Hessen - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
My entire family and I love this! It feels so healthy and has just the perfect amount of heat and seasonings. As other reviewers suggested, I used only one can of black beans and threw in a can of Mexican corn. Delicious and don't forget that cilantro -- it really makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was I did half white sugar and half brown and threw in a pinch of cinnamon. Also, I prefer the bananas to be mashed instead of sliced so there aren't big bites of banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Quite simple and tasty! I purchased beef for stir-fry and it couldn't have been easier. We served it with white rice, stir-fry California blend vegetables and with Easy Egg Drop Soup from this site. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Easy Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was so quick, easy and tasted like what I've ordered in restaurants. Husband and I each had two bowls! We made it as the first course with the Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Isolde's German Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I use cottage cheese and 6 eggs no milk and a heaping tablespoon flour put all ingredients in a blander till smooth it works well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanbun USA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kassel, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
It was a cold morning and I decided to throw this in the slow cooker so it would be ready for lunch. I ended up doing it on 3.5 hours on high and it was very delicious, hearty and satisfying. Based on the ingredients I had, I used three cans of chicken already chunked up, a bottle of Oktoberfest beer (because I live in Germany and it was dark and perfect for the recipe), and because I only had one can of Rotel, I used another of plain diced tomatoes and a can of Mexican corn. Our bowls were topped with shredded Pepper Jack cheese. The whole family, even children ages 2 and 4, ate this right up. Thank you for the easy and cheap recipe that is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Italian Chicken Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Fantastic and only one dish to wash! We took the advice of reviewer Monique and threw in some diced red and green peppers when cooking the diced chicken and garlic. Otherwise, we made it exactly as written, cooked up quickly and easily and was devoured by my entire family. I served it with some Texas Toast and we will certainly make again. The colors and flavors in the dish were both lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Easiest Egg Nog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
We loved this! I whipped it up in five minutes and my entire family (husband, 2- and 4-year-olds) devoured it. We topped it with some whipped cream and I look forward to making it again with some thicker ingredients (at my husband's request) and some alcohol for some extra holiday "cheer." Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Very good. I didn't have the fruit cocktail, so instead added a can of chunk pineapple. For color, I used one of each pepper, red and green. We served this over brown rice and the entire family enjoyed it, even my 2- and 4-year-old sons! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
We're living in Germany right now and this was pretty darn close to what we can get in the restaurants! I think we'll want to double the sauerkraut next time just so that we'll have more. We sprinkled the potatoes with a bit of salt and pepper and topped with sour cream to serve. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Happy to find a new quinoa recipe! This was a super simple recipe to make and I threw in a can of chickpeas and some frozen green peas for extra oomph. It was delicious paired with Christine L.'s Baked Sweet Potato Sticks from this site. The recipe made a huge batch and my husband and I will enjoy eating the leftovers for lunch this week. Fast to prepare and very rewarding to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I've never heard my husband make such a loud "MMMM" sound! He ate three bowls all while I was finishing up my first one. This is definitely a perfect recipe and we will make again and again. My only regret is that I didn't add salt to taste. Between my bouillon and the ham, it was pretty salty soup, so I've started omitting it. I also feel like the pepper could be reduced to 3/4 tsp. I ended up making sweet beer bread muffins to counter some of the saltiness, which were also a hit. This is one that I will double in the future and will be proud to share with company. Absolutely restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I only had a little bit of milk and one egg left and searched for a breakfast recipe that would fit within those constraints. I discovered this and cut it down to four servings for myself and my two toddlers. Needless to say, this was a big hit! We added a sprinkle of nutmeg, whisked the mixture before dipping each new piece of bread, didn't let the bread soak too long, and enjoyed a yummy breakfast of fluffy French toast! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Fantastic! In an effort to eat less processed food. I attempted this instead of the box of Long Grain and Wild Rice in my pantry. This smelled so fresh and amazing while roasting and the only thing better than the smell? The taste! My entire family (including two toddlers) gobbled these up. I used eight red potatoes and everything, but the garlic, was dried. I'm sure it's even more amazing with fresh herbs. This will go into our regular rotation of sides. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Perfect Cheesecake Everytime

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this cheesecake yesterday and it was absolutely amazing. People that don't usually eat sweets of any kind decided to "cheat" during Lent to try it lol. Absolutely amazing. To save time I used two pie crusts to put the filling into, and with the amount filling it was perfect. The sizes of the pieces are significantly smaller but perfect sized for parties. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryland Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Büdingen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is very good i make it a lot and we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanbun USA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kassel, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Cinnamon Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
What a decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Country Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have tried this recipe and it is like my recipe for my German Bread i have made for years, there is nothing wrong with this recipe you can add anything you like and it turns out every time, and the taste is very good .MY NEIGHBOR LIKES IT TO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanbun USA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kassel, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My dough turned out very thick but the pancakes were fluffy and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I really like this so much! I used the entire pouch of Stovetop Stuffing and it's really tasty. Hearty comfort food. Even great when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States