Paris - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Perfect Basic Burger

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added one onion, a tsp of Lea & Perrins Worcester sauce, and a dash or two of hot sauce. They were simple but tasty and very juicy. Great for a cook-out where you want to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Fried Eggplant

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I think this is a great base, but by itself it would be bland. It only gets three stars because of this. It was a bit messy to make, but cooked fine and thankfully was not the usual mushy eggplant texture! After cooking one side for 15 minutes and the other for 20, I added a tablespoon of sauce and then some mozzarella cheese and broiled them until the cheese was melted. I served them on top of spaghetti with more sauce, but wound up also eating the eggplant on its own. I will make this again, but next time will add more herbs to the bread crumb mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananas Foster II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing.I made it for dessert following some spicy jambalaya, and all my guests asked for seconds. The recipe is easy to follow,I didn't even really measure the ingredients so much as eyeball the amounts and it turned out fine. The only caveat is that you need to serve it with good quality ice cream, without that it probably would have been just above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Good Eggnog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was great, made it as is, but upped the recipe to 18 servings. Several people at my party had never tried eggnog before and they all loved it. I will definitely be making this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Since I'm going to the bother of slicing/dicing potatoes and carrots and onions, I decided I might as well increase the flavour of this soup by 50% by sauteing or sweating them. I skipped the salt and added a nice dash of hot sauce (could use a sprinkling of cayenne or hot pepper flakes). I like to have some small chunks, so I mash the cooked soup with a potato masher instead of using the blender, which is always a messy job. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made it exactly as the recipe says, with the exact ingredients, and it came out great! A sure way to make loved ones happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Happy Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found this recipe while abroad and having to make a dinner for 10! It is fool-proof, delicious, and magically disappears! I was even using a wonky propane oven and it was juicy and flavorful. I served it with French pommes Anna (layered potatoes backed with butter, salt and pepper), a salad, and a delicious white wine! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was my first attempt at making this desert and it was great. I made it in a 13x9 pan, used 3 packages of lady fingers and followed others' advice to use 8oz marscapone & 8oz cream cheese (diluted with a bit of cream only), I folded the whipped cream into the cheese mixture. I used Kahlua and rum...more than suggested by others! Delish! A word of advice from a French master pastry chef's daughter to those of you who end up with watery, flat whipped cream: Use a brand with CREAM only (no carrageenan) with at least 36% butterfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchchick123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smiling Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Simply delicious! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana

Aloha Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Really yummy, even after afew changes. I was out of mayonaise so used sour cream & fresh chives instead & didn't even bother with the bacon. I added baby greens (from my garden) tomato, caramelized onions, granny smith apple, pineapple, french cheese & avocado. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Greek yogurt Hamburger and hot dog buns

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Pâte bien levée mais dense et élastique, sans arôme particulier...chewy +4cs rases de T65 / 25mn à 190°C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLilas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Snap Peas

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I had never thought of baking sugar snap peas! This is great and sooooo easy! I used dry shallots and thym because it's what I had on hand. The only detour apart from that was a squeeze of fresh lemon juice which added a nice note. I'll remember this one! Thank you! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Just baked them. I had been looking for a long time to a recipe of English scones and discovered that these biscuits are pretty close to them. I could not stop me from eating two already and they are awesome and so easy to make. It's better if they are thick as they crack better on the sides for An authentic look. And best of all, while eating them read Deborah Smith's book Crossroads cafe where the biscuit is one of the "main characters" and there you really are on another planet, very yummy planet ! Thanks for this awesome recipe. kind regards from sunny Spain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fanfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Slow Cooked Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This gets better each time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Didn't love this...thought it was bland actually. Wouldn't make it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Thai Cucumber Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!!! Usually test recipes before a dinner party, but what the heck. Followed it to the T and it was delicious! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Dixie Stomp Cream of Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Olives

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Simple to make and it has a great flavor. I added black olives, used a few more green olives than called for, used bottled lemon Juice (~3 TBSP) and covered it while it baked, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. My only complaint is it was a tad dry. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Sorry Rlinda, but I didn't like this 'soup' at all. I followed the recipe exactly without the tortellini though. I thought it was too spicy (and I like spicy) and was overpowered by too many competing spices (too much pepper, too much of every spice actually). It is not as subtle soup, but just hits you in the face. Also, it was unclear if we were to re-blend the mushrooms in after boiling or not (I did, with one of those hand blenders; still not better). I'll never make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States