Berlin - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by cooking4life

chocolate chip cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
You guys will love this it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4life

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Suuuuper easy even for a non cook like me :) I was a bit weary of the mix of coconut milk with diced tomatoes, but it was great. I hate lima beans, so I decided to use red kidney beans instead and it was great! I also use way more curry and have added things lke corn and mushrooms. Great recipe without the chicken as well, so great for your vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have to make them a big bigger/higher (?) But they're ok for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judith

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My very first pie - and I already love it! I still have to work on it - especially on the pastry, but I will have fun to do it (sorry, my english is also not the best!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
These are amazing! Unlike any muffin you'll taste in a cafe! A perfect, crispy muffin top, a light plus a light and fluffy inside! I made my own buttermilk {as suggested by other reviewers} by adding some vinegar to regular milk. The only vinegar I had was a lemon one, so I think that added a little something to the end taste! The crumb topping was perfect, but probably double of what I needed! :P Someone else suggested to bake them at 350* for 15 min and then turn it up to 400* for the rest of time! GREAT IDEA! Definitely making these again! oh, and I used 1 1/2 Cups of fresh blueberries! xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My first attempt at this recipe and I am thrilled! I am eating a piece right now, still warm from the oven. I only reduced the sugar a bit, I like it less sweet. This way my son can also enjoy a piece, he is quite young and I don't give him too many sweets. And the bananas are always mashed when I make a banana nut bread, so I did this here as well. It is a light and moist BNB, simply perfect. It's much lighter in color than the other recipe I use, I have no clue why that is. If you want a "no fail recipe" try this...you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerlinBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tart Lemon Triangles

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I've made this several times now, they're excellent with spelt flour and wonderful to prepare as dessert for a dinner party. Just make them the day before, stick then in the fridge and serve with a spoon full of lemon sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimatSafkhet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon-Peach Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Super tasty (and relatively healthy)! I needed to use up some cottage cheese, and found this recipe. I only had about 1/2c of cottage cheese, so halved the recipe, which still yielded 12 relatively big (3-4" diameter) pancakes. I didn't have any peaches, so used a small apple, shredded, instead (like other reviewers suggested) - which came out really well with the cinnamon flavour. To make it healthier I mixed in 2tbps of flax seed with the egg mix. The cottage cheese gave the pancakes a light texture, and I will be using this as a staple recipe for pancakes from now on! We ate the pancakes with some Greek yoghurt and a bit of honey on the side. Then scattered about a tbsp of flaked almonds to finish it off - lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very tasty recipe - perfect for a late brunch! The texture was a bit different, but really nice. I divided this recipe to make 4 portions (according to the recipe) but was really only enough for two adults (with only a little bread, cheese and veg on the side). As a side dish, it might last longer. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except using vegetarian sausages (which don't 'crumble' as such, so I just chopped them into smaller pieces) and adding some seasoning and dried sage to the egg mix before pouring into the dish. When I do it next time, I will add even more seasoning. If it's for a main meal, I'd even try adding some halved cherry tomatoes to the mix. I had some on the side and the flavours worked well together. I'd also use more shredded potatoes to create a thicker layer around the edges. All in all, a great recipe though which will definitely be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Feta Pita Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this with regular pesto but used all the ingredients that it said to use. To me it was too bland, definitely needs more spices and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made this yesterday and added some ground turkey to it. I put 6 phyllo sheets on the bottom of the pan and 6 phyllo sheets on top. Sprayed each sheet with olive oil and the top sheet with melted butter. I have to agree with people that it is quite bland, spices and salt are missing for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Pretty tasty but definitely needed more salt. Instead of the heavy whipped cream I added a dash of milk. I also added some onions like others suggested. Served it with Mashed Potatoes and Carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
yum! really good. I lined a 8x8 glass baking dish with aluminum foil, poured the sauce over the chicken breast. Turned my oven to 425 Degrees F and baked it for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Nothing to contribute except it was surprisingly good. Definitely recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pepper Soup IV

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this in a crockpot and used ground sirloin and ground chicken. I added tomato paste, celery and carrots as well. I didn't add the rice into the crockpot, but made it separately and poured the soup over the rice when it was done. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Delicious. First time I tried to make butternut squash this way. Tastes like sweet potato to me, but butternut squash is healthier! I cooked mine at 350 for 50 minutes. Next time I'll reduce the time, because the end product was a bit too mushy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Delicious. Made this with fresh tomatoes instead and only used 3 chicken breasts. I used the Great Value Balsamic Vinegar brand from Walmart and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicciluvsya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
So, the taste was good but it was sooo runny I had no use for it :( I followed the recipe, I really don't know what others do different. Thankfully I had more butter and sugar at home so I made a buttercream really quick to save the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerlinBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
OMG!!! These are faaaantastic!!! So moist, just wonderful! I used a little less sugar, just my taste and some essential lemon oil, THE best thing for great lemon taste! You MUST bake these !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerlinBakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
as another reviewer said, I'd give this more than 5 stars if I could. Incredibly easy to make, and more importantly, incredibly easy to prepare. No marinating necessary, no complex preparation or cooking method. Amazing. I personally didn't change anything, and I'm not sure I would unless I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 78) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States