Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Watermelon Agua Fresca

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
"Watermelonade" is exactly what this is - here in Mexico, agua fresca con limon is limonada, or lemonade. Where I live, on the west coast of Mexico, agua fresca is made with every fruit imaginable. I had some guests for dinner recently and the evening was very warm. Half of our guests drank this delightful drink (with added sliced limes) and half had Watermelon Sangria, also from this site. Both were wonderful, but I preferred the agua fresca. And straining the pulp makes all the difference - thanks for the tip, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I live in Mexico and have quite a few recipes from my friends here. This salsa is okay, but I prefer mine, which IMO, is more authentic. The quantities are really unimportant as they depend on taste, and every Mexican housewife varies the recipe a bit 2-3 Seeded and coarsely chopped plum tomatoes 3 coarsely chopped green onions juice of 1 lime 2 T chopped cilantro finely diced garlic (amount according to taste, I use 2 lge cloves) 1 jalapeno chopped salt to taste Let sit for a while, so flavors meld pinch of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Photo by **Jude**

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very good and easy to make! Followed the recipe as it is and they came out very good and fluffy. Anyway, next time I'll add a tiny bit more oil as some suggestions said just for extra moisture and a splash of vanilla just to see what happens ;) A good recipe for sure, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

Simple Ranchy Breaded Fish Fillets

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I did not like this, it was too salty for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have made this at least 3times now and it is truly the best cheesecake I have made. My family prefers this to any commercially made cheesecake. I have made it plain with just graham cracker crust and topped it with a blueberry sauce from this site and also made it Black Forest style with Oreo crust and cherries on top. Both so yummy!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I can only emphasize what others have said, i.e., FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. EXACTLY. I often improvise and change recipes, but I trust Chef John to know what he is doing, so I did this exactly the way he said, and oh wow, it really worked! Chicken was tender and moist, sauce was tasty, mushrooms were perfectly caramelized. Yes, you could add garlic or onions or shallots or a pinch of cayenne, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE no canned soup. He is showing us a professional cooking technique that always works. Do it the way he says and take pride in your accomplishment. Thanks again, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Rosemary Red Potatoes

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I make these potatoes all the time. I pre boil them in chick broth instead of water and only spice up with salt, pepper and rosemary despite how much we love garlic! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Juicy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I make something very similar, almost the same really, but I add powdered chicken broth. I use this as a base for seasoning almost everything I make: Add a little herbage, basil, oregano, etc and you can adapt it to chicken fish, almost anything. It's very similar to Emeril's "essence" and that gives you a clue as to where he got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this recipe 3 days ago, it's gone now, and I wish calories were a myth because I want to make it again. I don't understand the bad revies this has. mine turned out to be creamy, rich, sweet, cheese flavoured, light, and all over delicious and decadent. I followed the recipe exactly, while putting to good use my own experience baking cheesecakes; always grease the mold so it won't stick to the sides and break, always let it set inside the oven with the door cracked a bit so the cake won't crack, for a moister cake always bake in a ban marie, (I didn't use the ban marie and it turned out great though). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great way to use up what is basically something unusable. One reviewer stated they didn't know what herbs de provence was, and asked for "normal ingredients". This is what's wrong with society today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Classic Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
5 star recipe without the red wine vinegar and a few alterations... not in the ingredients though, just the quantities. This is the same recipe we use but for the red wine vinegar. We use about 5 cloves of garlic, several dashes of Worcestershire, and a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese! We use anchovy paste, a good squeeze from the tube and as far as the lemon juice, just add to suit your preference. Everyone asks for this recipe! It's even better the next day, so we always double the recipe and keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
5 star recipe without the red wine vinegar and a few alterations... not in the ingredients though, just the quantities. This is the same recipe we use but for the red wine vinegar. We use about 5 cloves of garlic, several dashes of Worcestershire, and a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese! We use anchovy paste, a good squeeze from the tube and as far as the lemon juice, just add to suit your preference. Everyone asks for this recipe! It's even better the next day, so we always double the recipe and keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Flavor does not come up to what you would expect from the labor that goes into it. There are simpler recipes that have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious! This recipe is easy to make and fabulous for tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I served with tuna spread in halves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariovidana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
turned out really good, I didn't have oyster sauce so I used Worcestershire sauce and is good, next time I wont use as much black pepper as is calling for, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Living In: Ray, Ohio, USA

Coconut Brittle

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe relies entirely on the type of microwave you have. In my case, the time was too much and it didn't become brittle, it was more caramel like. Use a 1/4 less of coconut for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Quite good, not my favorite but I dig it. For better results sift the confectioner's sugar twice, and if you do not want it this sweet, you can cut from 4 cups to 3 with no problem at all. Like other reviews: measure the milk to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector Gzz

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this recipee as posted, but i used Salmon instead of chicken. It was delicious...also used some onion and bell pepper....red, yellow, orange, green....they looked beautiful. Grill success for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector Gzz
Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States