Attica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pancakes I

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wonderful.My mom came to visit for a week and i made it for her too.She loved it and end up asking me for the recipe.This is a big compliment because my mom is a great cook and if she likes something, it means that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very easy,very quick and very tasty.I didn't have tomato sauce so i chopped 1/2 tomato instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Cheese Strata Main Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
It was my first time cooking asparagus,but the result was successful and very delicious.I added some more cheese because i love it and the amount in the recipe just wasn't enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Omelet

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
My daughter avoids eating fried food whenever it's possible so it was a gift for me when i found this recipe.I added some spinach and she loved it.So did i and my mum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red River Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Guacamole

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very easy,very quick and very tasty.I didn't have tomato sauce so i chopped 1/2 tomato instead and it turned out grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leanergourmet

Apple Carrot Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Yummy-licious! I just baked a batch and my kitchen smells wonderfully! Hubby already had two with his Earl Grey tea. My modifications: subed the flour and baking powder for equal amount of self raising whole wheat. Added 2 tbsp ground flaxseed and doubled the cinnamon. They came out moist, fragrant and light. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Biscotti

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is an excellent biscotti recipe. I gave it a try today and it turned out beautiful. I doubled the recipe as I always like to give some to my friends and I added 1 cup of roasted crushed almonds. As I did not have any anise extract, I added almond extract. I will definitely make them again and again. I followed the recipe and the rest was very easy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Greek style meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Oops, I forgot to add to the recipe the necessary salt and pepper! 2/3 tspn of salt and pepper to taste will do. Also if you like allspice you could add 1/4 tspn to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Turkey-Rice Supper

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this tonight, after searching for a dish with rice, turkey & mushrooms. I changed the method a little, cooking the rice (Thai) separately in the broth. I used fresh mushrooms (about 1 pound or 500 grams), and started them cooking first. Then I added the turkey, one chopped roasted red pepper, and finally the broccoli. After stirring it for a bit, I covered the pan and let the broccoli steam. To my taste, it needs seasoning. I added Jamie Oliver's spicy Szechuan blend, which added a little zip, but even plain salt and pepper would be a help. I will make this again, as I liked the combination, but may spice it up during cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Turkey Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Having thawed my leftover Christmas turkey, I was in search of recipes in which to use it. I chose this one, as it seemed to be more flavorful than some turkey salad recipes I looked at. I made some changes, in accordance with some reviews, namely in using half low-fat yogurt/half mayonnaise and reducing the salt & pepper. Because I live in Greece, some ingredients are not available, so I used chopped pickles instead of pickle relish, and a canned jalapeno instead of the fresh one (how I wish I could get fresh jalapenos!) Because part of my turkey was taken from the boiled carcass and I feared that it would be tasteless, I added a bit of horseradish sauce. The result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent! I made these yesterday between getting up and getting kids ready for school. Did not want to waste milk, so I used 1.5% milkfat fermented milk (like liquid yogurt - no buttermilk where I live). I used a full cup and ended with a runny batter, which I saved using 3 tbsp all bran cereal. The result: extremely light and delicate muffins, full of flavor and aroma! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
excellent choice for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Curried Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Not bad but a little too spicy, even for me. Next time I'll go easier on the chili powder. Also, perhaps becase I used basmati rice, I needed twice the amount of water stipulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
The BEST pork I've ever cooked! My picky brother RAVED about this and hubby,who hates sugar in food devoured it! I doubled the recipe (the boys are big eaters) and thought I had to add a little butter afrter I took it out if the oven, it looked a little dry inside. I shouldn't have worried. It was tender and succulent... beautiful! I'll be making this frequently! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple the Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Careful about the distance on the cookie sheet and careful about baking time and temperature! Do you use an oven thermometer? I find it indispensable and I just don't know how some people manage without one! These cookies are rich and tasty, even too sugary for my taste, so I made them smaller. I used hot air to bake them for 10 minutes at 165C. Initially, I tried to bake at the suggested 175C and as I was keeping an eye on them I saw that at around 7 minutes they had started to burn around the edges...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
All fine, except pay some attention to the final mixing, don't over-mix! Fold everything softly just enough to moisten the flour. Adapt baking time depending on how "watery" the quantity of mashed bananas you have added is; in my case, I should have lowered the temperature on the half hour and continue for about a quarter more at 140C. I made a slight change for a somewhat lighter bread: I separated the eggs, mixed the yellows with the butter and sugar batter and beat the whites before folding them into the final batter like I do for chiffon cakes. The result is an agreeable sweet bread, not fluffy but neither too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manolis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My husband, who does not like raw broccoli, suddenly requested that I serve it, as he had read about its health benefits. I chose this recipe as it had a limited amount of sugar - in the end I added only a couple of pinches, even though doubling the amount of dressing. I also followed some reviewers' suggestions of adding raisins, and added pinenuts as well. The result was wonderful - we all had additional helpings. The recipe is quick & easy to make, although I left it to blend the flavors for 24 hours, which I think was beneficial. We will certainly make this often when fresh broccoli is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have to join the ranks of those who really like this dish. It was easy, but not that quick (maybe the prep time calculated did not include the time to prep the veggies). My husband is not a fan of pepper, so I reduced the amount of black pepper. I shredded half of a Chinese cabbage, and the amount seemed too much for the ground beef, so I doubled the meat, and the proportion seemed perfect. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will put the red pepper strips in a little earlier. My daughter didn't try the food yet, but I expect a high rating from her as well... Thanks for a tasty recipe for a vegetable that I have rarely cooked before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These turned out great! Being on the healthy and frugal side here is the substitution I made instead of using white sugar and molases: I had in the fridge some "fiber bomb"* (I'll post recipe right away) which is dried fruit simmered in plain water until they turn syrupy. I measured the fruit syrup to 3/4 cup and chopped 1/2 cup of the fruit right on the dry ingredients and tossed (or they would drop to the bottoms of the muffins during baking). Healthfully fruity and moistly dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-63 (of 63) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States