Kaiserslautern - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

All-Natural No-Bake Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Trying to cut back on sugar and salt and butter all around, but craving these cookies. They are alright, but not even close to the rich, terrible goodness they could have been if the original recipe (with butter and white sugar) had been used. While they are edible, they are not what I expected. Too soft. Too much honey (and I like honey) and just, well, they just tasted off. Not what I was expecting. And that is what I get for trying to make a decadent food into a healthy food. Nice try, but these just weren't exactly right... Maybe no honey next time, many half white sugar (*gasp) and half Truvia, I think the coconut oil is a go, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
WOW. My spousal unit does not like soy sauce or anything sweet on his meat! This recipe changed his mind and has now become a staple in my arsenal of quick cooking. I marinate chicken or pork tenderloin in this and it always ends up tasty tasty! Once for a quick change, I added sesame oil and hot chili oil to the mix, and it was pretty good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These came out perfectly for someone who can't quite get the hang of baking (especially cookies), so this is definitely a well named recipe, No-Fail. Will be using this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Berdean's Cube Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Holy Toledo! This was so good I was sad when it was all gone. Simple, quick, easy, not to mention inexpensive! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Father-in-Law's Scallops with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Bacon

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Lovely. A great way to start me thinking of multiple ways to do similar dishes. Maybe 1/2 shrimps & /2 scallops. Capers instead of sun dried tomatos, a little bit of lemon? The possibilities are endless. As it is, I prepared this as written and it was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome! One of our favorite dinners! :) I like to double all of the spices and bread the chicken in Panko breadcrumbs before frying or baking. We didn't add the extra garlic at the end because it had plenty. Totally recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegSidebottom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This recipes is AMAZING! It's on our Top 10 list :) We eat these at the very least once a week. My husband makes me use hot salsa, so I secretly leave out the red pepper flakes :P Sometimes we leave out the onions just because I hate chopping them. Otherwise, we don't change a thing! You won't regret trying this recipe! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegSidebottom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Vodka Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I cooked it exactly as directed and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cake III

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My son loves coconut cake and I made this for his birthday. He said it was the best coconut cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hunts® Arroz con Pollo y Frijoles Negros

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
FANTASTICO!! This is by far the simplest and most flavorful arroz con pollo.. I have tasted so far! This has the southwest flair!! I'm so impressed with this!! It's not greasy at all, the chicken was moist and the seasoning was very subtle on the chicken.. But when combined with the rice and beans (which had the bolder flavor)..it balanced each other out perfectly. The only additions I made was I added 1tsp of adobo seasoning To the chicken (next time I'll probably add 2tsp+), I also added 2 minced garlic to the onion and rice mixture and used Goya black beans ( I just drained them..didn't rinse).. Other than that I sticked to the recipe..If you have any leftovers it's great reheated the next day.. The only other suggestions I would make is cook the chicken on medium heat...brown your rice on medium heat and stir constantly or else your rice WILL burn (so have your sauce and water already prepped to pour in) it also took me 12 min.. to brown my rice. Lower your heat very low when your simmering everything so your liquid doesn't evaporate so quick that your rice doesn't have a chance to become soft.. (it took me 30 min. For my rice to soften and then After that I turned the heat off and let it sit for a few min. With the lid on.. Just to make sure.. Cause I hate crunchy rice.) Everyone who loves Mexican food MUST try :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Delicious Healthy Strawberry Shake

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I had only fresh strawberries on hand so I cut up 2 cups worth, used 1 very ripe banana, 1 cup of 2% milk, 5 ice cubes, 2 Tbs. of sugar (instead of honey) and 1 tsp of vanilla extract.. It turned out delicious!! It wasn't thick and wasn't too runny.. It hit the spot!! You won't even know that there's no ice cream in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Gravy Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was a decent little meat and potato recipe.. It's definitely budget friendly and who doesn't like meat and potatoes?! The only thing I did different was I added 3 minced garlic with the onions ( I love garlic) and I added mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar cheese (cause that's all I had on hand).. I think I will use cheddar next time.. I also noticed the potatoes tasted better if you let them sit for a few min. when they come out of the oven before serving them. I also made a side salad to go along with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is an above average recipe..BUT it is NOT the best Parmesan chicken ever! My expectations were so high after reading the reviews that I was a little disappointed when I ate it (my boyfriend loved it) I did do several changes as mentioned from other reviewers.. 1.I pounded the chicken til it was thin and added onion and garlic powder to the breading. I also used one egg and halved the breading ingredients ( it made just the right amount for 4 chicken breasts) 2.Put in refrigerator for 30 min. So breading would stick 3. Fried the chicken on med. for 3-5min. 4. Last 5 min. I added provolone and mozzarella cheese. I served on spaghetti noodles and a side of garlic mushrooms.. I will make this again cause it is fast, easy and very good..BUT you cannot compare it to a REAL family Italian Restaurant..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Crescent Dogs

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made as directed. Super easy and quick. The only trouble I had was the crescent rolls were still a little doughy after 15 min.. So I had to cook an extra 10 min.. I think next time I will take another reviewers advice and pre cook the hot dogs in the microwave before I roll them in the dough and bake in the oven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Trini Style Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I don't know what happened but my chicken pieces didn't produce any liquid so they started to burn..I thought quick and put 1/2 cup of chicken broth in the pot and continued to cook as directed. It turned out delicious.. I also put in 2 tsp. of cayenne instead of the Tbs.. (it was still a little spicy for me but not my friend).. Maybe next time I will even add less cayenne.. Served with white rice.. Very unique taste! Everyone must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Joanne's Super Hero Sandwich

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made this for my husband and his German friends..They LOVED it!! Said it was better than the German bakeries..The only things I did different was that I left out the black olives and mushrooms and added dried parsley ( 1tsp).. I also didn't add the turkey and bought just white crusty bread (it felt pretty hard) cause the deli was out of French bread.. I left it overnight and it was not soggy at all...I can't wait to make this again and try it for myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My daughters ( 11yrs & 9yrs)made this cake all by themselves for the fourth of July. It's an easy cake for kids and beginning chefs to do. It tastes great too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I'm not a vegan.. I just didn't have any eggs or milk in the house and was to lazy to go to the store. These hit the spot. The only difference I made was I added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract. These are a bit blander and gummier than regular pancakes but for not having any milk or eggs in them..5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Garlic Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Great rice. I didn't add the meat..I may never eat plain white rice again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 49) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States