Paris - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Praline Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the second Thanksgiving I have made these delicious sweet potatoes, tonight many people raved about it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe. It's wonderful as is but I added orange zest, light sea salt, cut back the vanilla extract a bit and replaced it with a light splash of orange juice and VSOP Remy. Increased bake time to set 15 minutes more. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I skipped the sauce and just used plain yogurt instead (I'm not a huge fan of cucumber) while my partner used store bought tzatziki. The falafel themselves turned out great with a few minor adjustments. I skipped the parsley because I did not have any, did not add baking powder, eyeballed the amount of spices I added since I didn't have my measuring spoons and just finely chopped the onion and garlic. I also used only half an onion and fresh lemon juice. I made the falafel patties quite small (about 1.5 - 2 in across and .5 in thick) and made sure the oil was very hot before frying them. I used much less oil than the recipe called for, about .5 in, and even less the second time (just enough to cover the pan really). They didn't fall apart, were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I ate them in pita bread and, the next day for lunch, on their own just topped with yogurt. The mix keeps well in the fridge, so when I made it for lunch I just fried up a new batch. Next time I will add some fresh chilli pepper to the mix since I like things on the spicy side. Overall this recipe is tasty as is, difficult to go wrong with and a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a great marinade, I made extra sauce as I don't think the recipe makes enough as is. I liked it so much, I can't wait to try it as a base for a stir-fry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Using the Maseca brand corn flour (not an easy find in France!) I followed the recipe as is except for the addition of a bit of salt. I don't have a tortilla press and found just using my hands and pressing the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap worked great. The plastic wrap was used so I could transfer them from the counter to the pan. If I found that the dough was breaking, I just sealed the cracks with some water on my fingers as I used my hand to press the dough balls into their final tortilla shape. I used my nonstick crepe pan, since I don't have a cast iron pan, to fry them. When done, I transferred them to a plate, covered that plate with another plate flipped upside down, and added a slightly damp paper towel to keep them pliable and warm. I have made them twice and both times they've come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This recipe even passed my 6-year-old meatball lover! I adjusted a few things because we like to eat turkey. I increased the recipe to account for 1lb of grass fed beef and 1.5lbs of ground turkey. I added an egg to help with moistness due to the lean turkey and they were ....AWESOME! I made a bunch and froze them...defrosted and reheated in sauce they are delectable! A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Serious Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Red pepper give it just the right kick! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

I Can't Believe It's Cauliflower!

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I would give you 6 stars on this if I could....elegant - light and satisfying...my guest loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was my first time making these, I always add or subtract a little to my liking and consistency; I forgot to buy green onions, so we did without it. I made them the night before Easter, I was feeding 10 people and had no room in my fridge to keep them overnight so I baked the potatoes and scooped out the middle and put it in a covered bowl, then covered the hollowed potatoes as well and left everything on the counter overnight without adding any of the dairy products that would spoil. I warmed the flesh the next day in the microwave, heated the milk and added all other ingredients. I used a pastry pouch with a decorating tip to make them a little more fancy, then put them in the oven while the meat was resting on the counter. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchchick123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I halved the sugar and it was still pretty sweet. I've tried it as written and I've tried it adding garlic, oyster sauce, ginger and a few dashes of soy sauce to the sauce. They're both excellent, the second adding a little extra something to the sauce. Kids loved both versions and my only mistake the first time around was not doubling the recipe. I am NEVER ordering this again, only homemade! Kids said that it was better than at the restaurant. Thank you +++++ for this recipe! I'll try posting a picture next time around, it never seems to sit around long enough to take one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amenant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikewinsc

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for developing a kosher "clam" chowder. I know, the purists will probably hate this but a number of chowders originally were made with fish instead of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikewinsc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sharp Cheddar Lil Beef Smokies

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Like it - no so much dough used and cheese gave it a nice sharp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Prosciutto Pillows

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an American keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Perfect Basic Burger

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added one onion, a tsp of Lea & Perrins Worcester sauce, and a dash or two of hot sauce. They were simple but tasty and very juicy. Great for a cook-out where you want to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Fried Eggplant

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I think this is a great base, but by itself it would be bland. It only gets three stars because of this. It was a bit messy to make, but cooked fine and thankfully was not the usual mushy eggplant texture! After cooking one side for 15 minutes and the other for 20, I added a tablespoon of sauce and then some mozzarella cheese and broiled them until the cheese was melted. I served them on top of spaghetti with more sauce, but wound up also eating the eggplant on its own. I will make this again, but next time will add more herbs to the bread crumb mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananas Foster II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing.I made it for dessert following some spicy jambalaya, and all my guests asked for seconds. The recipe is easy to follow,I didn't even really measure the ingredients so much as eyeball the amounts and it turned out fine. The only caveat is that you need to serve it with good quality ice cream, without that it probably would have been just above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Good Eggnog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was great, made it as is, but upped the recipe to 18 servings. Several people at my party had never tried eggnog before and they all loved it. I will definitely be making this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot, Potato, and Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Since I'm going to the bother of slicing/dicing potatoes and carrots and onions, I decided I might as well increase the flavour of this soup by 50% by sauteing or sweating them. I skipped the salt and added a nice dash of hot sauce (could use a sprinkling of cayenne or hot pepper flakes). I like to have some small chunks, so I mash the cooked soup with a potato masher instead of using the blender, which is always a messy job. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made it exactly as the recipe says, with the exact ingredients, and it came out great! A sure way to make loved ones happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States