Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I have never made from scratch creamy pudding, just boxed, rice and bread puddings as I thought they sounded like more work then it would be worth. However, this recipe was super easy and turned out perfectly. I don't think I would change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWIGGS1952

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Veggie Pate

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I found the spice mix to be a bit unbalanced. The consistency was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I missed the garlic in this recipe and had to add it after tasting the marinade. Much better. As I didn't want to heat up the house. (90 degrees here today), I elected to barbeque them. No leftovers which is always a sign of a successful recipe. Served with Sesame Udon Noodles and Firecracker Broccoli both from AR. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Crepes

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
fantadtic, exactly as written. Served savory with bacon rolled in some, others rolled and just topped with syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The top of mine was too dark when I checked it 5 minutes early, so I will cover the top with foil towards the end the next time that I make this, but everyone in my family loved it, with or without vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Breton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Udon Noodles

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Teriyaki chicken was on the dinner menu and was looking for a starch to replace the rice I had planned on serving. Happened upon this recipe and thought I'd give it a whirl... WOW, am so glad I did. HELPFUL HINT: As with any recipe that calls for dressing, always add to taste. This recipe definitely falls under this rule otherwise the noodles will be too oily as others have noted in their reviews. Overall 5 star. Thank you bajathecat for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Green Beans with Olives, Tomatoes, and Feta

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Quick, easy. Perfect for a potluck. I used crumbled goat cheese instead of feta. Not as salty as feta. Big hit at Memorial day picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe adds WAY too much salt. I questioned it while putting it in but did anyway. After I took a bite I couldn't even eat the pancakes they were so salty. The recipe might be good if you add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Parmesan Asparagus

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Did not steam. I also didn't use the lemon, just my preference. Baked them at 475 for 5 mins and then turned oven off and left in for another 5 mins. They were good but not as good as the other recipes I've had from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I have made this recipe several times from a slightly different recipe. Mine calls for four eggs and after baking you put salsa on top and sprinkle with cheese instead of the tomato sauce. I bake it in a 9x9 pan until set, about 40 minutes. I also use drained diced chiles instead of the whole ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Relleno Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is one of our family's favorite meals. I don't use the enchilada sauce, however, as the original recipe I use said to put salsa on after you take it out of the oven. I also sprinkle the cheese on top prior to baking and then add a bit of fresh on top of the salsa. Looks and tastes fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I am AMAZED! as one reviewer stated, I too had just bought the Vegetti and couldn't wait to try this, bought the zucchini a day or two before family showed up for the weekend. (2 of which along with my hubby are diabetics) I did learn one tip. Don't cut off all of the stem top if using the vegetti. or you will just rip chunks out of the top of the zucchini. I Zoodled 2 zucchini just so that everyone could try them. I also didn't use any water or broth, only used a little unsalted butter, 1 clove minced garlic, salt and pepper, sautéed until still firm tender, topped withe (Turkey) Wedding gift spaghetti sauce and a little fresh grated parmesan cheese. OMG! these will be making it to my table a lot now! and will also be making it to my in laws tables too. they were bickering over who got the last of them! LOL! I like some of the other suggestions using pesto, fresh tomatoes, Alfredo even chicken etc.. thank you so much for sharing this amazing idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Pineapple Coconut Cake

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I did the reverse with this recipe and made the icing first - glad I did! It turned out a hot mess because it was just pure butter with pineapple flavoring (from the juice). Luckily I took classes in pastry and had to whip it into shape by adding MORE confectioners sugar (1 1/2 c), whipped w/ hand mixer 1cup of heavy whipping cream folded into it. Didn't stiffen up so I added a cup and a half of sifted flour! It came to a better 'usable' consistency just to cover a 3 layer cake if you throw it in the fridge for an hour or so. Needless to say I didn't waste anymore ingredients making the actual cake; just went to a professional 's recipe on line for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sismajestic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Overnight Blueberry French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This recipe looked so good and I was excited about trying it for my guests. It seemed as if the custard wasn't quite enough for the amount of bread in the casserole, and, I wish I would have gone with my instinct because it was a little dry in the morning and top of the casserole was more like a dry crunchy toast. It is possible that the size of my french loaves were larger than what the author of the recipe used, but, since it just said (2) french loaves that is what I used. I did top with a homemade blueberry sauce, so, that definitely helped with the dryness. I would make this again, but, just use less bread or more custard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Susie's Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This was a very basic, but, good breakfast casserole that was well received by my guests. I added a few extra pieces of bread because it didn't seem like enough in my dish. It could have been because my bread slices were a little smaller than the ones the author used. I personally would have preferred adding some sauteed onion and red pepper, but, everyone else liked it as is. Preparing it the night before saved me a great deal of time and mess in the morning. I would make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Wisconsin Bratwurst

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I gave this three stars because even I know how ridiculous it is to prick your brats. And they don't explode if you don't either. I'm guessing that I'm like a lot of people that don't have a sausage monger around the corner and are using Johnsonville or other readily available brat from the grocers. This recipe is a good start as is, sans the pricking. Made it as written (again, no poking) the first time. I think if you want to elevate this, change your choice of beer, buy artisan brats, etc. The beer and onion broth is great. Tonight we're going to simmer the brats in that liquid first, then grill, then place back in the pot until everyone is ready to eat. Just whatever you do, DON'T PIERCE YOUR BRATS. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
My husband and I loved it! So easy and loved that all the ingredients were things I always have on hand. It was devoured before I could take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. I did not puree. I just used a potato masher for the broccoli. Kept all the ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
We had this for breakfast on Memorial Day. I used leftover hamburger buns and hot dog buns for the bread. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. It is very delicious and our entire family loved it. I highly suggest that you start blueberry syrup when you take cover off for last 25-30 min of baking. Gives you plenty of time for the blueberries to burst. Oh n don't forget the butter at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This turned out fantastically, I did both steak and chicken in the marinade over night. Both meats had a different flavor, each delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States