Berlin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

April's Chicken Fried Rice

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a hit with the youngest, so I would definitely make it again. I used leftover basmati rice that had cooled in the fridge overnight and added peas (frozen, but slowly sauteed over medium heat for inclusion). I also used bottled mushrooms that I had washed, dried and then seared before also adding in the end step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic German Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I've only ever used quark for cheesecake... A nice touch is mixing some canned peaches (coarsely diced) into the batter before baking. This is what my German grandma always does for hot summer afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These turned out just like in the picture, though I hoped they would rise a bit more (and look like the ones you get in Britain). Dough was easier to work with after I floured my hands well. I padded them into circles and didn't glaze them with anything. The taste could have been somewhat richer and sweeter but they were perfect with some butter and homemade strawberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Cinnamon Rolls I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I made them for Easter Sunday Brunch and they turned out just wonderful. I did add a tablespoon of softened butter to the filling and doubled the amount of cinnamon to give it a richer taste. I also used cream cheese icing (Cinnamon Rolls III) instead of the one given in this recipe and it melted just right on the warm rolls. A friend made the same recipe just as it is for another brunch and they turned out great as well. She did substitute the cornsyrup with honey, though.I guess it just depends on personal preferences. I made 8 rolls in a 10"-springform pan and they were done after 20 minutes (I had to put aluminum foil on the top so they would not burn after 15 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lotta

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made half a batch using butter instead of shortening. The kids loved them, and they had a great texture. Let's see how they taste tomorrow! I will definitely make these again, as they were simple to make, fun and popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orebro, Orebro, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mid-Summer Italian Bread Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was quick and easy. I used 1/2 the loaf and that was plenty. I had corn and black bean salad from AR left over and I added it to this salad to use it up. I sprinkled Dried basil and drizzled Olive oil lightly over the bread and tossed the bread to coat and set aside until dinner. I added the bread right before serving with 1/2 a bag of salad and the leftover corn and black bean salad. Light and refreshing. Will add grilled chicken next time to make a complete meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Carrot Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I use freshly ground wheat and instead of sugar Aguave-Sirup, and just 1/2 cup of oil. After a day they are perfect. Everytime we are in for afternoon-snachk in preschool I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Spicy Fish Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Awesome last-minute choice for dinner, even with my substitutions. I had no green chillis in a can so I substituted some leftover green salsa and thawed spinach. I was out of chili powder so used The Firecracker Chili Powder recipe here on AllRecipes. I'm in Germany -- frozen Seelachsfilet (Pollock in English?) is readily available and what I used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Wedding Soup II

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It turned out great. I used spinach instead of escarole and dropped it in the soup after the meatballs were done. I also added 3/4 cup uncooked star pasta to the soup and it was done same time as the meatballs. Will sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindy

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
all i can say is follow the recipe to a T and you will be in heaven with the doughnuts they were wonderful and the family like me a whole lot today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was fabulous recipe in addition to using the yeast I also added baking soda which help them rise. I also used an apple glaze that was precooked and cooled before applying(delicious). I also used some jam out of the refrigerator and that worked well also. Anyhow overall this recipe was successful! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dairy Free Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
There is one major problem. Bisquick IS NOT DAIRY FREE!!!! It has an Orthodox Union DAIRY hescher which means it contains milk whey and proteins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heleva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Basil Couscous Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This salad is amazing! It was a hit with me and my friends. I didn't have any red wine vinegar or green onions at home though. So I used 3/4 white wine vinegar and 1/4 balsamic vinegar to make up the 1/3c. vinegar, and it tasted great. I also used green beans for a bit of green. I will definitely make this again, but would probably add even more fresh basil (and save some extra as garnish with the cherry tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Bowties

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Great recipe to use up left over ham or grated cheese. I live in Europe, so had to substitute some ingredients: using dijon mustard, cheddar cheese, and smoked ham. I also added about two handfuls of peas (like a few other members suggested) and used whole wheat pasta. An easy and tasty weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These muffins taste GREAT! They look great too. They aren't very sweet, but I only consider that a plus. They are fairly healthy and the oats give a nice flavour to them. I followed the recipe, except for substituting the blueberries for frozen raspberries (which worked very well too). I've made them two times already, and will definitely make it again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Oat Pan Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These rolls were lovely! I followed the recipe as published, except for the pan instructions.. I work in cm. rather than in., and was obviously not thinking when I calculated the pan size and so accidentally used a pan twice as large as instructed. And the rolls came out VERY FLAT. But they were nice anyway and had a great flavour to them. Will make this many more times (but with the right pan)! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Cookies II

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I had a couple of spare apples, and liked this recipe. After reading some of the other reviews I added a bit of light brown sugar, and slightly more flour. I also used tablespoons rather than teaspoons to spoon out the mixture. The cookies came out very moist. The consistency was too cake like for my preference, but on the other hand my mum loved them. I agree that the oatmeal works very nicely with the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Super pancakes, but... you'll need to at LEAST double the batch if you're cooking for more than 3 people (and aren't planning to serve a lot of other breakfast food). They turned out very moist and light, great texture and taste! We used fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WashingtonChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was great! Followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is really good. I make this frequently. My boyfriend really liked this as well. I've made quiet a few recipes from here and some recipes he has made fun of me for even attempting but this isn't one of those. It's a favorite of ours. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang)

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
My mom has always called this "Chicken Chim". I'm half Korean and this is a favorite of our family. I wanted to try this so that I wouldn't have to call my mom anymore to ask her to make it so we can come over and eat for dinner. lol. Thats pretty sad huh? My mom adds zucchini squash also to this and uses sesame oil (about a swirl of it in the pot)and sesame seeds. But She doesnt use the gochujang she just uses the same red pepper flakes used in making kim-chi. My sister and I like it made with more vegetables than meat but she does uses chicken breast or drumsticks depending on what she has. The recipe was good. (That says alot because nothing is ever as good as my mom's)You can always play with the main ingredients though. It's very hard to write recipes for korean dishes because they never measure things out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-78 (of 78) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States