Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by carmel

Cheddar Fennel Potato Gratin

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This recipe was just okay. I had a difficult time understanding the instructions. I'd recommend the following: 1. Use one, not two, fennel bulbs. Cut the core from the fennel (it's not as tender). Remove the green top from the bulb and reserve the feather-like leaves for a garnish. 2. Layer the potatoes and fennel vertically, not horizontally (like a lasagne). If you do horizontal layers, the cream sauce won't reach all of the potatoes. Cut the potatoes like potato chips and stand them on their ends, not flat. 3. Consider this a potato dish with the fennel as a twist. The fennel, when baked, will have a mild flavor. My kids liked it, so that was a plus. But if you're looking for WOW! fennel flavor, you may want to try it grilled or raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Light and fluffy, just perfect for the weekend. Thanks! Made exactly as written and they turn out great everytime (even when doubling or tripling the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanei Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dilled Green Beans

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
These were so yummy! I can't believe my 5 year old gobbled up 2 helpings- and so did I! I might cut back on the butter next time just to cut back slightly on calories, though I sure didn't mind all the butter made as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I don't like cauliflower, but this recipe was very good. I love mashed potatoes. This is an awesome substitute. I roasted the cauliflower in the oven with garlic. I also used about 2 tablespoons of buttermilk. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichelle Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly

Pam's Bierocks

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
So good! Hubby was very impressed with these. I made as written and they are very good, but would be great with added spices to the meat mixture. I mixed the dough up in the KA and put it in a warm spot to rise for an hour. It rose beautifully. I weighed out the dough, so that I would have equal pieces to work with. I filled 22 with the meat mixture and the last 2 pieces I filled with butter, cinnamon and sugar. I baked 9 for dinner and froze 13 as soon as I filled them, so that they would not rise. I will thaw completely, let rise and then bake when having them for dinner. My DH ate 2 1/2 for dinner and I had 1 1/2. They are very filling and it is a great recipe to play around with fillings. I can't wait to try this recipe again, filling with breakfast items, potatoes, eggs, peppers, meat and cheese. Served this tonight with 'Italian Peas' from AR and cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Becky1234

Bok Choy Steamed Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was very good, and I'm glad to have another way to squeeze in healthy Bok Choy. I did use extra Soy Sauce and a dash more Spicy Thai Chili Sauce which was the closest I could find to chili-garlic sauce. I served it with Soy-Honey-Ginger broiled Salmon (from a cookbook, not from this site sorry!). I used Jasmine Rice instead of White Rice and the cooking time and water to rice ratios were tricky so I had to wing it and it still turned out very good. Thanks Chef John! Loved the video too. :-) See my photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Orange Juice Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Too sweet for me, but the sauce on top of brown rice got the kids to eat rice without a grumpy remark. I agree with a previous reviewer that some more mustard added while cooking the sauce would be a good idea. I'm going to add some when I serve the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Meatless Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
What a fantastic recipe! I followed it exactly and the meatballs turned out perfectly tasting even better than real meat! I cant wait to test these on my teenage son who hates mushrooms...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Bourque

Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Bourque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this exactly as written except for the cayenne which I did not have on hand. I substituted sambal olleek in it's place. I did crisp up the drained and pressed tofu first and then added it back in at the end. I love peanut butter but it seemed to me that the proportions were off. It felt like the sauce was too peanutty and too thick. I used a natural peanut butter. The sauce felt heavy and rather than coat the tofu and veggies I felt like it drowned them. I ate it but I haven't even decided whether I'll use the leftovers. I don't think I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seared Salmon with Indian-Inspired Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I expected to love this, however the sauce was extremely thin. I would start with a half cup of broth and add more only if necessary. If you served this with rice to soak up the liquid, you would still have leftovers if you followed the directions. I used fennel seed in place of the bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Panko Crusted Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Wonderful Salmon... My family rates All food when tried for the first time...Ok, Don't make again, and Make for Company...This Salmon was rated Make for Company...Instead of using a Granulated Garlic... I used Fresh Minced Garlic in the jar and instead of using fresh Lemon Zest...I used McCormick California Lemon Peel plus instead of Plain Bread Crumbs I used Lemon Pepper Panko Bread Crumbs....Absolutly wonderful Salmon with Mashed Potatoes and Stem Broccoli....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Delicious! So moist! I love it!! I didn't have sour cream so I used plain greek yogurt and it was still deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely LOOOOVVVVEEEE this chili! So low calorie! Delicious with sour cream and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Baked Potato

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is really good and not overly fattening.....well,oh never mind. It's good with salt,pepper,cheese,and garlic! Never mnd it Is fattening!lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Make this recipe into cupcakes! So good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Marinated Venison Steaks

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is so good!!!!! I just do it on the stove instead of BBQ because I made it during winter! I made it with sweet potato fries as a side.Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Prime Rib

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lommen's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Carlos, Minnesota, USA

KISS Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was a great way to have salmon. I used my cast iron pan in the oven, added garlic and cayenne as suggested-baked at 375 for 25 minutes. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this one night at my house and everybody loved it. They said it was really good. We had kids over so I had to skip the red pepper. I loved it. Will definitely have again. I saved the marinade that I didn't need to cover the chicken and used it to baste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cin6680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States