Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Summer Fruit Salad with a Lemon, Honey, and Mint Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this for a potluck and I got so many compliments. I took the easy route and bought fruit already diced (watermelon, melon, pineapple, strawberries, blue berries, pineapple, and kiwi), up from the grocery store. I eyeballed the amount of honey, mint (used regular - couldn't find chocolate), lemon zest, and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Wow, they were amazing. Loved the frosting with a hint of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe! This chicken is just like this Alabama boy grew up eating from time to time. Veggie oil works good, but you need to try this recipe with Crisco.. try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were very good and easy but required a lot longer to cook. Wish I could remember how much longer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I didn't rate this recipe as good as it is. It is a great rendition of red beans and rice just as written. I have made this recipe many times with great results. When I'm feeling lazy I use Miami Beaches base recipe with one significant change that many of you will likely discard. Instead of using EVOO, I use bacon drippings that occupy a spot on my kitchen counter. Not the healthiest choice but the flavor is there and that is the southern way - just exercise more:) Several Cajun dishes; gumbo, jambalaya, and red beans and rice, are so much better with a roux at it's base. Creating a roux adds an extra 45 minutes to this recipe, but it is worth the time and effort. This is the method I use when I want to "do it right". To modify the recipe as I have, modify step two with the following. You will need to add an extra 1.5 cups of water in step 3. For clarity, an additional step - "2a" - is added as well. 2. Mix 1/4 cup of bacon grease (or oil of choice) and 1/4 cup of all purpose flour in skillet. Cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat until the roux is mahogany brown in color. This will take 30-45 minutes! 2a. Add the celery, onion, garlic, and bell pepper to the roux and cook for 5 minutes. Continue with the steps Miami Beach outlined with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Sara's Iced Coffee

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This is very good! I cold-brewed a very strong coffee and could not really taste the vanilla. I will add a bit more next time. I also used only 1 Tbs. Half & Half per serving, but again I like strong coffee. I will make this again (and again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortilla Rollups

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
used too much taco seasoning - not whole packet. Other would be good but add some peppers and green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This Bama boy says "Darn good". I don't need to rehash what everyone else has said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious! I made this for our Memorial day cookout, and none of the adults (except for me earlier in the day)had even a taste because the kids drank every last drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I have made this soup several times now and it is always a hit. Like several reviewers, I do not bake the potatoes first, and I leave the skins on. I also like red potatoes and tend to use them over baking potatoes. The last time that I made this, I used Canadian bacon (thrown in while the potatoes cook). Although real bacon tastes better, the Canadian bacon helped to make it a tiny bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatloaf Cordon Bleu

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is a great idea! One suggestion - I gave up using dried bread crumbs for meatloaf a long time ago. I use plain deli white bread soaked in milk. Super moist and delicious with meatloaf. simply cut the bread in 1-2" cubes, place in a 9x13, and soak with whole milk. After about 10 minutes, using your hands pick up the bread and squeeze the excess milk off and place the bread on a cuting board. Chop and add to the meat mixture with 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Mediterranean Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this with boneless breasts - delicious! Even my children ate every last bite. I usually follow the recipe exactly the first time and it was great as-is. I'd like a bit more say, however, and will double that part of the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili con Carne II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have used the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe from Allrecipes for several years, and its amazing. Over time I have adjusted that recipe to my taste. I thought I would try this one and it didn't disappoint. Great recipe! Since I had them on hand, I used dried California Chili pods. I just roasted them with a tablespoon of oil and threw them in my food processor then to the crockpot with the other ingredients. Omitted the fresh chili pepper in lieu of the dried pods. Added a cup of pilsner, an extra onion, and an extra pound of ground beef but outside of that stuck to the original recipe. Darn good chili. Now whether its better than the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe, I will leave that up to individual opinions. Both are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Chili con Carne II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have used the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe from Allrecipes for several years, and its amazing. Over time I have adjusted that recipe to my taste. I thought I would try this one and it didn't disappoint. Great recipe! Since I had them on hand, I used dried California Chili pods. I just roasted them with a tablespoon of oil and threw them in my food processor then to the crockpot with the other ingredients. Omitted the fresh chili pepper in lieu of the dried pods. Added a cup of pilsner, an extra onion, and an extra pound of ground beef but outside of that stuck to the original recipe. Darn good chili. Now whether its better than the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe, I will leave that up to individual opinions. Both are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Homemade Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the recipe my grandmother used and her family of 18 grandchildren LOVED! That was 25 years ago so you know it is an older recipe and tried and TRUE. I love this recipe!!! Easy and Tastes delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. We loved how the beans turned out. Salt can be added any time during the recipe as studies have shown it has no effect on the toughness of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jam Kolaches

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I lived in Europe and it seems EVERYONE all over the world LOVES these cookies. And being that EVERYONE has a family recipe. This one is delicious just as others are. One tip on the filling is to add superfine bread or cookie crumbs stirred into the jelly then there is no spillage when baked. DELICIOUS cookie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The recipe in itself is good. I am just taking issue with the fact that it is called whole wheat pizza dough, when in fact only half of the flour in it is whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidija Rafeek Ex Jesic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
So good and filling! This is the first lentil soup that I have ever tasted, much less made (I have made it several times now). I followed the suggestions to double the veggies and also added a large can of the crushed tomatoes, instead of the smaller can. Additionally, I used low-sodium vegetable stock instead of water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I know little about Creole cooking and this is the real deal. I had to add a teaspoon of cayenne simply to add a bit more heat and I used 1 cup of bacon drippings vice 3/4 cup. I doubled the garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States