3/4 of an inch in height and doesn't really rise. If you need to double the recipe do so in two separate pans as I don't think it would be as nice if it were thicker. It's perfect the way it is! I used gluten free flour without xanthan gum and it fell apart easily, so plan accordingly if you use gf flours. Thank you Jenna Arden for your adaptation of this treasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Strata

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
What is half and half, I live in NZ, haven't heard this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp - Perfect and Easy

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very yummy! Extreme quick and easy to make! My very picky son even asked me to make it the next day again!! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I just watched the video for this recipe. I was amazed at the amount of salt that was being freely tossed around. Salt the fish before the first coating of flour, then put 2 TEASPOONS of salt in the batter, then salt again after you fry the fish. It's like...have a little fish with your salt...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love this recipe! It is so easy and delicious. My pawpaw used to make a vegetable beef soup that tasted almost exactly like this one, and he would make a pot of it especially for me when I would visit. I never found out his recipe before he died, so finding this one makes me so happy! Not only is it delicious, but it brings back great memories! It is also very quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban-Style Pork and Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very unique flavors. I followed the recipe exactly, and I did not find it to be overdone at all. The pork was tender and the potatoes were soft, but not total mush. I served this over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Cold Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I really like the ideas of this recipe, but it was a bit bland for me. I used udon noodles, added fresh grated ginger to the sauce and some Hawaiian chili water. If you use natural peanut butter you shouldn't have trouble. I like crunchy. I added shrimp and thought it was a really decent light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tipsy Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Changed it a bit - cream of mushroom soup & cream of chicken. Used breast tenderloins, 2 cans mushrooms no olives - no one here besides me likes them. Added some dehydrated onion, a stick of butter and a few liberal shakes of poultry seasoning. Dinner for 5 and and leftovers for lunch for at least 3. I left this cook for 10 hrs - almost too long - caramelized nicely but much longer would not have been good. We added some chicken stock and mixed it with some really good egg noodles :) OH my !!! delicious! Fresh baked french bread & a tossed green salad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudi J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

Amish Yumazuti

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This needed a lot more cheese and a fair amount of added seasoning to keep it form being bland, but it's a good "base" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
SO GOOD. I could eat this every day. The only change I made was to add some strips of red bell pepper, since I had one to use up. This one is definitely going to be made a lot around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I used pork tenderloin stripped lengthwise,full milk yogurt, and a mix of lemon juice and tart orange juice in the marinade. I also added a drop of mint extract and marinated overnight in the refrigerator. I spiral wrapped the pork strips around the skewers,Sprinkled the kabobs with a pinch of coarse sea salt, wrapped the exposed wood in metal foil and broiled them in in my oven broiler, turning once to brown evenly---The gates of heaven opened widely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This never even made it to the table, it smelled terrible and was bland even after doubling the spices. I've added cinnamon to white chicken chili before and loved it but it just didn't work with this. Guess we're not "authentic" Mexican food people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock-Pot® Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was SO GOOD with a little cheese and sour cream!!! Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
We don't keep soy milk in the house so we used chocolate rice milk instead. Because we already had chocolate, we decreased the cocoa to 1tbsp and we added 1 tsp of cinnamon just for fun. It's a big hit with the eight year old who's birthday it's for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evvie's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Lamb Kabobs

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Perfect marinade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Disney's Ratatouille

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was very good! To speed up the preparation, I used my little food processor to chop the onions and the garlic and I used a mandolin to slice the vegetables. I also didn't have tomato paste, so I used tomato sauce and did not include the water. It tasted great! The addition of marscapone cheese on top of the dish was also very good.I was a little worried that there would be too much garlic but the 12 cloves tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Talena

Pork Chops with Basil and Marsala

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was a good recipe and nice alternative to breaded pork chops. The wine kept the pork from drying out. If you are using smaller pork chops, adjust the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was very good. I made exactly per recipe, except I didn't have breadcrumbs, and made my own, adding in Mrs. Dash's Italian seasoning. I will make it again, but I think I'll add a little more spice to the breadcrumb mix. Thank you for the nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda Balavage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
The best Salisbury steak on here! I love that it doesn't use any canned or boxed soups and gravy. I used a cornstarch slurry instead of flour, and doubled the recipe. I didn't have the cooking sherry, but I used a couple drops of soy sauce just to add the browning flavor, so I left out the salt and just used garlic and pepper in the gravy for seasoning. This reminds me of the old tv dinners we had as kids, so I served them in retro divider plates with mashed potatoes and corn. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

All-Natural Pink Frosting!

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States