Athens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Paprikash II

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We really, really enjoyed this! I had to make a few changes which I consider minor - used olive oil instead of bacon grease, 2 T. sweet paprika, 1/2 tsp Spanish smoked paprika, chicken broth instead of water, full fat yogurt instead of sour cream. The smell in the house is still wonderful, Husband and (grown) son loved it - daughter (grown) wouldn't come to try it - her loss! I did saute the chicken pieces with the onion mix before adding the broth - I don't know if this made any difference in the flavor. I will definitely make this again - a recipe so easy and so delicious cannot be lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I make this recipe every year after Christmas, with some modifications. I do not include potatoes, tomatoes, cabbage or barley. I use all the celery I have left over from making the stuffing, and 2-3 carrots. I cook the whole recipe in my pressure cooker (or my largest slow cooker). When the soup is done I strain it. My husband eats the boiled veggies - the dog gets whatever he doesn't finish. If the broth is not enough, I add chicken broth. I use the broth to make Greek avgolemono soup, by cooking rice until done, then beating together 2-3 eggs, adding 2-3 lemons and beating until light yellow and slightly thickened. I add hot but not boiling broth a little at a time and beat until the broth has tempered the egg mixture. I then add it back to the soup, stir well, and voila - beautiful soup. Note: you cannot cover the soup immediately after adding the egg mixture as it will curdle (ask me how I know!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We added fresh rosemary and chopped garlic to this recipe - otherwise made it as written. Delicious! For Elizabeth32, after looking at the review over 6 pages, was able to find only one mispelling of potato, except for yours. The plural of potato is potatoes, not potato's. Wouldn't have brought this up if you hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Made this for the second time - this time with mussels (pre-cooked, thawed). Followed Suzy's recommendations for increasing the amount of sauce and loved it. Invited my adult kids to share it with us, and may make even more sauce, as I am afraid that overnight the linguine will absorb all the existing sauce. In accordance with Suzy's advice, sprinkled the Parmesan over the hot plates of pasta & sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantastic Lemon Butter Fillet

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made this with Alaskan pollock. Omitted the dry parsley as I don't think it would have added anything to the recipe. Used the juice of 1 lime as I didn't have a lemon on hand. I sprinkled lemon pepper on until it looked right. The fish cooked quickly (15 min) and I put it under the broiler for about 5 min to brown it a little as recommended by some reviewers. A great hit! I think the lemon pepper and the garlic made the dish. Served with Thai rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Couscous

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made a few changes in accordance with some reviewers' suggestions, and in terms of what I had in the pantry. Sauteed onions & garlic together in olive oil with finely chopped green pepper (instead of parsley). Used veggie broth instead of water. Added one chopped roasted red pepper to add more color. When leaving the couscous to soak, I forgot to turn off the burner :( but fortunately caught it when it was just beginning to stick. I added a little water and left it a few minutes - it had come unstuck and was fine! To make this a full meal, I added a well-drained can of tuna. We both enjoyed it for a light, tasty lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent bread! My tweaks: 2 cups all purpose flour, 1/2 cup wheat germ, 1 cup stoneground whole wheat flour and 1 cup bread (strong) flour. Made a great looking - and large - atrisan loaf. No beer smell. Nice texture. Could have used a 1/2 tsp more salt to balance the sweetness produced by the ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Really loved it! Served the cheese on the side for those who wanted it, as some family members don't care for cheese cooked in this manner. Cooked mushrooms on the side, and added them at the end of cooking. Varied the veggies a little in accordance with what I had on hand, but I think that any veggies would be good. I added a little dried thyme, but think that spices could be as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Chicken and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We enjoyed this very much in the run-up to Christmas. I wanted to make gravy and bought a rotisserie chicken, I chopped the meat from the bones & made broth from the bones. Then I chopped the chicken & made this salad. It was delicious - just the amount of spice my husband will accept. Next time I will double the ingredients except the rice to have a richer salad. I served it lukewarm and chilled - both good. Forgot the pine nuts - oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this recipe a week ago - we all loved it. I was out of butter, so used olive oil instead. Also, I had Plevrotus mushrooms (otherwise known as oyster mushrooms I believe) which I chopped in the food processor. Next time I would chop them a little finer, as larger pieces did not cook through - they actually reminded me of oysters, which was not the texture I was expecting in the soup. I cooked this early in the day, and left to rest for a couple of hours which allowed the flavors to blend. I served sauteed sausages on the side - added the leftovers to the soup leftovers. We enjoyed it for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We enjoyed this dinner - the gravy/sauce was especially tasty, with a little Worcestershire sauce added. We liked it best the first time I served it - it took longer than I expected for us to finish the leftovers. Served with Smashed Potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We enjoyed these very much! The flavor was excellent. The only thing I would do differently is to follow one reviewer who suggested to slice open the potato and squeeze (sort of like for a baked potato), then squash gently, and then drizzle the olive oil mixture over them. Without this step, I found that too much of the oil dribbled out onto the grease-proof paper. Other wise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Down Home Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this recipe today because I had bacon and broccoli that I wanted to use plus most of a sausage. My only changes were minor, as suggested by some previous reviews: cooked the potatoes & onions in the bacon grease (practically none, so had to add a little olive oil) until nearly done, then included the broccoli, added chicken broth as needed to soften the potatoes & broccoli, and cooked a little longer than called for until the liquid was nearly absorbed. I had no celery and therefore omitted it. Both husband and grown daughter loved it! My daughter said I can make it any time for her, which is rare for her.The sausage was a flavorful one from the island of Crete (we don't seem to have Kielbasa here), which may have contributed to the excellent taste. Yum and thanks to the poster. Next time I may try shredded cabbage as suggested by several reviewers - looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Bake Fish

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have made this recipe twice, once with white fish fillet & once with chub salmon. We preferred the white fish - it was the first time I knowingly ate chub salmon, and it's possible that that's what I didn't like so much the second time. I eyeballed the honey and mustard - probably used a heaping tablespoon of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Oven-Fried Fish Fillets

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was delicious. I used my own seasoned bread crumbs, and needed far less than the 2 cups stated in the recipe. The amounts of milk and flour were right on, though. My husband had two fillets, and was very pleased with them. My fillets were a bit thick, so I baked them for 5 minutes - they were crispy but juicy. The recipe is both easy and tasty - my kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flounder Mediterranean

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Had this for dinner last night - we loved it, and so did our guests! The sauce was really delicious. Although I seem to have made several modifications, I think they were not major changes, and left the dish essentially as posted. I used sole, as we don't have flounder here, and reduced the olives (pimento-stuffed green) and capers a little, as I was afraid the guests might not enjoy them. When the sauce seemed to be getting a little too thick, I added a little more white wine. In accordance with some reviewers, I baked the fish for about 10 min. before spooning the sauce on top, and then baked 5 min. more to give the fish time to absorb the flavor of the sauce. Next time I will try cooking the fish in the sauce, in accordance with the directions, as with separate cooking, the fish liquid was not incorporated into the sauce. The dish was very convenient for me, as I was able to make the sauce earlier in the day, and just reheat before adding to the fish. Yum, yum! - can't wait for the few leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmigiana Caponata

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
My husband & I really loved this recipe. I used veggies freshly picked from the garden, which I'm sure added to its excellence. I made some fairly minor changes - used fresh tomatoes (it's summer, after all), green peppers as that's what we had. I added about 1/4 c. or more raisins soaked in water and 1/4 c sliced olives, which I pulsed in the food processor together with the anchovies. I did not add salt, as I thought the cheeses would be salty enough. Although the recipe was quite time consuming, it was worth it! My husband was ecstatic and said we can have it as often as I like! Note to some previous reviewers - it is a pity to eliminate the capers and anchovies - after chopping them finely, they vanish into the dish and just add a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Andouille and Chicken Creole Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We had this yesterday - really enjoyed it! We husband is not fond of spicy, so I used 1 T. cajun seasoning (homemade). I had leftover chicken breast, so chopped it and added it before the broth & milk. Used penne pasta in accordance with some reviews. The consistency of the sauce was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I doubled the peppers, added a twig of fresh rosemary, and added a few splashes of good balsamic just a few minutes before turning off the heat. Watch carefully towards the end of cooking, to prevent the veggies from sticking to the pan. The caramelized flavor is wonderful - served with pasta for those who didn't want meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Original

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this yesterday to go with cheese enchiladas I prepared for my birthday luncheon. I doubled the recipe as suggested, and made only minor changes. As I didn't want it to be too tomato-ey, I changed the ratio of broth and tomato sauce to 3:1, in accordance with some previous reviews. I also omitted the fresh tomatoes. I used 2 green & 2 red bell peppers, plus one hot light green pepper (instead of the chili powder). I included the corn but not the olives (the enchiladas had some and I didn't want to overdo it). The result was excellent. I made it fairly early in the morning, and reheated it for 3 min. in the microwave just before serving. Oh, and as I had forgotten to add the bacon, I sprinkled it on the top, which gave a nice appearance. Although this recipe was a bit more work than some of the Spanish rice recipes on AR, I think the extra work was well worth it, and will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 60) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States