Paris - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was really good! I took the advice of one other reviewer and added some fresh basil at the very end, I think it was a great addition. I will make this again, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Ginger Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was a great recipe! I followed all of the directions, however I saved the leftover marinade. I brought it to a boil and added some flour to thicken, it was perfect as a dipping sauce for the shrimp. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Cream Sauce With Shallots

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This was awesome! I did not use the milk/flour combination, I used a tub of Creme Fraiche with the heavy cream since I had it on hand. Had it over grilled pork chops, but this could easily work with chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a keeper! I did not have caper brine so used olive juice and added sliced mushrooms. I actually sauteed all of the ingredients and added the shrimp at the end, tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Gouda and Leek Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe! I flattened out the chicken breasts first to help with the stuffing and did not melt the cheese in the pan as directed. I just laid a slice of cheese (Gouda) on the inside with the leek and garlic mixture after it had cooled a bit as well as added a layer of salt/pepper. After the chicken was done (it did not take as long because I had thinned the breasts) and the chicken was resting, I grated a bit of extra cheese on the top and garnished with more of the cooked leaks. We will have this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Galette des Rois

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
In France, we make our own almond paste. It's so, so easy to make. Mix butter,almond meal, sugar, eggs, rum & almond extract. I bake mine 375° for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Chicken a la Creme

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I thought this recipe was great! I added a bit of lemon juice and mushrooms to jazz it up a bit. Will certainly make this again, it was a hit over fettuccini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Praline Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the second Thanksgiving I have made these delicious sweet potatoes, tonight many people raved about it. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe. It's wonderful as is but I added orange zest, light sea salt, cut back the vanilla extract a bit and replaced it with a light splash of orange juice and VSOP Remy. Increased bake time to set 15 minutes more. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I skipped the sauce and just used plain yogurt instead (I'm not a huge fan of cucumber) while my partner used store bought tzatziki. The falafel themselves turned out great with a few minor adjustments. I skipped the parsley because I did not have any, did not add baking powder, eyeballed the amount of spices I added since I didn't have my measuring spoons and just finely chopped the onion and garlic. I also used only half an onion and fresh lemon juice. I made the falafel patties quite small (about 1.5 - 2 in across and .5 in thick) and made sure the oil was very hot before frying them. I used much less oil than the recipe called for, about .5 in, and even less the second time (just enough to cover the pan really). They didn't fall apart, were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I ate them in pita bread and, the next day for lunch, on their own just topped with yogurt. The mix keeps well in the fridge, so when I made it for lunch I just fried up a new batch. Next time I will add some fresh chilli pepper to the mix since I like things on the spicy side. Overall this recipe is tasty as is, difficult to go wrong with and a great base to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This is a great marinade, I made extra sauce as I don't think the recipe makes enough as is. I liked it so much, I can't wait to try it as a base for a stir-fry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Using the Maseca brand corn flour (not an easy find in France!) I followed the recipe as is except for the addition of a bit of salt. I don't have a tortilla press and found just using my hands and pressing the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap worked great. The plastic wrap was used so I could transfer them from the counter to the pan. If I found that the dough was breaking, I just sealed the cracks with some water on my fingers as I used my hand to press the dough balls into their final tortilla shape. I used my nonstick crepe pan, since I don't have a cast iron pan, to fry them. When done, I transferred them to a plate, covered that plate with another plate flipped upside down, and added a slightly damp paper towel to keep them pliable and warm. I have made them twice and both times they've come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This recipe even passed my 6-year-old meatball lover! I adjusted a few things because we like to eat turkey. I increased the recipe to account for 1lb of grass fed beef and 1.5lbs of ground turkey. I added an egg to help with moistness due to the lean turkey and they were ....AWESOME! I made a bunch and froze them...defrosted and reheated in sauce they are delectable! A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Serious Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Red pepper give it just the right kick! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

I Can't Believe It's Cauliflower!

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I would give you 6 stars on this if I could....elegant - light and satisfying...my guest loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was my first time making these, I always add or subtract a little to my liking and consistency; I forgot to buy green onions, so we did without it. I made them the night before Easter, I was feeding 10 people and had no room in my fridge to keep them overnight so I baked the potatoes and scooped out the middle and put it in a covered bowl, then covered the hollowed potatoes as well and left everything on the counter overnight without adding any of the dairy products that would spoil. I warmed the flesh the next day in the microwave, heated the milk and added all other ingredients. I used a pastry pouch with a decorating tip to make them a little more fancy, then put them in the oven while the meat was resting on the counter. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchchick123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I halved the sugar and it was still pretty sweet. I've tried it as written and I've tried it adding garlic, oyster sauce, ginger and a few dashes of soy sauce to the sauce. They're both excellent, the second adding a little extra something to the sauce. Kids loved both versions and my only mistake the first time around was not doubling the recipe. I am NEVER ordering this again, only homemade! Kids said that it was better than at the restaurant. Thank you +++++ for this recipe! I'll try posting a picture next time around, it never seems to sit around long enough to take one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amenant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikewinsc

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for developing a kosher "clam" chowder. I know, the purists will probably hate this but a number of chowders originally were made with fish instead of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikewinsc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sharp Cheddar Lil Beef Smokies

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Like it - no so much dough used and cheese gave it a nice sharp taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Prosciutto Pillows

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an American keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States